Ladies of Hive Contest Edition #66: A Hospital Haunting

image.png

”Blackbirds tend to like shiny things.” ~ The Bloody Raven

This week’s questions by @silversaver888 were as if they came out of my own thoughts and my list of possible questions I’ve brainstormed. Tattoos and piercings are a long and personal story of a lifestyle I am softening down from with my crazier days long behind me.

Her Question? 2️⃣ Do you think you’ve ever encountered a ghost?

Ghosts? Sure, as a Night Shift nurse who works most of the time alone, I’ve had a few paranormal experiences. Does it freak me out? No, because I don’t scare easily. In fact, I am somewhat proactive as a person who has an interest in spiritual things. And I’ve watched every YouTube video on ghosts and hauntings including all TV episodes of Ghost Hunters and Ghost Adventures.

When I first transferred to this unit, I discovered that most of the staff hated working the Night shift. After 2200 hours (10 PM), some of the gals on the Evening Shift would turn up the lounge TV to cover up any unexplained noises because “if you don’t hear it, then it’s not there.” Then, keep all the regular lights on because, “you want to see what it is first before you scream and run.” Does that make any sense?

image.png
Monarch’s Tombstone Halloween Series – Ghost 2015

The odd time a doorknob turns or rattles as if someone wanted to enter the unit in the wee hours of the morning, leading some gals to prop up chairs, wheelchairs, and obstacles against the entrance doors. A Fire safety hazard of course. One staff brings a large Teddy bear, another always brought her dog to the unit when working the Evening shift, a shift that required working alone for the two hours until 2400 hours (Midnight) until I arrive.

Digging through old records, there have been four deaths within the history of this Residential Unit and from their profiles, neither were have known to be malicious or violent. One did have a behavioral issue but that was more a positive exuberant disposition that the staff just needs to steer his energy into productive activities. We call him, Charlie.

He had a favorite toy, a glow in the dark wand with glitter inside. He was known to wave it around for hours. The large bathroom was the darkest room, and he would charge up his wand and wave it in the dark bathroom getting as much pure joy from his favorite activity. He’s been long gone, perhaps not quite.

image.png
The TV Lounge television where I often set it on the Paranormal Channel

Sometimes I hear a voice that is neither of any of the current residents. I hear objects drop or the sound of equipment slide over in the bathroom. Of course, I investigate with my phone camera ready. One time I was heading to the main bathroom only to feel something rush past me as if it wanted to get there first.
I place his favorite toy on the bathroom counter and say, “Charlie, you can play for a little while, but you have to go to bed soon.” But it never moves. Maybe he’s shy and I am a just stranger to him.

When something happens, it’s always in another room.
One day I’ll get that photo.
A full body apparition.
Charlie and I doing a paranormal selfie, and I’ll post it here on Hive first. Until then it would be nice to have a little company working the Night shift. 👻

image.png
"Come here Charlie, and let's take a picture together."

I will be inviting @kimavalon to this quaint #ladiesofhive Contest of the 66th Edition. The rules are in this Originating post to join into the fun.

References

1. My own pictures shot with a Samsung SM-A530W
P. Image under Pixabay
W. Wiki Commons
🌹 💀 Page Dividers by @thekittygirl 🎃 ❄️

I work in a Health Unit. I am a Gothic Nurse. - Salutem laboro in Unit. Nonne ego sum Antiqua.

Sort:  

Good luck! Maybe he's playing tag and you haven't tagged him yet so you have to catch him before you can catch him.

You could be right, he played games with other residents too. Other than playing Magical wizard, I think "Hide & Seek." I'd investigate a noise in the bathroom when I hear a sound in the kitchen. I check the Kitchen another sound comes from the office. He has an unfair advantage of being invisible.👻

Spooky!!!! Of course a hospital would definitely be the place for ghosts!

And this job post has been the best position I ever had with this company.🙂

I know you... you are never scared!
Ohhh,.. how scary!!!
I would put in a transfer to the A.M. shift... hahaha 😁
Thanks for your entry, and good luck with the contest.

Because I know what to expect.👻
He's harmless unless he wacks me with the wand and say, "TAG! YOU"RE IT!"
Every once in a while one of the residents carry on a conversation by himself and I sneak into his darkened room to see if he was talking to Charlie. The resident may lack cognitive function but may be talented enough to speak with Charlie or able to see him.
I'm going by a Principle that certain individuals that lack one or more senses can often more than make up with others.
It's almost a science.
🤗🌺❤️

Hahaha... 🤣
It is almost a science!

Interesting.. Love spooky things.

It does make the Night Shift less boring.
And an idea job posting for a Goth gal.

Thanks for dropping in @anitahorvatirl 👻

So admirable. I don't know how I'd react if I were in your position. I guess I would have to have a carrier for my heart coz it would always jump out of my chest. 😂

Goodluck hunting Charlie. And hope he will be in a good mood to take a selfie with you when that time comes. Hehe

I love this job.
Since I work alone, I am allowed to keep my phone with me in case of emergency but every once in a while I take a selfie just to see what's behind me and hopefully get something paranormal. He's shy. If he does appear, chances are he would be behind me. 🤳

Thanks for the comment @arrliinn

It sounds like Charlie has a night shift friend......Many times I have found my Cat "following' something across the ceiling in our bedroom......😳
I will ask..."Cot what do you see"??🙄

I sometimes think that my patients/residents may lack one or more senses can more than make up for it in others. One young man tends to talk to himself in the middle of the night and I theorized that he may just be able to hear and see Charlie. Naturally I sneak into his room for a quick look and camera ready.
I have to remember to set my ISO to 800 or 400, Wish me luck. @silvertop

Let us know @kerrislravenhill, and the next time Cot starts to very intently follow something across the ceiling I'll pull out my camera😀

I would love to see that photo you speak of. I can honestly say that there is more than we can see around us. Thanks for sharing @kerrislravenhill! Take care and have a wonderful night!🤗💜🌻

I need more HiTech tools like a FLIR Infrared camera. They tend to be just outside the visible light spectrum. Not enough is known how a ghost manifests itself, just working theories.

Thanks for commenting @elizabethbit 👻

Always, sis!💜🤗🌻

OMG, this literally gave me goosies!!
Glad it's middle in the afternoon when I came across with your post, or else I'll be howling under the moon all night haha. Goodluck in hunting Charlie :)

For me, things that go bump in the night is music to my ears, other than the orchestral adventure selections of Thomas Bergersen, Nick Phoenix or Warner on my playlist.
These don't happen often and I try to be ready when it does.
Thanks for the Comment @bloghound

I know you love the job.

PD

Best job ever. 👻

KLR

Yes hospital usually where most for the spooky things happen. Made me remember my trainee days. LOL

I've trained in some of the older hospitals in my city. Each has it's own charm and style of spooky.

Thanks for commenting @callmelula 👻

"Aw' hail th' Hens of Hife!" 😊 -Keptin


We're just Hive Gals having a good time.

you should totally set up some pranks for your co-workers for April Fools day
😳😜😂👽 👻

I sort of mulled about it.
Considering the general feel of the demeanor team it wouldn't be in good taste. There was a prank the team pulled on the Supervisor about winning the 649 Lottery Pool and she thought the entire team was about to retire within two weeks leaving her unit grossly understaffed.
The Supervisor since joined the Group Lottery pool.
Nice idea thought @thedamus ☠️

O My Goddd👻👻
That's chilling, wow! A hospital is what it is, the movies haven't lied😂
Excited reading from you Darling, it's been a couple. love you this big🤗

Old Hospitals are obvious hot spots for paranormal activity.
A lot of spiritual and emotional energy can imprint itself in the rooms and hallways.
Very rarely something barely paranormal happens anyways.
Frankly, not often enough for me.

Thanks for reading @queenstarr 👻

Ah yes I agree, Lol.
I enjoyed my read, much love💗🤗

image.png

Thanks for the Support! ❤️

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Hugs 🤗 for the family!

You received 5 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Thank you! ❤️