fairyberry cross-posted this post in Ladies of Hive 2 years ago


My olfactory training to regain my sense of smell and flavours

in Natural Medicine2 years ago (edited)

It’s been a week since a strong cold completely took away my sense of smell. It’s almost 100% that I went through c.o.v.i.d. I am grateful to my immune system for not having any more serious symptoms. However, this type of anosmia is not the same as the loss of smell caused by colds. While in the case of common cold, nasal congestion causes the smell to weaken and disappear, here the olfactory nerves are damaged. As a result, one is unable to feel any smells and flavours. Appetite is also significantly reduced and this can lead to weight loss and deficiency diseases. It can also be dangerous if you do not smell rotten food, smell gas or smoke.

Pretty scary, but don’t panic! Awareness and vigilance matter a lot. The first day, as my nose cleared and I realized I couldn’t smell anything, I was in despair because I heard that there are people whose anosmia is permanent and will last a lifetime. Luckily, I soon overcame myself in despair and started researching. It turned out that in most cases, the sense of smell is fully restored.

But it does matter how! This is because in many cases the nerve connections become confused, so we also perceive false smells. For example, cinnamon - what you loved until then - can become disgusting. That's why it is very important to train your nose from the onset of symptoms! There is a lot of training up on youtube but everyone can create their own. Regularity is very important, 2-3 times a day, for 3-4 months. If you are eating, chew every bite thoroughly and recall the taste and flavour of the food. If you smoke, put down your cigarette and never light it again! You may feel it disgusting anyway.

In my method, instead of the usual 4 basic scents, there are 8 scents in the form of essential oils. Why 8? Because that’s all there is at home, I often use them for disinfection, bathing, inhaling, or simply smelling them.

(Image not shown due to low ratings)










(Image not shown due to low ratings)









Images were hidden due to low ratings.
Sort:  

Congratulations @fairyberry! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 80 posts.
Your next target is to reach 90 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21