My Mom's Influence In My Kitchen! LOH #185

IMG_7994.JPG

Family CookBooks Thru the Years! The Cookbook I made of my mom's recipes, on top.



Back about 20 years ago, I started thinking about family recipes. I knew I could always call my mom or my aunt and get some of my grandmother's or family recipes. HOWEVER, I wanted a better memory of the family recipes.

As a little kid, I remember Sunday's at my grandmother's house, the scents of a big Sunday dinner cooking. In my own home, my mom always cooked big meals too.

IMG_2716.JPG

I remember learning this, one of the very first recipes, Pasta Sauce! Sunday's we were either at my Yia Yia's, or at home, and there was always a big pot on the stove all day, cooking and simmering the sauce!



Pasta and the sauce is probably one of the first meals I cooked, too. Using my mom's, and my Yia Yia's recipe. The real secret, really is that the recipe is made from scratch and probably different almost every time I make it.

IMG_2714.JPG

for me, my sauces start the same: Browned seasoned ground meat. I cook with ground turkey, now. Slightly healthier than my mom's ground beef and pork. I use my own home made tomato sauce and paste from my own garden, where they used store bought.


The methods of cooking? Same. Seasonings? Same. But the extras? well,k that differed from week to week in our house growing up.

IMG_2715.JPG
It was never really about the actual ingredients... as I came to understand later in life. The sauce became the sauce, with all the leftovers added in. The sauce became the sauce with all day simmering. The REAL secret of the sauce?

It was never about the food itself. It was in the hearth. It was the kichen that made the sauce. Gathering family all day, to laugh, cry, tell the same stories and sometimes hear new ones. It was the people gathered around my Yia Yia's stove, the scent of the pot simmering... her bustling about. The voices in the kitchen laughing,loud voices in the other rooms of the house too. It was gathering around my mom's kitchen table. Laughing and telling sometimes decades old stories. And the new stories of the day.

Even now, Sunday, gathered around my table, with my kids laughing and telling their own stories I see the recipe has been passed down!

IMG_2719.JPG

But this all goes back to my first woman in my life, mom.

Ladies Of Hive contest number #185

Happy Gardening and Cheers,
BluefinStudios

All Images and Video by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.pnghivefest-6.png

1400posts.png7500comments.png8000payout.png11000replies.png170000upvoted.png340000upvotes.png
postallweek.pngpostallmonth.pngchristmas2018.pngXmas2021.pngXmas2022.pngpud.s3.pngverified.png

birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png4th birthday.pngbirthday-6.png




Sort:  

Congratulations and good appetite. Cooking and eating as a family, this is how you feel the warmth and family love.
My mother cooked out of necessity and obligation, her passion was sewing, she dressed us, but she also fed us, she even taught my wife several recipes. Dad cooked, but he didn't clean, in the end in my family we all cook, each one has his specialty.
See you soon @bluefinstudios.

Greetings @bluefinstudios really your mother did a great job in influencing your cooking and the tradition of joining the family, a very valuable woman, beautiful recipe books that food looks delicious, plus the secret of the sauce. Thanks for sharing, a hug

"It was never about the food itself. It was in the hearth. It was the kichen that made the sauce."

oh, this is excellent! Your perspective on this is perfect, and your description gives us a good visual into the love & togetherness your family has! 💙

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@thekittygirl just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @bluefinstudios.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

thank you. I give credit to my mom and the generations of mom's before her.

But this all goes back to my first woman in my life, mom.

Family was made in the kitchen and around the dinner table. And usually by mom. Its great to see you carrying your family traditions forward. We recently visited my son and he made some homemade pasta and tiramisu. Not family recipes and he's not much of a cook. But memories were made that will last.

As I mentioned, it isn't the recipe, so much as, the gathering itself!
THAT'S what makes the kitchen

This is so amazing! Your mom truly had a great influence on your cooking for you to be able to develop cookbooks from her recipes! What a great blessing that is!
#dreemerforlife

There's even a cookbook in the picture I made, of a cookbook I put together from my wife's family recipes, too! History is important. Family History even more so!

It's an interesting thing to remember your mom who taught you great recipes which has now been passed down to your children. A great memory to cherish while being surrounded by your children on the table with a delicious meal facing you.
#dreemerforlife

It is truly a glorious thing, to be surrounded by family.

I love mothers for their good hands at cooking
Growing up, I would always prefer my mum to do the cooking instead of my sisters, hehe

Are you also cooking? That too is both a gift received, and a gift for you to give as well.
Cook for people. Give to them


Hey @bluefinstudios, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

image.png
!LADY

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Congratulations @bluefinstudios! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 9000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 10000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP