My memories of my first singing contest [ENG/ESP]

salazar.carmina~p~CIyVt4WnALc~2.jpg

salazar.carmina~p~CIyWSp7nc8-~1.jpg

Hello everyone. Today I will dedicate this post to talk about my first time in a singing festival that was held at the Teatro Municipal de Valencia. So, let's start with it.

This event took place in the year 2020, the time when the Covid-19 pandemic broke out. In Venezuela the quarantine started around the first months of the year and there were some adjustments at the end of the year so that some institutions had the opportunity to reopen their ports. The Theater decided to hold this contest in order to get back to normality and also to attract new talents.

Hola a todos. El día de hoy dedicaré está publicación para hablar sobre mi primera vez en un festival de canto que se celebró en el Teatro Municipal de Valencia. Así que, comencemos con ello.

Este evento tuvo lugar en el año 2020, momento en el que se desató la pandemia de Covid-19. En Venezuela la cuarentena empezó alrededor de los primeros meses del año y hubieron algunos ajustes a finales de año para que algunas instituciones tuvieran la oportunidad de reabrir sus puertos. El Teatro decidió realizar este concurso con el fin de volver un poco a la normalidad de antes y también captar nuevos talentos.

salazar.carmina~p~CIyVeoYHitF~1.jpg

salazar.carmina~p~CIyVt4WnALc~4.jpg

I was not sure about participating because I considered that I was too "pichona" and a beginner to do so. In view of the fact that many of the singers who were there already had experience in events of this type and attended (mostly) music or singing academies. The decision was made thanks to my partner's encouragement for me to take the plunge. He has always believed in me. So I went to register as soon as I could and found out how the event would take place.

The date would start from the 12th to the 14th of December. There would be 3 galas, so on each day there would be an elimination round. I was extremely anxious. I chose 2 songs to perform, they were the following; "Don't Stop Believing - Journey" and "Still Living You -Scorpions". I spent a month training for the event until the day finally came.

No estaba segura de participar porque consideraba que estaba muy "pichona" y principiante para ello. En vista de que muchos de los cantantes que estaban allí ya tenían experiencia en eventos de este tipo y asistían (en su mayoría) ha academias de música o canto. La decisión fue tomada gracias a la motivación de mi pareja a qué me atreviera ello. Él siempre ha creído mucho en mi. Así que fui a inscribirme en cuanto pude y me informe sobre como se llevaría a cabo el evento.

La fecha empezaría desde el 12 al 14 de Diciembre. Serían 3 galas, por lo que en cada día se haría una ronda de eliminación. Estaba sumamente ansiosa. Elegí 2 canciones para presentarme, fueron las siguientes; "Don't Stop Believing - Journey" y "Still Living You -Scorpions". Estuve durante un mes entrenando para el evento hasta que finalmente llegó el día.

salazar.carmina~p~CIyVeoYHitF~2.jpg

salazar.carmina~p~CIyVt4WnALc~3.jpg

salazar.carmina~p~CIyWrqLHP4t~1.jpg

We had a presentation day with the press and my fellow singers. The truth is that in the group we had different personalities and tastes, besides having beautiful voices. The next day the first gala began, with the necessary protective measures due to the pandemic. I performed Journey's song and I felt very happy because that song had all the power, joy and energy I needed for the occasion. The lyrics about not giving up believing, going out to accomplish our goals. I qualified for the next gala and was proud of my work.

The following week I performed the Scorpions song and felt very scared. Even though many of my peers said I did a good job, I didn't feel so confident. I think part of my mistake was choosing a song in English that was very challenging. In the workshops we had with some singing teachers, they recommended that we choose songs in Spanish, because the audience is more attracted to songs where they can understand the lyrics. And they were right. I didn't make it to the final of the gala. I was sad about it, but not because I wasn't aware that this could happen, but because deep down you don't want to lose. And the truth is that the teachers were right about the English songs because none of the singers who sang in English made it to the final round.

In the end, even though it hurt me to lose, I had a lot of fun. And even though it was a contest, we were all very supportive of each other, we made sure we looked good, we helped each other with make-up and hair, we vocalized, we trained together and I thought that was very sweet. Besides, the girl who won (we called her Rihanna) totally deserved it, she had a beautiful and clean voice. I had never experienced anything like that and I think it was worth it. From that moment on, I decided to join Hive and set up covers. Without anything else to say, thank you very much for stopping by, reading, commenting, voting. I send you a big hug and here I leave you some pictures about it.

Tuvimos un día de presentación con la prensa y mis compañeros de canto. La verdad es que en el grupo teníamos personalidades y gustos diferentes, además de tener unas voces preciosas. Al día siguiente empezó la primera gala, con las medidas de protección necesarias por la pandemia. Interprete la canción de Journey y me sentí muy feliz porque esa canción tenía toda la potencia, alegría y energía que necesitaba para la ocasión. La letra sobre no dejar de creer, salir a cumplir nuestras metas. Clasifique para la siguiente gala y estaba orgullosa de mi trabajo.

A la semana siguiente interprete la canción de Scorpions y sentí mucho miedo. A pesar de que muchos de mis compañeros dijeron que hice un buen trabajo, yo no le sentía tan segura. Creo que parte de mi error fue elegir una canción en inglés que era bien desafiante. En los talleres que tuvimos con algunos profesores de canto, ellos nos recomendaron que seleccionemos temas en español, porque él público se siente más atraído con canciones dónde puedan entender la letra. Y tenían razón. No pase a la final de la gala. Estaba triste por ello pero, no porque no fuera consciente de que esto pudiera suceder sino porque en el fondo uno no quiere perder. Y la verdad es que los profesores tenían razón acerca de los temas en inglés porque ninguno de los cantantes que cantaron en ese idioma pasaron a la ronda final.

Finalmente a pesar de que me dolió perder, yo si me divertí mucho. Y aunque era un concurso, todos nos apoyamos mucho entre todos, estábamos pendientes de que nos viéramos bien, de ayudarnos a maquillar y peinar, vocalizabamos, entrenamos juntos y eso me pareció muy dulce. Además la chicha que ganó (nosotras la llamabas la Rihanna) se lo merecía completamente, tenía una voz preciosa y limpia. Nunca había vivido algo así y creo que valió la pena. A partir de ese momento fue que decidí entrar en Hive y montar covers. Sin más nada que decir, muchas gracias por pasar por aquí leer, comentar, votar. Les mando un abrazo grande y por aquí les dejo algunas fotos sobre ello.

BANNER CARMINA.jpg

Sort:  

You received 1 LADY(LOH) token for posting in Ladies of Hive!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by Blessed-girl
r2cornell_curation_banner.png
Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Visit our Discord - Visita nuestro Discord

El teatro es bello! a mi me gusta cantar, he tenido la oportunidad de audicionar y participar en concursos como este y nunca he ganado, pero como dices, la experiencia es bonita y haces también bonitas amistades, en la comunidad de PukuMundo se hace semanalmente un concurso de canto a capella, van por la semana 6, anímate!

¡Hola Ulises! Sí, el teatro es hermoso. Y es así, en este tipo de eventos puedes conocer nuevas personas y entablar amistades. Además de que es lindo encontrar personas con el mismo amor por el canto que tú. Gracias por la invitación a la comunidad. Un fuerte abrazo y gracias por pasar por acá.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

It is okay to be unhappy but getting out of the feeling immediately is best!
In the end, it is the journey and the lessons learned that matters.
And look at the friendships you made.
Congratulations!!!
And thanks for sharing your experience, @carminasalazarte!

It's like this! It was a unique moment and I have no regrets. I hope more opportunities will come. Thank you for your words.