Poetry & Passion: Why I like my characters in control. (LoH #107)

in Ladies of Hive4 months ago (edited)

I usually have a plan when I write. An outline. A direction.

Sometimes that starts with a scene, or a bit of dialogue, or a dream that leaves me with a snippet of inspiration.

But one of my favorite things about writing is not being fully in control of the process. I honestly don't know how I come up with half of what I write. Characters evolve in my mind and take over the narrative.

And that's the way I like it.


This is my post for the Ladies of Hive Community Contest this week, and likely my random appearance on Hive for the month before I skip off into my imaginary world and get some writing done for the contract I have with Heart's Choice, a publisher of interactive fiction games and the romance division of Choice of Games.

I've been working steadily on my second interactive fiction game for HC and having a lot of fun with it. But I'm roughly 100,000 words in and needed to take a break.

Sometimes, getting sidetracked is the best thing for creativity.

Last week I saw a post on the Choice of Games forum announcing a romance game jam for February and I said to myself, "Hey, why don't I try writing a super simple playful little game as a palate cleanser."

That is what I did.

I quietly released it two nights ago on itch.io, and as of tonight it's had over 500 browser plays and 1100 views. I did not expect that. I haven't even entered it into the game jam yet because it doesn't open until Feb 1st. 🤣


Compose scandalous poetry and
dance around a bonfire beneath the moon
in this bite-sized game.


Poetry & Passion


It's a full moon and your crush is making you dinner, but the meal is only the start of tonight's festivities. Be playful, discover your inner poet, and surrender to the magic of the evening.

  • Play as male, female, or nonbinary.
  • Enjoy delicious food.
  • Write poetry together.
  • Swoon, laugh, kiss, and moan.
  • Dance around a bonfire as moonlight makes the waves sparkle.

This fantasy romance is short, sweet, and spicy, with a NSFW end choice. (18+)

I give you, Poetry & Passion.

This image links to the game if you'd like to play.

This is my first try at writing a short piece of interactive fiction, AND my first real go at writing cozy fantasy. I mean, there are always cozy moments in my stories, but there’s usually epic stakes. It was freeing to write this little game around a dinner date that evolves into writing poetry together.

This game is free to play and takes ten, maybe fifteen minutes total. Short, sweet, and sexy.

The story is set on the same island as my WIP for Heart’s Choice, so there’s some similar worldbuilding, though the characters are completely different.


Inspiration


The Ladies of Hive question I chose this week was "In which aspects of your life you are grateful for not being 100% in control?"

My answer would be that I'm grateful to not be fully in control of inspiration. I think there's a lot to be said for being open to the creative flow, and if you hold on too hard or are too rigid, it can restrict that flow.

Inspiration feels like something I have very little control over, and I like that very much.

It's a ride.

It's a rush.

When I've been kissed by a story muse, I'm in my happy place.

I've shared a good amount of my creative work on this blockchain over the years. Poetry, music, short stories. Y'all have helped me grow as a writer and an artist, so I'll thank you for that. Though I might not post here as consistently as I once did, all of that growth helped me become the writer I am today, and I'm really pleased with how far I've come.

I love game writing. I never thought I'd say this when I was halfway through the first game, but writing this second game I seem to have leveled up.

A lot of that leveling up is practice, but it's also experience listening to my characters and letting inspiration lead the way. It's trusting that the words will come out and letting them do so.

Sure, sometimes I have to force myself to sit down and start writing. Sometimes I have to reach for the right phrase or precise word. Sometimes thesaurus.com is only reason I'm able to keep moving forward.

But most of the time, inspiration flows. My characters play along. The words flow.

And for that I am grateful.


Thank you for reading! 💖

That was fun! Thanks to the amazing community at Ladies of Hive for the inspiration. This was me taking a tiny break from writing my game to share with you my side project and I ended up getting philosophical. Yay!

If you play Poetry & Passion, let me know what you think!


P.S At the suggestion of a member of the CoG forum, I put my purple hat on the illustration by Adrien Valdes for my HC game and made a new profile picture! More creativity. Huzzah!


Whatever happens, keep singing your song!
Peace @Katrina-Ariel / @LeiaTalon


Play Their Majesties' Pleasure on Heart's Choice.

Play my interactive fantasy romance game on Heart's Choice:

Revel with royals, rogues, and the Fae in a kingdom on the edge of war. (18+)


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, and author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance). She writes Fantasy as Leia Talon, including Their Majesties' Pleasure interactive fiction, and books: Shelta's Songbook, Falling Through the Weaving, and Dragons in the Weaving. Visit her website at www.LeiaTalon.com

Sort:  

Congratulations @katrina-ariel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 35000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 36000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2024

image.png
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @katrina-ariel and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (20/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

View or trade LOH tokens.


@katrina-ariel, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

it's had over 500 browser plays and 1100 views.

Wow! It must be good!
Creativity is best uncontrolled, yes?
!LADY
!BBH

View or trade LOH tokens.


@silversaver888, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @katrina-ariel and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

@katrina-ariel! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @silversaver888. (1/20)

Creativity is best uncontrolled, yes?

Definitely. And thank you! Everyone who has played it so far has said they've enjoyed it. 💖

This is superb, and I love how you incorporated it into the LOH contest! 😁
Hopefully, you will have some additional players from PYPT!
@sagarkothari88 vote 20%

Hey @katrina-ariel! 👍 sagarkothari88 👍 upvoted based on request from @thekittygirl
| Hive Curators Community | Join Discord | Support Witness | Follow Curation Trail |
Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️

Thanks so much! You're the best! Hugglepounces

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been manually curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks:
a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life.
#lifehappening

Thank you for your entry to our weekly contest! 😊

!LADY

034

View or trade LOH tokens.


@thekittygirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @katrina-ariel and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (11/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.