Breaking the status quo (LOH #185)

in Ladies of Hivelast month (edited)

My mommy said a Society that fails to train the girl child is gunning towards annihilation. She also said the greatest gift her father ever gave to her is education.

At a time when education was something seen as a notable investment for the male and a wasted venture for the female, the father's Kinsmen wanted their father to marry her and her sisters off instead as they were mostly girls.


According to the theory back then, the woman will marry into another family, thus whatever is invested in her becomes wasted. But my grandfather wasn't having such myopic opinions as he stood his ground and insisted that all his children must be educated irrespective of gender.

My mother said it is that act of her father that changed her life as she gained societal independence and freedom. She would often say an educated woman can fit in anywhere and manueovre any given situation because with education comes enlightenment and resourcefulness.

After her education, she got a job and that's the next thing she hammers on, the need for every woman to get something doing.

Everytime she would ring it in the ear of my sisters and I to first get the education, the degree and then a job before thinking about getting married. In her words "a woman that is working can marry any man and cope under any circumstance."

It is this opinion of hers that has also earned her some level of respect in my paternal family. It is this theory of hers that has brought my siblings and I this far as everytime my father could not meet up with our financial upkeep, my mom is always stepping up to the occasion.

We spent a fraction of our childhood in the ghetto living in a single room and my mother knew she wasn't going to raise us there, as there would be no future for us living there.

At the time, my father had no steady income, so my mom used her job influence, got a loan and rented a two bedroom flat in a decent area and enroled us in one of the best schools around. When things got better for my dad, he resumed his duties.


I am a graduate today because my mother is always coming to my dad's aid when the need arises. Immediately I finished my first degree, she urged me to go for my Masters and paid for my first school fees before my father took up the second one and I the third one when I started earning.

Like her father gave her, she assisted my father in giving I and my siblings the best gift there is, an Education.

Like she also did for me, I would be doing for my daughter.

Hey mommy.... Happy mother's day ❤️

This post is a response to the LOH #185 prompt and the May inleo prompt for day 12, you can participate HERE

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Your mom was hundred percent correct and I totally agree with her plight that, such society that fails to train, regard and bring up the girl child will cease to exist in the real world.

#dreemerforlife

Yes, that’s just the harsh reality.

But my grandfather wasn't having such myopic opinions as he stood his ground and insisted that all his children must be educated irrespective of gender.

Please is ur grandfather still alive? I need to hug him for changing narratives

If I tell you the story of my mum in this regard, you will pity the mentality of our olden age parents towards women and education

Today, look at us today.. taking sensitive positions in the society due to education

I found this gem on #dreemport

Sadly he died without even enjoying the fruit of his Labour.

But my mom won’t ever stop talking about him because he set a pace for us to be players in the cooperate and business world.

We women for a long time coming have seen shege but we won’t stop striving and occupying our seat at the top.

Thank you for stopping by dear ❤️

This is beautiful to read and encouraging. Glad the importance of education is upheld in the family

Thank you for stopping by 😌

Greetings @bipolar95 without a doubt education is the best gift we can leave to our children, just as our parents did, thank you for sharing, happy mothers day!

Indeed the importance of education cannot be emphasized. Happy Mother’s Day dear ❤️🌹😘

I never knew that the reason they didn't let some women go to school was because they thought it would be a waste. I'm glad to read your Mom's father thought differently. Happy Mom's Day to your amazing mother and to you too. Thanks for sharing your beautiful story.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @bipolar95 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/25 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thank you so much dear and happy Mother’s Day to your lovely self ❤️🌹😘

The thing with training women back then as a wasted venture is that, the moment this women get married, they take up their husband’s identity and drop off their fathers.

While the women are married out of the family, the men remain upholding the family name.

Yeah, it's good that time is changing, and so as certain beliefs about women :)

Yeah 🙂

image.png
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @bipolar95 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (17/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

View or trade LOH tokens.


@bipolar95, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Thank you 😌

Congratulations @bipolar95! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

How wonderful a wise for your grandfather to see that he valued all his children equally right at the start.❤️

Yes dear, thank you for stopping by 😘

Your mommy is so beautiful, mothers are superheroes, just look how strong your mom is. In mothers lies strength and unconditional love.

You sure are right.. A Mother’s Love is supreme.

Thank you for the compliment and for stopping by dear ❤️

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thank you 🙂