You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 👿Shit is KrAzY Out Here!🔱

in The Alliance3 years ago

When you discuss a hardware wallet fail, do you mean the hardware failed alone or the hardware failed AND you could not recover from keys? Before reading your words, I felt like the safest storage (albeit not the most convenient) was a hardware wallet with the recovery keys stored on paper in a second, secure location.

Sort:  

The hardware wallet (on a USB stick) failed AND I could not recover from keys. I had set a custom passphrase that probably looked odd to anyone but me yet was super-easy for me to remember. I had it written down, too, just in case I ever forgot it.

After the wallet failed to open the first couple of times, I looked at the written-down passphrase and entered it slowly and carefully but still received an error. Then I inserted the microSD card "backup wallet" into the USB stick to recover the corrupted wallet on the stick, but experienced more "failed passphrase attempts." After a certain number of failed attempts, the wallet locks permanently.

This was not long after I'd come to the Steem blockchain, before Hive launched. The only crypto I had was the STEEM, and I only bought the hardware wallet because "everyone" kept talking about how good they were and that everyone should have one. I never put anything on it, but occasionally "played" with it, logging into it and going thru all the settings, etc. to see what was there and trying to understand it all. That was $100 I will certainly miss, as I could have bought a nice chunk of crypto with it instead of a device that eventually failed. 🙁

That sounds really frustrating. I thought you could use the recovery keys to access it from another site, and I probably need to learn more! At least it sounds like it was not a major loss. Any loss is a loss, but when I hear about people losing thousands or more, it seems like it would be hard to take.