Crunchy Peaches

in The Alliance3 years ago

My local market had fresh peaches on sale this week for USD $0.98 per pound, so I bought three peaches. They were the first I've had this season and they are so good! Blueberries were also on sale for USD $2.98 per pint, so I got a pint of those, too. I've been alternating the blueberries and peaches on oatmeal the past few mornings. There's nothing like fresh fruit on warm cereal to start the day!

When I was a child, home canning and freezing were big things among much of my family as a way of preserving foods. My mother's sister, my Aunt Carrie, frequently bought peaches when they were on sale at the Farmer's Market near her. She would cut them open, remove the pit from the center, then dice the flesh into chunks. She would sprinkle a little sugar on them, spoon them into freezer bags, and carefully stack them in her freezer.

On hot summer days when we needed a refreshing treat, she would take a bag from the freezer and spoon the peaches into little dessert dishes, or sometimes put them over vanilla ice cream. We'd eat them frozen, as the small chunks would thaw quickly in our mouths and cool us down. Being partly frozen as we ate them, they had a 'crunchy' texture to them, so I dubbed them "Crunchy Peaches" 😁 and they are a very fond memory from my childhood!

One of the most wonderful dishes to make with this juicy, summery fruit is Peach Cobbler, a common dessert in my part of the world. For those not familiar with a "cobbler," it is like an upside-down pie with fruit in the bottom. The fruit is almost always cooked a little first so as to be very soft, or a fruit compote can be used, instead. The crust on top is usually soft, like a Southern biscuit (similar to a "scone" for those from the UK). For the recipe I use, click here

I have occasionally seen restaurants trying to be "upscale" by using a flakey pastry crust on a cobbler, but that is definitely something different than a traditional "cobbler." In a similar manner, would a chef put CoolWhip on top of Lemon Meringue Pie instead of whipped egg whites? Could a menu list "Caesar Salad" if it were made with anything but romaine lettuce? I don't think so, and would be very disappointed in both cases!

Thinking of cobbler, I remember an interesting recipe posted last year by @wwwiebe for a Lazy Man's Blueberry Cobbler. Substituting peaches for the blueberries should give good results, and the ingredients produce a shortcut to a traditional cobbler. 😋 He also provides instructions for cooking this over a campfire for those of you who are outdoor buffs!

Along US Interstate Highway 85 near the town of Gaffney, South Carolina (US), there is a water tower that is shaped like a giant peach and called the Peachoid. The tower is in the middle of one of the biggest peach-producing areas of the southeastern US and this is a tribute to that delicious, abundant resource.

Due to the typical golden coloring of the fruit as well as its characteristic cleft, a long-running sophomoric joke is that it rather resembles a human butt. In modern communications, the peach emoji 🍑 is often used in that same context. 😜

The website RoadsideAmerica.com collects quirky and unusual things that can be found along the roadside across the US and has listed the Peachoid among them. For travelers planning an excursion down Interstate-85 in South Carolina, look for this distinctive water tower near the town of Gaffney (between Charlotte, NC, and Spartanburg, SC), at the following coordinates on BING Maps 35.09531068037984, -81.68580944587805 or with Google Maps PLUS CODE: 38W7+4J Gaffney, South Carolina


from Tenor.com

 😊


       



09-Jul-2021

Sort:  

I luv me some peaches 🍑

How delicious, they were inexpensive, my mom told me.

I like apples, here an apple is worth 1.5$, they are a little expensive. Last week my mom gave me a red apple and it was juicy.

What nice memories of your childhood, I like cold things too. I like cold banana with oatmeal flakes.
Or oatmeal smoothie with frozen banana and cinnamon is rich and refreshing.

I've been seeing peaches here in stores for a good price. They are imported so I'm afraid they were picked too ripe and won't be juicy. Now I think they probably come from down your way so I'll give them a try.

I grew up in the Niagara fruit belt and during peach season the peaches were like a dream. We used to go to a peach festival each year and get peach sundaes. I miss a good juicy ripe peach.

It looks so delicious already..lol..i feel like eating it from the phone


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Peaches... they are a favorite!

Got me all hungry now, can't wait until ours mature and we have fresh peaches!

It’s looks like delicious! I have never eat Peaches. Justin tell me it taste good but it’s expensive in his country.

Oh!! Peaches! This has been such a yummy post to make my way through. I DO remember Victor's @wwwiebe post about the blueberry cobbler. I even made it. (Thanks, Victor!) Like you suggested, I had used peach and it was pretty good that way. It was a shortcut, but, some days, that works too!

I lived in South Carolina and even went to the University of South Carolina in Columbia to the dismay of my Connecticut family! They were hoping for a Northeastern (read: closer to home) School. I digress... Gaffney's water town just reminded me that I am personally familiar with it and those u-pick peach orchards! Oh, my!!! They are far more tempting than the northern ones. I love the ones I have up here, but, I could literally smell the ripeness from miles away.

Anyway, your post was purely delicious and I want to thank you for taking part in it and showing off your peachy outlook! I always appreciate all the work that is put into making #MarketFriday a success! It is heartwarming to have the love and support given to a tag you are trying to grow into something. You have made it fun to visit your post and each different person adds a unique touch to their posts. Your little piece of this world, and, people are interested in expanding their culture. This challenge opens up my world, and, I hope yours too. to me and so many others. Thank you again. You always leave me with a smile on my face. I think it is your caring and happy attitude about life and living. God Bless people like yourself. I hope you have a most wonderful day! Hive on!!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and to restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.

Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! You must use #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post and then drop the link to your post on my #MarketFriday post, so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you! ❤️

Upped and reposted

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 64 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Que ricoooo

Hey i am sorry unblock from discord

Oooh yeah! That cheap, lazy cobbler is a keeper! I still make that! And yes, it's just as good with peaches, and various flavours of cakes, too. Strawberries with a chocolate cake is soooooo nummy.

Did you know, in the 19th century, the State of Delaware was the major source of peaches in the US. In fact, a very good MLB pitcher of the era - Vic Willis - was nicknamed "The Delaware Peach!"

And now you know. 😃

Did you know, in the 19th century, the State of Delaware was the major source of peaches in the US.

No, I did not know that! 😮 What an interesting tidbit! 😃

OMG, I am ready to try strawberries with a chocolate cake right now!!! 😋

I think I eat peaches once in Ecuador. Does it taste a bit sour and sweet. If it taste like I mention I think I will like it more than strawberries. Have a good day.