My Life Mantras — LOH CONTEST #105

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

Life is a beautiful thing. Sometimes it can get complicated to navigate.

eye-4997724_1280.png

Source

Sometimes, we can find ourselves doing things we never thought we'd be able to do especially when we are not guided by certain life principles.

Today I'll be writing on one of this week's Ladiesofhive contest questions:

Do you have a personal guiding principle (or a mantra) by which you live? If you do, what is it and how is it impacting your life so far?
Or

Firstly, Yes!

I do have a handful of principles I live by. I like to feel like I have my life in control and not in chaos so I try to live by certain principles which I believe help me live a more productive, fulfilling and happier life.

Here are some of the mantras I live by:


  • Happiness and freedom begin with the clear understanding that some things are within our control and others are not — Epictetus:

flowers-1973875_1280 (1).webp

This is a popular stoic quote that has changed my perspective on life and made me a tad happier.

Understanding that the only 2 things in life I truly have direct control over are my thoughts and actions has helped me to worry a lot less about the things that aren't.

Like: what others think about me, my physical insecurities and so on...

The truth is if we focus a lot on things that are outside our control we would more often than not be unhappy. So I like to not think too much about them and focus on what I can change – My thoughts and actions.


  • Learn to live and not just exist:

Recently in my life, I got to realise that for most of my existence I have simply just been existing and not truly living.

Most of the time and I'm sure a lot of us can relate, we spend most of our time thinking of the different variants of the past and imagining possible outcomes of the future. We rarely spend time at the moment.

photo-1504805572947-34fad45aed93.jpeg

source

The moment I became aware of this I began to practice mindfulness. Now, I feel more alive than I've felt in years.

I try to be in the moment as much as possible, I try new things, have fun and take challenges.

I try to be alive and not just exist.


  • Everyone deserves GOOD:

Sometimes, one could get carried away with the wrong that goes on in the world but I strongly believe everyone deserves to be shown goodness regardless.

I try to be good to anyone I come across regardless of whatever backgrounds they may have.

I am a strong believer of what goes around comes around.


  • There is nothing I cannot achieve if I'm willing to work for it:

I am a strong believer that I can achieve anything I set my mind to achieve regardless of the difficulties.

I believe if I want something bad enough, I can get it.


  • Take Responsibility:

I like to believe I have to take full responsibility for my life and where I am in life.

I think blaming others for our misfortunes is only an excuse that prevents us from taking responsibility and working on doing the things we need to do.

There you have it!

These are some of the mantras I live by on a daily and I hope you're able to pick out something valuable from them.

abstract-1231870_1280.jpg

source


Thank you for reading!
I'm inviting @sweetsoul to join the contest here

Sort:  

View or trade LOH tokens.


@kemi123, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

You're indeed a woman who's come to understand life more and I cannot help but be proud of your mantras.

I really love that quote by Epicetus. There's this peace that comes with letting go of the things you can't change but channeling your energy to the things you can control. Like you said; thoughts and actions.

I've also once mentioned the aspect of living and not just existing. I came to understand this the day my life almost flashed before my eyes. I feel there's the need for everyone to do something significant and different with their lives. We can't afford to live carelessly.

You have great principles, this was an interesting read! ❤️

Hi @dimmablogs

You're indeed a woman who's come to understand life more and I cannot help but be proud of your mantras

I'm really glad you think that, thank you.

I really love that quote by Epicetus. There's this peace that comes with letting go of the things you can't change but channeling your energy to the things you can control. Like you said; thoughts and actions.

True, I resonate with that alot

You have great principles, this was an interesting read! ❤️

Thank you very much! I'm glad you did

I really admire people who set goals/guidelines in life and achieve/follow them. And those who believe they have control over things (well, some things 😃). In short - people with a positive attitude, no matter how life sucks 😊
Regards

Awwn! Thanks alot darling! Really appreciate you for stopping by

Congratulations @kemi123! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

We can only be happy when we realize there are things within our control and also there are things we cannot control even if we try our best. So, it's better we focus on things we can control and believing that all will be well.

Once we are willing to try something, we will definitely get better at it. Also, we all deserve the best and with that, do not stop acting good to others.

When you are able to take responsibility, it gives one a sense of maturity and respect from people.

I enjoyed reading your content. I wish you the best in this contest.

You have a great set of principles and glad they serve you very well. I believe anyone who reds will be able to derive inspiration from these❤ Thank you lots for sharing them.

"Learn to live and not just exist"
I loved this, it is so necessary and rewarding.

I concur with the first principle and it reminds me of the serenity prayer, which says
grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and wisdom to know the difference.

"Everyone deserves GOOD" and "There is nothing I cannot achieve if I'm willing to work for it"
These are wonderful mantras. I always keep that in mind, every single day!
Great works, @kemi123
!LADY 😍🌺🤙

View or trade LOH tokens.


@silversaver888, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @kemi123 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (4/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

BEAUTIFUL !!!

Happiness and freedom begin with the clear understanding that some things are within our control and others are not

A friend taught me that years ago and saying the same thing to not worry or paying attention to things that are out of our control.

Living and not only exist it is indeed a good one, we all need to apply !!

All your principles are well established, teach us to be better every day, to improve and obtain peace.

Hi @josehany,

I'm happy you did stop by to read and I'm also glad you found my principles instructional

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Sometimes it gets harder to see the beauty of life when faced with complications. But I tell you it's still beautiful.

Dear @kemi123, sorry to jump in a bit off-topic.
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/240) so I can continue to improve and maintain this service?
You can support the new proposal (#240) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

These mantras are everything! Honestly, I think you said it all.

Unfortunately I couldn't make a post on it too but I really appreciate you inviting me to ❤️