THOUGHT-PROVOKING ISSUES | LADIES OF HIVE CONTEST #7

Copy of PIFCJustClickindivaLogo3.png
Image created in Canva by me utilizing it's free background

@ladiesofhive
Ladies of Hive Community Contest #7

The Ladies of Hive Community is an awesome group dedicated to supporting and empowering all ladies of Hive. To keep the Community alive and buzzing, we're able to participate in contests that are completely voluntary. It's a great way to engage with each other within the Community and get to know one another through our content. I've participated in a few contest so far.

Upon reading the requirements for the 7th Contest brought by @brittandjosie, one of the Ladies of Hive team members in the Community, I'm happy to contribute.

What do you do for the environment and what is your best tip? Tell us about your 'Green' side!

Like others in the U.S. and around the world, we care about the environment for ourselves, our children, and future generations. There's much controversy surrounding the efforts for cleaner air and water, as well as protecting our natural resources.

Individual efforts may be small, but taken together with the overall city and state objectives, then combined with other states in the U.S., we can help improve and protect our environment.

To assist in protecting the environment, over 20 years ago my family decided to join in our city's efforts. They proposed numerous ways to accomplish this in their pamphlets they distributed to each household.

Recycling Program.

Worldwide, individuals should by now recognize the universal RECYCLE symbol. My family decided the easiest way to contribute was through the recycle program. Below are the recycling activities we engage in.

Trash:
We were provided by the city a special "green-colored", 40-gallon trash receptacle. Each week, we were asked to contribute our unwanted items, eligible for recycling according to their list, by bagging them, then placing each bag in the "green colored" trash container.

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Blue Simple Current Mood _ Mood Photo Collage10.png

The different color helps to ensure that each family doesn't mix household solid waste. In our home, we have a container for recycling materials in addition to our regular solid waste trash container.

Next, a special "green" trash pick up truck swings by immediately after the regular black trash trucks have completed their neighborhood runs. Over the years, we've increased our bags to several each week to contribute to the recycling efforts.

This activity is perhaps the easiest to accomplish on a small scale with everyday items you may not realize are eligible for the recycling program:

  • all plastic items, including grocery bags, soft drinks, take-out containers, and any other item that has the universal recycle emblem on the bottom or elsewhere;

  • glass bottles, including soft drinks. I usually wash them first before adding them to the recycle bins. I get a lot of laughs from family about that; and

  • paper, including newspaper, printer paper, greeting cards.

Electronics:
We participate in our local electronics store that accepts the following items for recycle to reduce electronic waste (called "e-waste"):

  • tv's
  • videos
  • computers / printers / monitors
  • cellphones
  • appliances; and
  • car audio / GPS devices.

20201110_115549.jpg

Printer Cartridges:
I return all my empty printer cartridges to our local office supply store where I purchased them. That way, I receive credit toward future purchases while at the same time helping with the environment. I can recycle a maximum of 10 cartridges per month for credit. If I have additional, I save them for the next month.

I hope the above is useful in deciding whether you may want to consider recycling.

What animal(s) make the perfect combination to describe yourself? And why?

panther448975_640.jpg
Image by fotshot from Pixabay

The Black Panther. Sleek look. Quiet demeanor. Stealthiness, and Strength. This Big Cat is actually a jaguar. It has a rare excessive gene that causes the black pigment.

It's nocturnal. A carnivorous animal, they are the master of the ambush. They can take down a full grown crocodile or any of its species with one crushing bite. I watched a National Geographic special once in which a panther ventured into the water. The croc pulled him under. I thought sure it was the end of the black panther. However, after a few minutes, he returned to shore pulling a full grown crocodile behind him. Now that is awesome. The only other animal he avoids is the anaconda. I would too!

I love them because of their strength and tenacity. However, they are also an endangered species due to loss of habitat.

What music needs to be played at your funeral (or wedding, if you want to write about a happier occasion)?

Since I've already planned other aspects of my Homegoing Celebration, I might as well plan the type of music I'd like to hear to drown out all the crying and falling out that will take place. This may be a bit over dramatization on my part.

The truth is I hope nothing like that takes place. My only wish is for a peaceful transition from this world to the next.

The reason I can talk so candidly about it is my mom. I so admire her forethought in planning and leaving us instructions. She had already purchased her Funeral Service Contract. I've done the same with every member of my family.

But I didn't think about the music. Thanks Ladies of Hive for the reminder. I'll add this to my Instruction Letter.

mahaliajackson93512421402.jpg
Image from Biography.com

The person I want to represent my state of mind at that time in music is the Queen of Gospel, Mahalia Jackson. I grew up in love with gospel music, and her songs, especially, Trouble of the World, which is a classic.

The song was adapted for the 1959 Oscar-nominated movie, Imitation of Life, which I've seen over 50 times. And each time I cry at the end when Mahalia sings that song.

Below is the 2 minute-version adapted for the movie. If you ever hear of my demise, just smile because you'll know the song I'm listening to.


Official music video for Trouble Of The World from YouTube

Thank you for staying this entire time to read my answers to the thought-provoking questions in this Contest #7.

LADIES OF HIVE COMMUNITY

Please join me in this awesome contest?

To make sure that your entry is valid, and can not be missed for the contest, please make sure that you follow the RULES:

  • Blog must answer at least one of the questions (or more, if you wish!)
  • Blog must be submitted before Sunday, NOVEMBER 15, 2020
  • Blog must be published in Ladies of Hive community
  • Blog must be original in order to win
  • Blog must be 200+ words
  • Blog must invite another woman to the community

I'd like to invite the following ladies on Hive to join me in the awesome Community: LADIES OF HIVE:

@jadeaca
@evev
@adncabrera

IMPORTANT: IF YOU DECIDE YOU WANT TO JOIN THE LADIES OF HIVE, just click the Ladies of Hive banner below to join in the fun at their Discord. See you there!

👇

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

Sort:  

Thank you, dear @justclickindiva. I am very grateful for your invitation, and, besides, the topics of this call are very interesting for me. You give me, additionally, the opportunity to attend an invitation to join the calls of this wonderful community of ladies that @marcybetancourt made me and at the time I could not attend.
Count on me, lady.

PS.My vp is sold out. I will be back soon.

You are so welcome. I understand time constraints. Just know whenever you do have free time, the Community will still be here to welcome you heartily. Take care, and have a great rest of your week.

Amena conversación que tuvimos a través de tus letras amiga. La pantera es un animal elegante. Gracias por compartir tus respuestas.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 31 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1


Hey @justclickindiva, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

All three questions answered very well. I also try to recycle a bit. That song is very beautiful, what an extraordinary voice @justclickindiva

Hello. Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and visit my responses. I appreciate your kind words. Yes, Mahalia Jackson has an amazing gospel voice and is a legend.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thank you so much for stopping in to let me know of the gracious curation on your behalf by @thekittygirl. I certainly appreciate the exposure for my post.

I loved the green panther that has prepared the travel to the next home in the after life hahahahhah great blog and all three answered that’s great ! I have t thought about the cartridges I never recycle them maybe I need to do that in addition to all I do. Not that we have many but with Covid working from home that is more than usual , thanks for joining

Good to hear about your environmental efforts. My main efforts are to reuse things and not consume as much.
!CTP

Yes, we have reduced the amount of items we purchase that go to waste. When you think about starving people in other countries, it's shameful how much the U.S. toss out each year.

Several years ago, we were required to take our recyclables to a special site for offloading. Now, our city makes it easy by providing a container and a list of acceptable items to each household. There's really no excuse not to place our recyclables in the separate green container and set it on the curb bi-weekly with the regular trash bin.

Take care.

very true! I dont live far from the civic site, its very easy to go and drop things off there. I think they should reduce or scrap the fees though, it just encourages people to dump their rubbish secretly for free.