You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Weekend Getaway Essentials

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago

Though I always think, the essentials for travel are: cash money, bank cards, credit card, ID/Passport and that's it, I tend to always overpack. I simply want the comfort of being at home, wherever I am. That means way too much clothing I carry around. You never know where you end up, but mostly I visit family or friends. Though I like to dress as I like, I also take notice of my family and friends and adjust accordingly. If I would go around for a weekend on my own, I care less and suddenly I see myself travelling light weight :)

Books: Also essential. I usually take too many of those with me as well. I read 2 or 3 books concurrently, depends on my mood what I read. The reality: Rarely I find the time to read.

Laptop and phone. Preferably the phone is in flight mode or at least sound turned off. BTW, the phone sound is usually off even when I'm home or in the office. Friends, but also customers find my voice mail most of the time :)

When travelling super light, I come back to what the true essentials are: cash, cards, ID. Added to that pain killers for the occasional head ages and a few other items that can be very useful like paper hankies, tiny torch, toothpicks.... and... paper clips. Yes, paper clips! Paper clips are so useful when something breaks. It provided solutions to small problems many times.

Sort:  

Carrying the comfort of home to anywhere is a bit of work. I try but eh. I still find time to read even when I travel mainly because I spend a bit more inside than outside. I didn't know paperclips can be that useful! I always carry a stationery too just in case I need to write something and inside it, there's paperclips too. Thank you for sharing your light packing story :D I like the idea of having phone in flight mode but that never happens with me unless I visit a very remote area without a signal.