Amazing Flavor: Turkish Delight - Muhteşem Lezzet: Türk Lokumu [EN-TR]

in Hive TRlast year

Hello all, I didn't expect to write a post like this. Two weeks ago I had one of the best Turkish delights I've ever had in my life and I wanted to share it with you. I want to share one of Turkey's local flavors with you, maybe some of you may want to visit our country and try something and this post will tell them what Turkish delight is actually like.

First of all, let me tell you where we buy this Turkish delight. Since I didn't buy it, I don't know exactly where, but the name of the shop where my father bought it is written on the package, so you can look it up. My father occasionally travels from the village to Izmir and he bought this from a rest stop on the way. There were actually much more varieties but my father preferred this one. He told me that it was 120 Turkish Liras per kilo and it seemed quite expensive for this Turkish delight. But when I talk about the taste in a moment, you will realize that it was worth it.

Yes, let's move on to the part you are curious about, the flavor. This was really the most delicious Turkish delight I have ever tasted in my life. The texture was soft and it started to melt as soon as I put it in my mouth. At first I felt like I was eating marshmallows. They were all delicious, but my favorite were the pink and chocolate filled ones you see in the photo. I don't know how to describe it but everything was just right. Sometimes when you eat dessert, you feel that it is too sweet and it bothers you, you know this feeling. I didn't feel that at all when I ate this marshmallow, I could have eaten the whole box in one go but that would have made my family angry haha. But I ate one of each.

This chocolate delight was also very good, full of little sprinkles of sugar around which they covered the cake. I also liked the filling. By the way, I don't really like the ones with walnuts or hazelnuts in them. Usually the walnuts are not fresh and they taste bad. These didn't feel stale but they weren't fresh either. If you can find a fresh one, I think it can also be very delicious.

Before I finish my post, I will tell you something about the history of this flavor. Did you know that the word "lokum" comes from Arabic and means "throat comfort"? Lokum has been made in Anatolia since the 15th century according to some sources and since the 18th century according to others. The term Hacı Bekir Turkish delight comes from the name of a Turkish delight producer named Ali Muhiddin Hacı Bekir. It was a British tourist who introduced Turkish delight to Europe in the 19th century. source

Thank you very much for reading, I hope you enjoyed it. If you have any questions about Turkish delight and Turkish culture, you can write as a comment under this post. I wish you all a delicious day like Turkish delight, take care!

TR

Hepinize merhaba, böyle bir postu hazırlamayı ben de beklemiyordum. İki hafta önce hayatımda yediğim en güzel Türk lokumlarından birini yedim ve ben de sizinle bunları paylaşmak istedim. Türkiye'nin yöresel lezzetlerinden birini sizinle paylaşmak istiyorum, belki aranızda ülkemizi ziyaret edip bir şeyler denemek isteyen olabilir ve bu post onlara Türk lokumunun aslında nasıl bir şey olduğunu anlatacak.

Öncelikle bu lokumu nereden aldığımızı söyleyeyim. Ben almadığım için tam nereden alındığını bilmiyorum ama paketin üzerinde babamın aldığı dükkanın adı yazıyor yani onu araştırabilirsiniz. Babam ara sıra köyden İzmir'e yolculuk yapıyor ve bunu da yolda mola verdiği bir dinlenme tesisinden almış. Çok daha fazla çeşit varmış aslında ama babam bunu tercih etmiş. Kilosunun 120 Türk Lirası olduğunu söyledi ve bu lokum için oldukça pahalı geldi. Ama birazdan tadından bahsettiğimde buna değdiğini anlayacaksınız.

Evet, merak ettiğiniz kısma geçelim, lezzetine. Bu gerçekten benim hayatımda yediğim en lezzetli Türk lokumuydu. Dokusu yumuşacıktı ve ağzıma atar atmaz erimeye başladı. Başta marshmallow yediğimi hissettim. Hepsi çok lezzetliydi ama benim favorim fotoğrafta gördüğünüz pembe ve çikolata dolgulu olanlardı. Nasıl anlatacağımı bilemiyorum ama her şey tam kıvamındaydı. Bazen tatlı yediğinizde aşırı tatlı olduğunu hissedersiniz ve sizi rahatsız eder, bu hissiyatı biliyorsunuzdur. Bu lokumu yerken bunu hiç hissetmedim, tüm kutuyu tek seferde yiyebilirdim ama bu ailemi sinirlendirirdi haha. Ama hepsinden birer tane yedim.

Etrafı pastayı kapladıkları küçük şeker parçacıklarıyla dolu olan bu çikolatalı lokum da çok güzeldi. İçindeki dolguyu da çok beğendim. Bu arada şu içinde ceviz ya da fındık olan lokumları pek sevmiyorum. Genelde içindeki cevizler taze olmuyor ve tadı kötü olabiliyor. Bunlar bayat hissettirmedi ama taze de değildi. Eğer taze olan bir tane bulabilirseniz onun da çok lezzetli olabileceğini düşünüyorum.

Postumu bitirmeden size bu lezzetin tarihiyle ilgili de bir şeyler aktaracağım. Lokum kelimesinin Arapçadan geldiğini ve boğaz rahatlatan olduğunu biliyor muydunuz? Lokum bazı kaynaklara göre 15. yüzyıl bazı kaynaklara göre 18. yüzyıldan beri Anadolu'da yapılmaktadır. Hacı Bekir lokumu tabiri Ali Muhiddin Hacı Bekir isimli lokum üreticisinin adından gelmektedir. Lokumun Avrupa'ya yayılmasını 19. yüzyılda bir İngiliz turist sağlamıştır. kaynak

Okuduğunuz için çok teşekkür ederim, umarım beğenmişsinizdir. Türk lokumu ve Türk kültürü hakkında sorularınız varsa bu postun altına yorum olarak yazabilirsiniz. Hepinize lokum gibi lezzetli bir gün diliyorum. Kendinize iyi bakın!

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you so much @bhattg and @indiaunited

One thing is for sure right off the bat... If a Turkish person is telling you that the Lokum is good, then it really is good, hahaha.😁🙏 I haven't had proper lokum in a while, the last one I had was a cheap one from the store and it was mostly sugar...

I can only imagine what taste a properly made one would have. I think it's important to not put too much sugar sometimes, because it can kill other flavours. Anyway..

Thanks for sharing this, I will definetely look for good Lokum now to buy heheh.😁 !PIZZA

 last year (edited) 

Thank you for your nice comment dude, I think definitely quality Turkish delight does not have too much sugar. It has a great balance and you get the taste of other things. I am sure that some of the Turkish delights produced in Turkey are sold abroad. Just don't buy the ones with walnuts or hazelnuts in them. You never know how many months it sits on the shelves 😂

I think here in Bulgaria it will be relatively easy to find fresh Lokum or other Turkish delicacies around. Thanks for the tip anyway! I know things can get pretty bad if you get food poisoning from nuts. Cheers!

Ah this looks Amazing Kardesim, I could almost feel its taste just looking at it😋

You should definitely try this, brother. As I mentioned in my post, it was the best Turkish delight I have ever eaten. I liked it more than many desserts.

There is nothing similar that I know of in my country, but this delicacy that you present to us has a very good view.

Glad you like it man. I hope one day you can try it!

Looks good my bro, sweet treats are good eats.

!LOL

Where do boats go when they're sick?
To the dock

Credit: reddit
@incublus, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @captainquack22

(3/8)
Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!

Yeah it is really sweet man 😋

I'm glad you were able to enjoy this delight brother, they look delicious and sweet, I don't know why but I've always been attracted to this kind of sweets.

I hope you can try Turkish delight too man, I feel like eating marshmallows but much better 😂

Ben de istiyorum 😂😂

Sure when you visit Turkey again, I suggest you to buy some. You will not regret it :)

Haha yes 🫶🏻

Wow. Thanks for sharing this delight. Voted on behalf of Neoxian city paper.

Posted using Neoxian City

Thank you so much for your support 😊

Holy 🤤 that looks amazing.

Kinda wanna go to Türkiye now xD

I hope you can visit one day man. You need to taste that 😋

Tatlı bir paylaşım olmuş. :)) Lokum yemeyeli epey oldu. Doğrusu, sadece dinlenme tesislerinin raflarında durmak için üretildiğini düşünüyordum uzun bir süredir. :))

Ben de uzun zamandır lokum yememiştim. Cami çıkışlarında dağıtılan o lokumlardan çok farklı bunlar. Yedikçe yiyesi geliyor insanın 😂

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@ivangeevo(2/5) tipped @incublus (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @incublus.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more