LOH Community Contest #184 ~ An hilarious favourite memory of my mom

in Ladies of Hivelast month

IMG20220401141455.jpg

What is your favorite memory of your mom? (or someone who acted in that role in your life!)




Unlike other girls in my age group, I didn't start developing at an early age, I think I am among that category they call the late bloomers because I developed both the physical and other aspects of adolescence signs when I was almost in Senior Secondary Two but one things struck out.

That fateful day my menstrual cycle came when I was still in school, so I returned home wet for the first time, I had to tell my mom about the new change occurrence. A
Since I was already schooled about it, I knew it was my menstrual cycle

I can not remember the precise date but I still remember that afternoon in my uniform, I went to tell my mom about it, and she was standing outside our balcony. I needed to tell her about the new change and get money from her to get my sanitary pad even though I was a bit scared of her outbursts as we both rarely have conversation and it gets weird for me especially since my dad was not around.




IMG20221002142220.jpg

Immediately I stood in front of her and started telling her my experience in school, she allowed me to finish telling her whatever I had to tell her and what I needed, and when I was done, she stepped into the room and beckoned to me.

She asked that I show her what I was talking about and I had to but shyly. when I was done, she said to me, "I hope you know this is the beginning of womanhood for you, avoid men at all costs and make sure no man touches you because if any man does, you are immediately going to get pregnant and if you do, I am going to disown you, do not bring disgrace to me, you are my only daughter."

She also went on to say that "When she started seeing her flow, she did not use a sanitary pad, she was taught how to use napkins and she was going to show me how to use it, and make it clean and keep for another day. In her words, she said that since sanitary pads are always thrown away with blood in them, some bad people go to the waste where they are disposed of, and pick it up so they can use it to harm the owners.

Even though I knew the truth, I was a bit scared about the new revelation my mom had just revealed to me and didn't know how to respond or react but I had to let her know that I had heard what she had said, would adhere to her warning and I promised her not to disgrace her as her only daughter, be of good behaviour and avoid men.

When I think back to her motherly advice, to me, I can not help but laugh at how she had thought that a man just touching me, even though I understood her concept of "touching" better, but since she didn't want to explain it further or elaborate it, I just always burst out laughing when I think about that fateful day because why on earth were our mothers taught that way and then, they passed on such teaching to us.




This is my entry to Ladies of Hive Community Contest #184




All images are mine

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

image.png
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @eliany and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (23/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

View or trade LOH tokens.


@eliany, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Puberty is not dealt with maturity in many parts of the world, I think. Instead of discussing the things precisely and clearly we just go about dreadening our kids. Huuuuuh!

The udea that the blood pads can be misused by sorcerers and alike also exists in my culture.

Curated by Hive Pakistan. Join us on Discord!

Delegate your HP to the Hivepakistan account and earn 90% of curation rewards in liquid hive!

50 HP
100 HP
200 HP
500 HP (Supporter Badge)
1000 HP
Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting!

Join Binance through this LINK for 10% off trading fees! Let's save together!

True, but I am glad that this generation of ours is intentional about making it right where our parents didn't.

The idea that the blood pads can be misused by sorcerers and alike also exists in my culture.

Wow, I thought it was only in mine. But has this been proven? I still don't know if to believe especially confirming it from you that it is also in your culture.

Yay! Your article was upvoted by the @minnowsupport project and will be highlighted in an article.
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@silversaver888, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @eliany and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (6/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thank you for this, I appreciate.

Thank you for your entry to our weekly contest! 😊

!LADY

095

View or trade LOH tokens.


@thekittygirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @eliany and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (26/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thank you 😊

Congratulations @eliany! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.
You made more than 1000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 1500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thank you, I appreciate 😊