Round-Trip Around Your Pipe Dreams | Ladies of Hive Contest #92

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago (edited)

Well, I've always been a bit of a travel addict. I love to-ing and fro-ing, and the hum of airports. I love looking out the window and seeing weird-ass clouds. And of course, I love being far from home. Huh. Maybe that says something. Point is, when the Ladies of Hive community asked

If you were given a round-trip airline ticket to anywhere in the world, where would you choose to go, and specifically, why?

I simply couldn't help myself. So here goes.

If someone gave me a round-trip airline ticket to anywhere in the world, I think I'd like to go to Peru. But that's an abstract thought. I want to go to Peru for the same reasons thousands of others do. Because ruins, and because exotic, and because pretty, and... you get the picture. So while I'd pick Peru as a destination a little further from home, I think my dream ticket would be to Laugharne, Wales.

Well, Cardiff, most likely, since there's no airport there. For me, Wales has always been the dream trip, and for one simple reason -- it's where Dylan Thomas lived and wrote. And to say I worship Dylan would be an understatement. There's just something in his writing that's so moving to me, so evocative. To see the place(s) that inspired Under Milk Wood sounds like the trip of a lifetime for me.

So, why not?

Being a wandering spirit, I've always loathed people who dreamed of seeing a place, but never actually bought the goddamn ticket. It seems to me, if something is worthwhile enough to be dreamed of, it's worth saving up for -- right?

I've often toyed with the idea of a Wales sojourn (a few weeks, to give me time to see Cardiff, and Swansea, and so many others), but never made it real. First, the pandemic came and put a dent in my plans, and now, while I am going to be traveling for quite a bit, I've chosen to see other places in Europe that carry familial meaning to me.

Wales seemed expensive (because it is), but worst of all, I worried that if I went, I might be underwhelmed. It never does to idealize something for too long, since you'll always end up disappointed in the end. So because of finances, and for fear of being underwhelmed, I put off this trip again and again, though I know I'll eventually get around to it. Maybe 2023 is the year Wales finally happens for me. I've always been fond of the UK, and while another short trip to London may be in my plans for this autumn, I don't think I'll get around to seeing Wales until next spring, at the earliest. But we'll see.

If there's one thing the pandemic has taught me is never take your opportunities for granted, and never assume you'll have them later on, as well. I've always been fond of the beach and the sea (just got back from it, actually), and so for 2022, I figured okay, so why not turn it from a quick holiday into a lifestyle?. Just for starters. Just to see if I might like the general feel of living near the sea, as I suspect I would. So I'll be staying in Croatia for a while, starting next month, since my family is originally from there (partly). And from there on, well, a bunch of other places. Because some people know who they are without traveling, but I'm not one of those people.

295617105_796128638067303_4734375357047755492_n.jpg

So I guess, in a way, that's the trip I'd love to take the most. I've been dreaming about what it would be like to go since forever, and I'm going, soon. Because as I said, I don't think it will do to dwell or to waste time thinking of those sunny good days that never come.
It would be foolish to distract myself in saying "oh, my dream trip is X", if my heart seems t have gone someplace else. For short, if my dream trip was X, I'd be going there.

So maybe the question shouldn't be where would you go, but rather, why aren't you going there?

Anyway, thanks to @ladiesofhive for hosting this wonderful contest I wish I had time to participate more in, and here's a track for all the wonderful ladies in this community:

Since rules say I gotta, I'm inviting my mom @ladyrebecca into the fold. In the hope that someday, she'll come back here, as I keep suggesting :)

Sort:  

I've heard of Wales before but I've never really thought of going there, I wonder what it looks like over there.

It will be really nice to visit so many beautiful places but like you said, I don't want to be underwhelmed.

I love to visit UK too someday but finance is my major setback but I will just have to work harder to get an opportunity to visit there someday.

Good luck with your trip this year.

I've always been intrigued by Wales and Ireland so I can understand your desire. I've not ever heard of Dylan Thomas (don't be too shocked, lol) and have to admit, I am curious about Under Milk Wood.

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

Wales is beautiful, you chose a wonderful location. And I agree if you dream of something, you should make it a reality.
You should look in to workaway if you go there, that way you could have accommodation and some food in exchange for helping people o their properties, that way you will be really immersed. It's such a great way to save money whilst travelling xxxx

You have received 1.ooo LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.