A Walk to the Post Office

mailbox_chalet.jpg

The sun was shining; So, I decided to walk to the post office. I started at 11:05 and got home at 12:38. That's an hour and a half of walking.

My starting steps was 2,166. My steps at the door to the Post Office was 7,172. That is 5,006.

My walk home was 7,274 (I took 100 steps in the Post Office). My pedometer reading on my doorsteps was 12,477. The return trip (which was on a different road) was 5,203. I traced the route on Google Maps. It said the walk was 3.44 KM or 2.14 miles. The drive to the post office is about 5 miles.

I used to take this walk on a regular basis. The bike ride is wicked as it involves a steep hill. I stopped because I was adopted by a dog who preferred walks through parks.

I am doing the 10k steps a day thing. Knowing that the Post Office is exactly one day of steps away will fit into my daily plans.

I used to sell things on eBay. I stopped because shipping was such a hassle. I might sell things and use the walk to the post office to fulfill my step requirement.

The photo shows a mailbox that I encountered on a previous walk this week. I love this decorative stone box. I think I will celebrate by having a beer for Beer Saturday on my primary account @yintercept .