Ladies of Hive Community Contest #30 - What food have you never eaten but would really like to try?

in Ladies of Hive • 3 years ago

I'm from the UK and us brits are notorious for "sticking to what we know" when it comes to food!

Good old McDonalds or fish and chips 🤣

Untitled design.png

I used to be like this, but when I met my husband, he encouraged me to explore more foods.

I am certainly very thankful for this. I've tried (and love) sushi, oysters, snails (he didn’t like them and I did) just to name a few. I'm also now a pro at using chop sticks.

Untitled design.png

We consider ourselves foodies and love trying new foods and food experiences. I also love to cook and try out new techniques and recipes - much to my husband’s delight.

One of the reasons I love living in Cape Town is the vast variety of restaurants and cuisine. There’s always somewhere new to try and the food is always so fresh and delicious!

captureson-photography-kpdWINVf3JI-unsplash.jpg

The 2 best food experiences I have tried are The Fat Duck in Bray, Berkshire and Nobu London. Both different cuisine but equally to die for! The service was also world class. The whole experience was just incredible (although each unique) and I'd definitely recommend both.

We do have some amazing photos from The Fat Duck too but they are on my husbands laptop and he's not here. Sorry guys!

Nobu 2017.JPG
FOOD FROM NOBU

Now to answer the question at hand. What haven't I tried but would like to?

Despite being British and having travelled to Scotland, I've never tried haggis. Haggis is sheep's pluck (heart, liver and lungs), mincemeat, onions, oatmeal, suet, spices and salt encased in the animal’s stomach. This is then cooked in water in the oven.

istockphoto-138003312-612x612.jpg

It doesn’t sound too appetizing to be honest, but never the less I'd still like to try it.

Perhaps I’ll try making it myself…. Or just wait until a day that someone else offers me some!

Either way, until then I will continue to explore new foods, restaurants and recipes… I'm sure there will be a blog or two so watch this space…

Signature .png

Photos are my own, unsplash and canva

Sort:  

I've never tried Haggis either, I used to have a local butcher who made them fresh daily but closed a few years ago.
Thanks for sharing @l0tti3 🌼

 3 years ago (edited) 

Haggis seems to be a very good dish! It is like sausage, right?
Hmmm... heart, liver, lungs, mincemeat, onions, oatmeal, suet, spices, and salt...
Sound good!!! I will try it with you, hehehe!
Good luck with the contest, and that's for sharing @l0tti3.
Ladies of Hive is here for you. This is where we can exchange ideas and be inspired by each other's stories. Perhaps we have the knowledge to share or maybe need to learn from others. No matter what it is… do it in Ladies of Hive.
You are not here for yourself alone.
We are here for each other.
Get to know others!
Engage others!
Support one another!
And let us have fun!

Haha sounds like a plan!
Thanks for the encouragement!
Sounds awesome

What a beautiful photo of Cape Town, it looks so organized. I would really like to go there and if you say there is good gastronomy, much more.
Best wishes.

It really is worth the trip. It’s an amazing city!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @l0tti3! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Decentralized blacklists and Mutes lists
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!