The Downvote Problem

in Ladies of Hive11 months ago

Hey everyone!
Today, I want to take a moment to vent my frustration about something that has been bothering me lately: downvotes. I have to say, I find them utterly ridiculous and detrimental to the overall ecosystem!

Now, I understand that downvotes were initially intended as a mechanism to discourage spam, plagiarism, and low-quality content. But unfortunately, they often end up being misused or wielded as a weapon by certain individuals who seek to impose their personal biases or agendas on others. It creates a toxic environment where negativity and censorship thrive, stifling creativity and discouraging genuine engagement.
It's disheartening to witness valuable content and passionate creators being targeted by a barrage of downvotes, simply because their ideas or opinions don't align with those of the voters. Instead of fostering healthy discussions and diverse perspectives, downvotes can lead to self-censorship and the exclusion of voices that are crucial for a vibrant and inclusive community.

Now, let me tell you about the Blurt blockchain. On Blurt, they have implemented a system where each post costs something, making users more thoughtful about what they share. However, they have done away with downvotes altogether. This approach encourages responsible content creation while avoiding the unnecessary negativity and discouragement caused by downvoting.

I believe it's time we reconsider the impact of downvotes on the Hive blockchain. Is there a way we can shift the focus towards positive reinforcement and constructive criticism rather than resorting to downvoting as the primary means of expressing disagreement or disapproval? Can we find a balance between discouraging harmful behavior while still promoting a nurturing and supportive environment for creators?

I want to hear your thoughts on this. Have you experienced the negative effects of downvotes on the Hive blockchain? Are there any alternative approaches we could explore to ensure a healthier and more uplifting ecosystem? Let's brainstorm together and find ways to foster a community where creativity can flourish without the fear of being crushed by downvotes.

Remember, our collective voice and engagement can drive positive change. Let's make our voices heard and strive for a more inclusive and supportive platform.

Sending positive vibes your way,
Janine Davis

P.S.: If you're looking for a free blurt account, let me know ;)

Sort:  

Since there are no moderators or admins that can ban an account for bad behaviour , they can only mute them in their own community, it's a good thing to have downvotes availeble to correct misbehaviour when needed.

But as always with a force of power some use it for personal grudge .

I've seen negativity in downvotes whale wars are not the kind of wars you want to get involved in.

most of that was back in the steem days . Downvotes have played a big part in educating people not to copy paste anything you find on the internet and source porperly. If you are hurt by downvotes you must have done something wrong and most of the times the downvoter explains why . At least i always explain why if i downvote manualy .
And the downvote trail i follow does the same .

Blurt is only good for those that don't care about copyrights .

Hey Mick. On paper it's a good thing for sure.
I have multiple friends (mostly artists) who left Hive due to wale wars.
They simply posted their work and got downvoted to oblivion. None of the instances were justified. The explination is always "uh, oh - idk, I follow I trail, it's just a dust vote, just ignore it" or "you plagiarize" even after complying to authenticate...

Due to those events I'm even scared to post their usernames here - real joke social media...

i've been away too for a while and came back last year , so far no complains from my side there is one or 2 whales that downvote voting trails but that is just a small percentage from the upvotes you get i don't even worry about that because it's not targeted against me .

I am not talking about myself, since I rarely get any votes at all. 😝
In regards to my friends, no it definitely was not only two whales.

Remember it's a miracle that a decentralized platform like Hive works at all. Back in the Steem days, when downvotes would lower the rewards for the downvoters too, there wasn't just a little bit of spam. Low-effort posts with semi-automated coin analyses would regularly reach the top of the trending page, thanks to the upvotes of one whale. There were also services that sold upvotes to minnows who wanted to play the same game.

Do you really think this platform works?

  • After a few weeks here I already feel bumping in the same people over and over.
  • The price of Hive is diving.
  • No real guards for whales / self voting etc (see my other posts).
  • Hurdle to start using it.
  • Not that friendly.

Toxic upvotes like Circle-Jerk as you just mention in another post, is as damaging to the ecosystem as you would say downvotes are.

#fuckblurt

What do you think about self voting? Isn't this damaging aswell?
@cwow2

Its 100% damaging! But nobody seems to give a shit.
I tried to yell up people to care about it. But nobody does, so why not join in?

It seems this kind of obstacle is everywhere, many people act this way for no relevant reason :( But I hope that people can live in harmony and that they start to feel happy about other people's success, I hope that everything is flowing well for you, that all adversities become great positive experiences ^^

Thanks a lot eriquin!
So far the hive experience wasn't that shiny...

I hope that from now on this will change and everything will become more pleasant for you, unfortunately some people make things difficult for ourselves... Don't give up, everything will work out for all of us, I'm sure your efforts will make you have great results, You're welcome 😉😊

@janinedavis
Have never experienced a downvote.
Although my referral @vickoly explain the caution behind it which I have been avoiding

Almost all of my artist friends got downvoted into oblivion - guess it's just a question of time 🤣

That is not good
Someone should be watching what to post

Yeah, but who? Those who hold the biggest bag? 🤣🤣

Funny
I think so dear friend

There seem to be accounts that automatically downvote against an upvote that some of the most powerful accounts make (eg. xocd, xappreciator...), but these automatic downvote accounts are small and not powerful and have no effect...

I had a quick look at your account... you have posted about 10 times and haven't received downvotes as far as I can see? I think you've had one post muted - I presume for not being in the appropriate community?

Has downvoting been a real problem for you? Or just other people you know?

Yes there are, and not too few. If people start posting on Hive - it doesn't need a giant bag holder to downvote everything to hell.

As previously stated - it is not me I'm talking about.
Frankly I am too scared to even share the usernames 😥😥

Yes, I have always manually curated, but it definitely seems possible to set up your account to copy the voting habits of a curator account - so if they downvote you, then all the other accounts would automatically copy that downvote too I assume.

Perhaps I have been lucky so far - I mainly share live music or surfing photos... People have been nice to me!