Ladies of Hive Community Contest #77. What were your favorite foods as a child? Do you still enjoy them now?

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago (edited)

Hello, Ladies of Hive and Gentelmen of Hive. Hope you are having a wonderful day today.
This is my second time posting here on the #LadiesOfHive community, which I find it really interesting and fun.

This is my entry for Contest #77 click here for the original post.
The question I chose to write about is:

What were your favorite foods as a child? Do you still enjoy them now?

This was a very easy question for me to write about and I knew right away, what my favorite food was as a child, and still is one of my favorite, if not my favorite foods. The only hard thing is that I have few other foods I loved as a child.

I don't think that you can ever change that. Since I believe it stays with your forever. We usually love the foods that we grew up on. It's just something that stays with us forever.
Maybe the fact is that it might not be your favorite food anymore but once in a while, you wish you could eat it again because you miss that specific taste.

image.png

As you can see, my favorite food as a child were pierogies. But not just any pierogies, but my grandma's Polish pierogies. My grandma made the best pierogies in the world. She was the pierogi queen.

I believe she was so good at it because she used to cook pierogies for the soldiers during the Second World War, so she had to be speedy and a lot of practice.
But then again, my grandma made all the dishes so delicious. It even rhymes 😁

Every time we went to visit my grandma, which was 2-3 times a week since she lived pretty far away from us, my grandma would have like 100 - 150 pierogies waiting for us when we arrived. We just couldn't wait to eat her pierogies.

She made her pierogies from fresh white cheese. My mouth is watering right now, just thinking of it. Plus she would serve them with some fresh cream, which was the best cream in the world. So creamy and so tasty.

My grandma lived in a small village, and that is where my mom grew up with 5 siblings.
Every year, I and my sister would go for a month during summer break and we had the best time there. We learned about village life, which I loved and miss.

A few times, I remember my grandma giving me some of her eggs or sometimes money to go to her neighbor who had the cattle, to get the fresh cream. I thought it was so cool. They traded their foods or bought them from each other and the best part was that the food was all fresh and organic those days and with so much taste.

image.png

I don't even have a photo of my grandma to share with you, since she didn't have that many photos of herself.

The good thing is that all her daughters, which one of them is my mom, learned from my grandma her delicious cooking skills and now I have learned from my mom.

Now I make my own pierogies, but with cheddar cheese which is not the same as my grandma's pierogies, but still really delicious.
The pictures are from me making pierogies last time, which I also made a post about and you can check it out Here if you like.

So to answer the second question, yes I still enjoy my favorite food, but not quite the same way.

Wow. Just writing about my grandma's pierogies makes me realize how much I miss my grandma and how much I would love to eat her pierogies with fresh cream at least one more time. Makes me really sad to think that I will never be able to see her or taste her amazing dishes.
The last time I age her pierogies was when I was 13 years old when we moved to Canada, which is 32 years ago.

Hope your enjoyed my little story about my favorite food as a child and about my grandma.

Thank you so very much @ladiesofhive for creating these amazing and fun contests.
Love @joalvarez


I am a great supporter of @familyprotection which is working very hard to help families stay together and this project is the most amazing project that I would suggest for everyone in this hive community to check it out and support it and by doing it we are helping people in need who are trying to keep their kids safe from being taken away (kidnapped) by the Social Services. Here is the link Click here

Thank you for visiting my post. If you like it, please don't forget to Upvote, Follow, and Rehive, it is very, very appreciated. Any suggestions are always very welcome so that I can keep improving in this community. God Bless!

DQmduqqaBDC8BYQQLUETr4F8VSBi6WfypSNoW6YY2vDCo4f.jpg
Image created by my beautiful friend @sunnylife.

Sort:  

Very beautiful contest entry and I wish you all the very best for this contest.

Thank you @shohana1
Have a lovely weekend.

You're welcome dear, likewise 💗

I tried a Restaurant pierogies before and they were wonderful. Store purchased frozen pierogies..? We're not quite the same. Fresh is definitely better.

Thanks @joalvarez ❤️

I actually never tried pierogies in a restaurant but frozen pierogies are OK. I get them sometimes when I don't have the time to make them.

Thank you for your lovely visit @kerrislravenhill

You received 2 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time

Pierogies is a dish I have yet to try!
Thanks for sharing, @joalvarez
Good luck with the contest.

What a lovely story about your grandma and her pierogies! The bartering with neighbors for fresh cream was a nice touch, too! Thanks for sharing this in our weekly contest! 🙂