My mother, my best teacher. LoH 179

Tell us about one thing you learned from your mother or sister or a female neighbor that she didn't teach you directly.

Growing up with my African mother seemed a little bit like punishment at times, but, if I were to choose a mother, I would still choose her again and again.

There are a lot of things I learned from my mother that she didn't teach me directly but I gained from watching her steps. Here are the few things I learnt from my mother 👇👇👇👇
Firstly, I learned the importance of self-confidence and self-consciousness. Growing up in a polygamous family, my mother, the second wife was a strong, independent woman who always discharged confidence in all aspects of her life. She had a successful career and balanced her personal, family, and professional lifestyle effectively.

medium-shot-women-posing-together.jpg

My mother, who is a very hard-working woman never a dependent, how she goes about her daily life made me realize that hard work pays the most and ignoring oneself in various situations can be gratefully achievable. In the journey of life whether in marriage or any, challenges must come and your ability to conquer makes you a winner. I saw a good woman, who wanted the best for her children despite the situations around but she remained hardworking. Although she never sat me down to teach me these qualities, actions speak louder than words. The hardworking part scaled us through school when no one was there for us.

Through my mother, I learned the importance of standing up for myself, expressing my opinions without hesitation, and believing in my abilities. I saw how being confident in who you are can impact both personal and professional relationships positively. She stood up against all odds when my father died. Her ability to say NO to some demeaning affairs when a close friend of my father wanted a relationship with my mother after my Dad's demise. What a human in animal form!

little-girl-presenting-flowers-her-mother.jpg

Another thing I learned from my mother was eye contact communication. My Mom would not open her mouth to say anything before we understood her message, if you ignore her eye contact, you would be severely punished like the African mother she is. This eye contact has shaped my personality and approach to life in different dimensions. I remember a day we went out for a program and on getting to that program, mom saw her friend who came sitting beside us with her children too. So, they were eating rice and fish stew when the woman extended the food to me that I should also eat hmm🤔I was hungry and needed to eat as fast as possible, so I stretched my hand unknowingly and then caught up with my mother's eye contact and I immediately withdrew my longer throat 😁 the woman asked if my mom said I should not take it and I said thank you ma. Even though I was famished, I dared not😢 This, my children grabbed too without me forcing them to learn.

On this note, I am forever grateful for the indirect lessons I learned through my mother which has helped me develop a full sense of confidence to face any challenges that come my way. I'm also glad to extend this teaching to my children too. Who are you to your children? A good example or the opposite? What morals can you boldly point at in your children? Let's try to be the best version our children can emulate.

Images are sourced carefully
Image 1
Image 2
My response to the ladies of the community contest and thanks to @merit.ama for a topic like this.

Thank you for reading, I hope this epistle meets you well. Have a good night's sleep.

Yours in 💕💕

Sort:  

Growing up with my African mother seemed a little bit like punishment at times

I can relate to this because Asian moms are almost the same. You have portrayed your mother beautifully and she surely is a wonderful woman. We as a child always carry the lessons from parents, especially from mothers. We are connected to our mother and always try to follow their footprints. Beautifully and well-written post.

Take care...

Aww! Thank you for this beautiful comment👏👏
If mothers then can still be the same mothers of today, maybe the world would be in a better place right now.
Kudos to the good mothers out there👍👍

Thanks @priyanarc for stopping by

image.png
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @flourishandflora and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (30/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thanks for the token

View or trade LOH tokens.


@flourishandflora, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Haha that eye communication is a popular thing with African mothers. I had a aunt who was like that, good your kids are smart to learn that too.
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@merit.ahama, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @flourishandflora and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (7/15 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Exactly 🤣🤣
Infact! I want my children to figure so much in me that I will ask them later. (Write what you know about your mother), I want to see something 🤣🤣

Oh hoh!!!
How can that you dad’s friend even try such a thing
I’m so happy your mom was able to say NO to him and get away from him.. the annoying part is they normally come as helpers but they just tend to cause destruction in many ways

It’s good to know you have confidence now to face anything that comes your way because of what you learned from your mother

How can your dad’s friend even try such a thing?
Some men are like that, shameless! If you see the way he was disappointed that day, he never came back to our house again 🤣

I'm glad I have a good mom who has self control 👍

Thanks dear friend

You’re welcome