LOH #166 || Important lesson of 2023

in Ladies of Hive4 months ago (edited)

pexels-monstera-production-7114756.jpgImage credit

Hello ladies, I'm excited to be on this platform. I'm glad that there's a platform where ladies can express themselves to the fullest, meet other amazing ladies, make new friends and learn from each other. This is my first post here by the way. That said, let's get right into the post.

One lesson I have learned this past year is that i shouldn't put pressure on myself or on another person because it never ends well. We, as humans react to things differently and especially as ladies, the negative words or attitude towards us can be detrimental and can sometimes lead to depression.
This past year 2023, a good number of my classmates/friends got married, some had kids, some even got into a new relationship and as a Nigerian girl who is a graduate and first child, my parents expect me to bring my man home. The thing is I'm someone that likes to take my time when doing anything and I want to make sure I'm ready and I'm happy with my decision so that whatever comes out of it, I know I can take it. At a point, I was almost crushing under the constant daily pressure. There wasn't a single conversation I had with a family member or friend that they won't chip in the marriage/relationship part, even my younger siblings jokingly threw it at my face.

Social media seemed to make matters worse, whenever I go online onFacebook, I'll see pre-wedding photos, slide into WhatsApp and they're there waiting for me. I became worried and I questioned my looks, physique and self worth.
The turning point came when I stumbled on a post on YouTube. This lady was teaching on relationship it was a program for Christian single ladies. She talked about not putting pressure on yourself, being physically, spiritually, mentally, emotionally and even financially ready. She said you shouldn't beat yourself up because you're single, that God has the right man for you and you just have to keep praying towards it. She also said you shouldn't doubt yourself and remember that you're made in God's image and likeness and that everything he made is beautiful and good. Then she gave out scriptures verses and affirmations to back it up. As I read those scriptures and said those words, I felt joy and peace.

Now, i'm at a point in my life where I don't care what people say or do, I'm not giving to pressure in whatever form. Anyone who asks me about my relationship status or tries to tease me about it, I boldly but politely let them know that I'm taking my time and that at the right time the right man will come. I have also promised myself that I won't hurt others with my words or deeds. For now I'm living my life to the fullest.

This is my submission to the Ladies Of Hive contest. You may want to check it out here

Thanks for reading. Shalom

Sort:  

It's true putting pressure in your self it someone isn't good and surely it doesn't give good results

No good result comes out of it.
Thank you for reading

Yeah none whatsoever
You are welcome

image.png
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @chisings and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (5/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

View or trade LOH tokens.


@chisings, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

All in God's good timing and not by anyone else's standards.

I've learnt from the lessons you've shared sis, the pressure can harm a lot of things but overcoming it will save a lot. And I'm glad you're doing what you know is good for you and not listening to what others say.
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@merit.ahama, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @chisings and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (4/11 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

You got this
I'm glad you got something.
Thank you for stopping by, lady.