Why Visit The Philippines? Because It's More Fun In There (LOH 146)

in Ladies of Hive9 months ago

August 18, 2023


"It's more fun in the Philippines!"

png_20230818_124534_0000.pngEdited in Canva. Just check the sources below.


When I read about the LOH topic this week made by @brittandjosie, this tagline was the first thing that came to mind and incredible things to do in the Philippines.

The question was:

Take me to your country and two of the best things to do there. Show me the best place to go, the best amusement I have to experience and convince me in the best way that my next travel should be where you live. AND tell me the place you love so I can make a Hive Map again. Originality is something I always look for!

If you will ask why should you visit my beloved country, the Philippines, this Tourism tagline is the best answer, because it's more fun in the Philippines, which has been used for long years to promote tourism in our country. But it isn't just a mere tagline, because, it truly is fun to visit the Philippines for uncountable reasons.

Our country may not be as wealthy as other well-developed countries, and many even considered it a poor one due to its economic status, but I can proudly say that it is rich in natural features and the main reason why many foreign friends keep coming to our country. Aside from the beautiful places, the resiliency, hospitality, friendliness, and camaraderie of Filipino people are the most valuable experience you could ever have in your life. Filipinos are incredible as so as the country!

I can proudly share here some of the best things to do in our country, the best amusement you could experience, and the great places you could visit to have a wonderful experience in the Philippines. Backpackers and adventurers would surely love them!

@brittandjosie asked the best two things to do in our country. These are on the top of my bucket list that I truly want to materialize once opportunity knocks on my door.

1. Island Hopping and Adventuring

Philippines Cliff - Image from Unsplash by Cris Tagupa

Among countries in Asia, I guess the Philippines is the best place to do island hopping. At least, that's what I know.

Don't you know that there are 7641 islands in our country?

Yep! You read it right. The Philippines is an archipelago consisting of three major islands: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. And those major islands comprise thousands of islands. Islands within islands. Amazing isn't it? And you will be amazed if I say that only 2000 are inhabited, thus, more than 5000 are yet to discover well. What are in those undiscovered islands? Of course, beautiful natural features and untamed paradises.

While island hopping, you can experience the best things such as kayaking, canoeing, cave exploration, scuba diving, snorkeling, whale watching, hiking, beaching, camping, and a lot more things to have fun! Of course, that can be done in other countries too. But the natural beauty of our tourist spots and experiences are undoubtedly unique from the rest.

Siargo island hopping
Oslob Cebu scuba diving
Bantayan cave
Ifugao mountain hiking
South Cotabato Mt. Parker kayaking
All free images from Unsplash, edited in Canva

See them for yourself and visit our humble country. It sounds like I'm promoting our tourism here, lol.

And since we have a lot of islands and coastlines, that means, we have a lot of beaches. Don't miss them out. They are beautiful and each is unique. From white fine sand to black sand. There is even pink sand! And it is just in my home province but I have never been there, lol. There are over 36,000 beaches in our country and you can simply pick some to visit.

The island and beach of Boracay, for instance, are on the top list and even popular worldwide.

Photos above courtesy of Princess, my first cousin, taken during her visit to Boracay last October 2022. When I saw her FB post about it, I envied her but at the same time, I became more determined to work harder so I could explore other parts of our country, especially the beautiful and famous spots.

Just like her, I want to walk barefoot on the white fine sand and feel the kisses of the cool breeze. I want to soak my body in crystal clear water, play with the waves, ride on the transparent kayak, and explore other spots on the island. This has been my wish, to do water sports activities on a beautiful island with some good friends or family. And of course, the beach of Boracay is also a great spot to watch the sunset. The most beautiful part of the day.

The island of Palawan is also on top of my bucket list, the first to be certain. This is what I wish to visit someday. There are islands on this island that are great to explore. Crystal clear water, amazing rock formations, white fine sand beaches, tempting lagoons, enchanting caves, and a lot more adventure spots to have fun. Island hopping, beaching, snorkeling, kayaking in the middle of lagoons, and underground boat riding, are just some of the things I want to do in here. I remember this place became the world's prettiest island in a certain year which I guess still on the list up to this year. That made me want to visit it and explore the scenic spots by myself.


Image sources 1, 2,3,4, and 5. Edited in Canva


The second best thing to do in the Philippines is...

2. Celebrate Religious and Cultural Festivals

Being in Asia, I can say that countries have lots of festivals. Aside from stunning natural landscapes, we are rich in culture and tradition and have a lot of things to be grateful for and celebrate.

Image from Unsplash by Hitoshi Namura

Our country, the Philippines, has 42,000 festivals, including major and minor festivals. Amazing, right? Cities, provinces, municipalities, towns, and even small barios or villages have respective festivals or what we call fiestas. That is because the Philippines is a religious country so places have assigned patron saints. And in honor of them, festival celebrations are held.

The festival celebration in our country, for me, is the best. When I worked here in Hong Kong, celebrations are way different from ours. And I can say that it's more fun in our country.

During festivals, there are a lot of things to have fun. And these are what I missed a lot. Some places usually have carnivals set up weeks or a month prior to the festival day with lots of rides and games to try. This includes small gambling, lol.

Aside from it, there are a lot of shows and events to attend that entertain the locals and tourists which usually happens at night consecutively until the grand festival day. There are beauty pageants, talent shows, several contests, concerts, fun shows, sports activities, and a lot more. So locals could have a chance to showcase their beauty and talents and win amazing prizes. But the fun experience is what matters here, not just the crowns, trophies, and medals. And while attending festivals, you can visit historical spots. There is a lot in all parts of the country.

But the most anticipated part of festivals? It's the grand celebration day with a grand parade. This is the most exciting part, especially in major festivals, the grand parade where locals from different provinces and municipalities showcase their dancing skills and creative colorful costumes with respective musical crews and grand floats along the streets.


Image sources 1,2,3, and 4. Edited in Canva

And at the end of the parade is the group presentation which usually happens in a big dome. All participants will show their presentation that portrays rich culture and tradition. And the chosen groups with the best presentation will take home amazing prizes.

Don't just imagine it! If you aren't a Filipino you can watch festival videos uploaded across social media.
Here are some examples from Sinulog Festival, the biggest festival in our country which is celebrated in Cebu. We have a lot of Cebuanos here on Hive, so they can attest to it.

Video of a foreign vlogger who attended the recent Sinulog Festival.

The presentation of the group that won the grand championship.

In case you are curios about Philippines Festivals, you can the top festivals here

But do you know that there is a free feast during festivals in our country? Yep! Feast in the Fest! Our favorite part that foodies love. During festivals, each household will prepare some food that will be served to whoever will visit their houses. Strangers are even allowed to have a feast. Hospitality of Filipinos is shown during this kind of celebration.

Image source

Delicious Filipino traditional foods are usually seen during fiestas, such as lechon or roasted pig, adobo, pansit or Filipino vermicelli, salad, and a lot more delicacies and Filipino cuisine.

Back in the day, I was part of the preparation when our village fiesta is coming. From general house cleaning to decorating the house, shopping for the food ingredients, preparing everything needed for the fiesta, and cooking foods would start the day before the festival day.

Preparing for a fiesta is a bit strenuous, to be honest. However, celebrating festivals is another way to be reunited with distant family and friends, not just during the Christmas season. So the reward of seeing them with laughter and joy after exhausting preparation is definitely a great experience.

You shouldn't miss karaoke too while having a feast! Neighbors won't mind about your bad singing voice. They are, as well, having karaoke, lol. So many things I missed during fiestas! I can't wait to experience them again.

Did I mention the Christmas season above? Don't you know that our country has the longest Christmas season? Yep! It's another fact. It started from September until January. And this, as well, is the best thing to experience in our country.


What else can I say to convince @brittandjosie to visit our country? I just mentioned the best two things, how much more if I mention all? ☺️

I shouldn't forget to include the place I love too. Of course, my humble hometown, Basey Samar. This, as well, has a lot of tourist attractions. But I must admit that I haven't explored it yet since most of my years were spent studying and working in the city.

Photo mine. Our historical St. Michael The Archangel Parish Church

You can check this video I found on Youtube to see my beautiful and simple hometown ☺️. Please do include this in your Hive Map @brittandjosie.

That concludes my entry to LOH 146 contest. You can share the best things to do in your country.
Click this link for the details.

Thanks for stopping by.

(All photos are mine)

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCXDhCdbKLssUZHyzgV8BMivE5JBKjj6Z1mXGKEa2poFtSmgk8UUkkrURjvkmRJDTSPWo525rjc3ZyuTfsicGv3jrGn5u45Mc3UzoYhkXFZRSLN.webp

20230205_232024_0000.png

Join her on her quest for self-discovery and wanderlust. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, drop a comment, reblog, and follow for more wonderful adventures.

You can also reach me on my socials and let's be connected:

Facebook
YouTube
Twitter
noise.app
read.cash

Sort:  

@tipu curate

Thanks for calling tipu ☺️
!PIZZA

Indeed, it is more fun in the Philippines sis. I so love to try the Crystal clear transparent Kayak there in Boracay. I see many people enjoying taking candid shots in there. Agreed with all the wonderful places in the Philippines that you have mentioned. Have safe travels.

Kaya nga sis..huhu kakainggit. But my dream place talaga ay Palawan.. I want to explore all its parts.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @pinkchic and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (3/7 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Don't you know that there are 7641 islands in our country?

OMG. So many islands. It's huge and I think visiting the islands is difficult in the whole life. To be honest it's beyond my imagination.

The natural beauty of your country amazes me very much I know from earlier that your country is a country with rich culture.

I hope someday I will visit the Philippines.
!PIZZA

Just imagine the impossible and make it possible ☺️.
For sure you will love our country as you get there

Truly, our nation is blessed with nature's best and yes, cultural activities too.
Palawan is also a dream place to visit for us. Hopefully, one day soon, we'll be able to check it out.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @jane1289 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/18 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Why not sis? Total, afford nyo naman ☺️.. Time to vacay with your hubby

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @ifarmgirl and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/7 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

The FB is always busy 😂 We can't even go on a road trip these days.

Congratulations @jane1289! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 15500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 16000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the second Semi-Final
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the first Semi-Final
Women's World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Recap of Day 2

Wow, I never knew the Philippines had this much fun activities, I would love to visit there one day.

I can already believe you. I have a Filipina in-law that will vouch for you. 💛

Hehe... You should visit the Ph too ☺️

After joining the noisecash, i knew that there's a lot of fun in Philippines and i made a lot if friends from Philippines too especially cebu Bohol 😁

If life gave me a chance i really wanna visit there

Enjoy your Friday and have a good day jane 💕

Wow! What a beauty to behold... I've always loved the Philippines for its rich culture and beautiful sites to see, but seeing your post has just made it even more real. Definitely on my bucket list of countries to visit. I heard you have lots of coconuts over there in the Philippines too.
I've heard a lot about the dish called Adobo, what's it made of?

Adobo is either pork or Chicken with soy sauce.. You can search how to make it..

Tourist spots in the Ph is a must to be added in the bucket list. I recommend you to visit Palawan.. There are a lot of great things to do and beautiful spots to visit ..

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @meyateingi and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (4/7 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Oh really! I'll do that.
Definitely on my bucket list🤗

Sa HongKong pala dapat pumunta para makatikim ng glow-up joke. True te sa may fiesta haha ilang beses na ako nakaattend. Mostly ang inaabangan ko lagi ron yung perya kasi may mga rides. Baka yung island hopping, ilang years bago ko maranasan HAHHAHAHAH

Anong glow up pinagsasabi mo? Included ba jan? 😅

Makakapag island hopping ka rin, trabaho agad after school haha

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@intishar(1/5) tipped @jane1289
jane1289 tipped coolmidwestguy
jane1289 tipped magicmonk

I have watched many Philippines movie and I agree that you guys have wonderful places to visit.
Wish to visit there someday

You will love the countryside..don't stick to the city 🤣🤣 it's stressful there haha..

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @graciousvic and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (3/7 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Hahahaha okay heard you Buddy

I miss Sinulog. Ganda ng simbahan nyo sa basey. Pareho tayo ng patron st.

As n? So September 30 din fiesta nyo?
San ang sa inyo?

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @bluepark and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/7 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Proud to be a Filipino!♡♡

I am so lucky i lived in Palawan for 2 years from 2017 to 2019. Pabalik2 din ako dyan dati from 2014 to 2016. Naka 15 days din ako Sa boracay. Gusto ko mag join Sa contest but not sure may time. Wooh.

So nalibot mo na ang palawan? Swerte namN.. I have Palawano friends...bet ko talaga pumunta jan someday..
Gang today ang contest btw

!LADY

Malaki ang Palawan. Di ko pa napuntahan ang Coron Island pati balabac sa South. Nalibot ko north pa El Nido.

@jane1289, Kaka submit ko Lang entry ko. Whew!

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @itravelrox and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/7 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

You make a strong case but it hasn't changed my decision where my top spot is to visit. Top spot is there, hehe :)

Where? Hehe.. Have you visited other countries outside yours?

!PIZZA

Been to Germany (five days) and Saudi Arabia three times almost a years time. I've spent 2 days in Greenland and Italy. Other countries I've passed through as passengers. Canada I've been in as well but I don't count it as it's close and borders the U.S.

That's cool.. I wish I could travel too outside HK and Ph..

Boracay? Cebu? Haha..

Any where in PH really :)

Superb! No wonder a lot of foreigners love to visit our country. A lot of wonders can be seen and worthy to visit then. Thanks for sharing this very informative blog of yours. God bless.

Well done @jane1289! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to view your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the second Semi-Final
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the first Semi-Final

Una participación de las damas de #hive.