Everyone should solo travel from time to time

in Ladies of Hive2 months ago (edited)

AeropuertoElDoradoAirplane.jpg


“If it scares you, it might be a good thing to try.”
– Seth Godin

I believe that few experiences can be as good for getting to know yourself as traveling alone. I did it for the first time in my early twenties. While I was doing a specialization in finance, I went to do a student exchange in France. And the whole experience was wonderful. A couple of my classmates had gone too, so I can't say I went alone to the whole experience. But it was my first time in Europe and one long weekend I wanted to go to Paris and nobody could go with me. At first, I hesitated a lot, but I dared.

I took the train and went to spend 4 days alone in Paris. I slept in a hostel with strangers in a room. The experience helped me to know what I was capable of and that I could go wherever I wanted without depending on anyone else.

Then over the years, I had to travel several times alone abroad for work and I always took the opportunity to explore with my only companion the places I had to visit.

But life moved on and I got married, started a family and solo travel became a thing of the past, and gave way to travel as a couple or as a family, and I love it that way, to be honest. But recently a solo trip came up out of necessity. At the beginning of the year, I had to travel to Colombia for a couple of weeks.

Chapinero_Bogota.jpg

I needed to attend an appointment at the American Embassy in Bogota to renew my visa and then wait for my passport to be returned. At first I insisted to my husband to go with me, but he had work to do and could not take so many days off.

At first, I honestly did not like the idea of spending two weeks alone in another country, even though I already had been in the city. But then I got my head together and let that young Eliana with an adventurous spirit show herself a little bit. I had to take advantage of the opportunity to spend two weeks dedicated only to me. To do whatever I wanted.

I did so and enjoyed the experience.

Something that at first I didn't like so much was eating alone sitting at a table in a restaurant. But if I always ate at the place where I was staying I would miss out on one of the best parts of traveling which is trying different things than what we usually eat at home. So on more than one occasion, I found cool places where I could sit and eat at the bar. And it was great because I always ended up chatting with one of the employees behind the bar and seeing the things they served to other people.

Ceviche_CentralCevicheria.jpg

Yo_CentralCevicheria.jpg

.

I liked that the plan for each day was to do what I felt like doing. I walked a lot, drank a lot of coffee in nice cafes, spent hours browsing books in bookstores, and visited some places that I know the husband would have put buts. Like the morning I spent touring the Botanical Garden of the city that I have yet to write about.

And I also rested. I hadn't rested like that for years. If I didn't feel like going out one morning I would just lie down. Or after long walks in the city, I would arrive and lie down for an hour without any remorse. I really rested. I don't remember when was the last time before that I rested so well.

RelaxTime.jpg

I also visited the Arepas place of a friend I met at Hive and had my first encounter in person with a hiver.

So as you can see the experience was great. And although I love to travel with my family, I wouldn't mind a little solo getaway for just a few days once in a while.

My advice if you have to make a solo trip is to do your research on the place you are going to visit. Stay in an area where you feel safe. And let yourself go. Do what you like. Get some rest.

This is my answer to one of the topics for this week's Ladies of Hive Community Contest #175.

Thank you for reading!

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin

March 9, 2024

If you're reading this and you are not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through my referral link. I could delegate some resource credit to help you get started.

Sort:  

I last went on a solo road trip back in 2007. I am planning to finally do something similar this year. It is scary to set off alone, especially when all the preparations you make still can't anticipate every possible obstacle or emergency, but there comes a time when planning must end and action must begin anyway. In your case, the deadline was bureaucratic. In mine, it's literally cosmological. I want to see the solar eclipse in totality. That is hundreds of miles away from where I live.

That's pretty cool. I wish you the best of luck on your trip and that everything goes perfectly.

Happy week!

Although I am traveling alone here, I want to experience a trip overseas alone and sleep in a hostel with a stranger haha..
You're looking pretty Eli ☺️
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @coquicoin and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/12 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Hehe 😉😊
Thank you, Jane 🤗

It's great to discover some things about ourselves, thanks to traveling solo. So awesome that you were able to enjoy your stay in Bogota and did things you haven't done in a while :) I have not tried sleeping in a hostel with strangers. That would be something new to experience :)

!LUV !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @coquicoin and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (5/23 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

coquicoin, ifarmgirl sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

I have not tried sleeping in a hostel with strangers. That would be something new to experience :)

I did it a couple of times during that stay in Europe, it wasn't a bad experience at all. But over the years, I've become more picky lol and it's something I wouldn't repeat at this stage of life.

Have a lovely week, sis!

!LUV

ifarmgirl, coquicoin sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

I agree! There is no better way to know yourself and become confident than traveling alone, there is no better school or university than that :)

I love travelling alone. It is in those cases when I have felt most free, doing at every moment what I really wanted without taking into account anyone else's wishes. I'm glad you enjoyed the experience. A big hug. ❤️

Excellent post... I traveled alone during my professional period many times (they were usually work trips to other cities in the country)... I remember one day when I was having breakfast for the sixth consecutive day alone in the hotel's restaurant in Maracibo and I said to one of the innkeepers: "Boy, can you come over here and talk any nonsense while I have breakfast???" (¡Chamo!, ¿será que tú te puedes venir para acá y hablar cualquier "pendejada" mientras desayuno?)... hahaha :))... That was 20 years ago , but since then we have maintained the friendship! :))

Thanks for sharing @coquicoin friend!!!... Have a "super" week you and your near people!!!

!discovery 35
!VSC
!PIZZA
!BBH

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @coquicoin

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @coquicoin

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 22/25

@coquicoin! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @jlinaresp. (4/5)

It's great that you still have contact with that guy.
On my trip to Bogota, I had some long conversations with one of the girls who ran the front desk at the place where I stayed. She was living in Valencia for a while and loved Venezuela.

Thanks for the support always, dear Jesus. Abrazos

!PIZZA

It looks a little scary at first, but once you are on the move then you start enjoying the journey.
Being out alone and exploring on your own terms is altogether an amazing experience. Glad you enjoyed it

I kinda missed travelling solo too.

I hope you can do it soon.

You had a wonderful time and that reminds me that I have still not written about the Botanical garden we toured last year!

We can do what ever we want when we put our mind to it Super Eli 💙

We can do what ever we want when we put our mind to it Super Eli 💙

It's true and I'm putting my mind to it, Super Ed 💙😘

That is so true Super Eli 💙

Agree 👍 !PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 9

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


image.png
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @coquicoin and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (3/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

!ALIVE

@coquicoin! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ cryptoyzzy. (8/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Traveling is a lifestyle that needs to be explored, doing it alone might sometimes be boring though. I have solo traveled a lot of times, to see something different, visit and attend events.

It's a good lifestyle.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
jlinaresp tipped coquicoin
@coquicoin(1/5) tipped @jlinaresp

Congratulations @coquicoin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 18000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 19000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Rebuilding HiveBuzz: The Challenges Towards Recovery