Reminder: Hive Memorial Forest

photo by Waldemar on Unsplash

Last year, @beeber had a wonderful idea — to create a space on the Hive blockchain where anyone could memorialize a beloved person or pet who died. I think this is a fitting use for the immutability of the blockchain, for lasting memorials! I am writing about it here as a reminder to my followers, or for those who might not have heard of it yet.

Posts published to the Hive Memorial Forest community do not have to be complex — they can be as simple as recounting the details of the loss and telling how the author is trying to cope. Longer posts are certainly welcome, especially when they contain personal stories of the loved one that tell us about their personality and uniqueness. Posts do not have to be limited to family, but can include real-life friends, old school chums, coworkers, online-friends, or anyone whose loss has made an impact on you in some way.

It is also not necessary to use real names if anonymity online is desired — one only needs to reference "My Uncle John" or "my maternal grandmother" or "my friend Maria" in the post.

The community's description and rules are simple:

DESCRIPTION:
A quiet and dignified place on the Hive Chain where we can remember our loved ones. Obituaries of people and animals we have loved but lost find their place here to be engraved on the chain.

RULES:
Behave as you would visit a graveyard

And, as it says, beloved animals may be memorialized as well as people! I posted there last year about the loss of a feline companion. 💜

Here is a direct link to the Hive Memorial Forest community on each of the "Big Three" interfaces to the Hive blockchain:

 • PEAKD:  https://peakd.com/c/hive-152367/created
 • ECENCY:  https://www.ecency.com/created/hive-152367
 • HIVE.BLOG:  https://hive.blog/created/hive-152367

Posting to any of those three interfaces will allow it to be seen on the other interfaces, too!

 😊



🇦🇳🇾🇴🇳🇪 🇼🇮🇸🇭🇮🇳🇬 🇹🇴 🇵🇷🇴🇲🇴🇹🇪 🇹🇭🇪 🇭🇮🇻🇪 🇲🇪🇲🇴🇷🇮🇦🇱 🇫🇴🇷🇪🇸🇹
🇮🇸 🇼🇪🇱🇨🇴🇲🇪 🇹🇴 🇺🇸🇪 🇹🇭🇪 🇦🇧🇴🇻🇪 🇧🇦🇳🇳🇪🇷 🇮🇳 🇦 🇵🇴🇸🇹
~ 🇳🇴 🇨🇷🇪🇩🇮🇹 🇳🇪🇨🇪🇸🇸🇦🇷🇾, 🇴🇷 🇨🇷🇪🇩🇮🇹 "🇭🇮🇻🇪 🇲🇪🇲🇴🇷🇮🇦🇱 🇫🇴🇷🇪🇸🇹" ~


       



13-Apr-2023

Sort:  

Wow!!! I can memorialize my beloved Yorkies-
MySweetPea, StarDust, and StarFlower.
I'll check it out.
Thanks for the information, sis!
!LADY😍🌺🤙

!LUV

View or trade LOH tokens.


@silversaver888, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @thekittygirl and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Woow that’s interesting, this will give most of us the chance to share our sad part with someone out there, which might bring about relief to us. Will soon share my story with this community.

Wowww. Good to know this, a nice place to honor loved ones who are gone, including those right here in hive, so they will always be remembered. Of course one hopes one doesn't need it, but good to know. I will pass it on to others. Greetings friend @thekittygirl

Wow what a fantastic idea!

I would have never imagined the blockchain as a home for memorials. Works perfectly. We actually have clients in the funeral/cremation AND the pet afterlife care industries and I am going to see what we can do to leverage this. Perhaps create Hive blogs for each business to repost their obituaries and stories for others to share. Then backlink their businesses to help out with SEO too.

I love it when a plan comes together!

What an amazing idea! Kudos!

Wow!
Indeed we have almost everything on Hive, I'd check it out later

!LUV

No sabía de este espacio para honrar a quienes ya se han ido, sean amigos, familiares y mascotas, ellos también forman parte de nuestra familia. Se me arrugó el corazón al leer esta publicación, hay tantas cosas que en torno a este tema pudiera contar.

Thank you for sharing about the community again.
I can use it to memorialize the family that has left me for a place up there.

You have received 5.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time

This sounds perfect. I'll be making use of it soon😊

Thank you...

Great Idea, I had similar thought except it would be a virtual reality space where people could visit with their VR Headsets. Many people in the VR community get to know people and truly mourn the lost. I guess any place where people gather and do life together they are bound to become close.

I just know about this community. Thanks for sharing this to us sis.

Wow don't know such community exist on hive blockchain. Thanks for sharing,

It will be a touchy forest forever.

Thanks for the reminder 🤗I have considered it a few times but I need to be in the right frame of mind. I might review and expand upon something I wrote for my Mom on Facebook a few years ago... you've given me something to think about as the 4th anniversary of my Mom's passing is coming up next week 💗Always a quiet time for reflection !LUV

Congratulations @thekittygirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 40000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 41000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal

Oh 😯 I missed this wonderful post dear although you tagged me! Sorry, seems I dont see a lot of posts these days 🙁

Was looking what the Alliance is about and strolling through posts when I found this one. Wonderful promoting of our memorialforest ❤️ thank you

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 151 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
15