You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unveiling the Marriage Lists: Tradition and Expectations for a Nigerian Wedding

in Ladies of Hive4 months ago

I kept going through the list just to be sure I wasn't hallucinating. I know marriage traditions is not a joke but a list of this magnitude is a total turn off for me.

Three separate list just to marry one woman 😅, I don't think the financial capacity of the groom should be measured on his ability to affords all the items on the list.

What if he spends all he has on the wedding arrangements, will the community members who enjoyed everything he bought be there when the bride is coping with the aftermath of the wedding.

Reading through, I realise you didn't mention your state or was that intentional because I'm really interested in knowing so that I will be careful of which state to pick a partner from 😅

Sort:  

Lol... i'm from Abia State. I've also seen a list from Imo State, it's even worse. You can choose to remain single if you're avoiding all this requirements 😂.
But seriously these requirements are way too much. Though I heard it's possible to negotiate some things in the list

Remaining single is definitely the plan 😂