Ladies of hive community contest #84 : POSITION IN THE FAMILY

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

1️⃣ What was your position (in terms of birth) in the family? How did that experience help you become, or hinder you from becoming, a successful adult?

60743AAC-74B0-4206-8B4C-BE9ACC361D4F.jpegsource

There is a general saying that as a first born you are practically your siblings second parent which is always the case. Most times you won't understand what it means to be a first born especially is your parent are well to do in terms of finances.

When you are born into a family that is struggling with almost everything then it always hard being the first born, this means you have to grow up so quickly, as a teenager you are carrying responsibilities of your other siblings, you have to watch them when your parent are not around or else you would be blamed if anything happens to them.

76F391AB-97C8-467B-8415-69E9A993A1F0.jpegsource

In some cases most first borns forfeit going to college so their younger ones would complete high schools, you can't think of yourself alone you would have to carry everyone along.

As a first born in my family, with boys as siblings I do almost all the chores not until they were older and able to do it very well. My parent would go off to work and the remaining things will be on me like bathing my younger ones, feeding them and also dropping then off to their school before I get to mine. It was hard but I definitely got use to it.

The experience actually made me understand what been a mother is, what mothers go through taking care of several kids alone without any helping hands or even single mothers with no husband it most have been really tough.

When the family is okay most of the chores are done by the maids, or home appliances that would make it easier to do some house work like washing machine for clothes, dishwasher for places, a good gas cooker for food etc.

I'm still going through that phrase of taken the responsibility of taking care of my siblings financially. My dad isn't around and so the whole obligations fall on me and my mum. Sometimes I wouldn't spend much on my self so I can help them when they need something. Most times if I get a call from home, I do get this anxiety because I'm scared they might ask what I don't have and I wouldn't be happy if I can't provide for them.

3D434048-EC04-44EF-AB1A-9E36EBC3511C.jpegsource

Though is has shaped me to become responsible but sometimes i wish I have a older siblings to help me with some of this. I'm happy to be the first born because it comes with respect from your siblings including your parents and it also comes with authority. Your siblings trust and look up to you and there are certain decisions you make that might affect them if you are not careful.

Thanks you so much for reading 💕 💕 💕 🙏

Sort:  

I can sense the pressure in all of this, the responsibilities that first borns have to take on is not even a joke and in most cases there’s nothing you can actually do to escape them.

Rooting for you as you continue to help and support your family but don’t forget to take care of yourself too, you can’t pour from an empty cup.
Take care @bettybunny

Seen thanks for the kind words 🥰🥰🥰

it is very hard that many older brothers carry the
responsibility of taking care of your siblings and helping parents, although I think that makes you a great person, keep fighting. Thanks for sharing 🤗

Thanks darling, I really appreciate

Hello @bettybunny. You came to the knowledge at a young age of what it means to be a mother and what they go through taking care of their children:

"The experience actually made me understand what been a mother is, what mothers go through taking care of several kids alone without any helping hands or even single mothers with no husband it most have been really tough."

This experience is invaluable. I can see how it did transform you into a responsible young lady.

Thanks for sharing your story. Have a good evening.

Aww Thanks alot I appreciate that 🙏🙏

Being first born certainly has its perks but more responsibility too. I salute you for holding up and helping your mom with the responsibilities in your home including financial aspect. You are awesome :)

Thanks love 🥺 I appreciate this beautiful comments

Muy buena tu participación, mucha suerte con ella querida amiga

You received 2 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time

image.png

Thanks for the opportunity 💕💕

Posted using LeoFinance Mobile