About the most devastating event in my life - Ladies of Hive Community Contest #83

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

I think my answer is very interesting, so I want to share it with all of you!

The most devastating event in my life was a fire that destroyed everything I owned except for the clothes on my back. I had just graduated from college, and I was living alone in an apartment above a bakery. My mother gave me a small fortune to help me start out on my own, but I used most of it to buy a new car and furnishings for my apartment. The only thing left after the fire were my clothes and some books.

My first reaction when I realized what happened was to scream and cry. But then I remembered that I didn't have any money or identification papers with me, so I couldn't go anywhere. I could hardly believe that the fire started by accident. I thought about calling my mother to tell her what had happened, but I knew she would be worried sick. So I went outside and stood under a tree until the tears stopped flowing. Then I walked around looking at the damage. Everything was gone; even the walls were charred black. I kept walking around and crying for hours before I finally sat down on the curb. It took me several days to stop thinking about what might have been if I had made different choices.


source

A few weeks later, I found out that the insurance company wouldn't pay because they said the fire wasn't accidental. They said it was arson. I never did find out who set the fire, but I know it was someone who hated me. I felt like such a fool. After all, I'd done nothing wrong. I just wanted to live my life without being bothered by anyone. I guess I'm not as strong as I thought I was.

I met a nice man while I was staying with friends. He's a computer programmer and we got married, but I still can't get over the fact that my life turned out so differently than I planned. I've tried to move on, but sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night and see the flames licking up through the roof. Sometimes I feel like there are ghosts everywhere I look, watching me, waiting for me to make a mistake so they can take away everything I love. And then I wonder if I'll ever be able to trust anyone again.

It's funny how much you can learn about yourself when something terrible happens. I wish I hadn't wasted so many years trying to please everyone else. Now I know that no one will ever love me as much as I love myself. I hope someday I'll be happy again, but right now I don't care about anything except getting rid of those ghosts.

This is my entry into the contest. Hope you enjoy reading it!

I invite @mari3 to the community. Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Strange insurance never paid out for arson, that would be a criminal case. Loss of everything starting again from scratch is tough, not something anyone would wish to live through. Perhaps a good chat with your Mother would help ease some of the ghosts you carry around, most Moms are very understanding!

Now married hope life is a lot better going into the future for you.

You received 2 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time

Would you have met the man you married were it not you were staying with friends?
Hmmm... it's strange how things turn out!
Thans for sharing, @delrosario
and good luck with the contest!

That was a hope stealing event. Cruel world