You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: March 8th International Women's Day: The socio-economic impact of Covid-19 on women and narcissistic abuse

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago (edited)

Rich or poor, trust me it's there. Rich people are just better manipulators and the poor or racialized communities have less protections and resources to access in their communities and the pandemic has highlighted that. Like you say, most don't want to talk about it because it's easier not to and there are less life consequences and judgment to just not talk about it or try to leave and just accepting it instead. Maybe I'll elaborate more on the why's in a future post. My immediate family was poor at the time because of life choices but the rest of my relatives are not poor so it's intergenerational complex situations. Rich or poor, kids that are left unattended are at risk for predation. Many abuser prefer poor neighborhoods because it's easy to lure a kid with broken promises of a better life or helping them so it's naturally easier in poor neighborhoods. Even when I talk about MMIWG with my friends here, it gets dismissed as "Well this just happens to prostitutes" in that is the public perception so it's easy to dismiss. And young innocent girls are made to look bad and at risk by society to avoid personal accountability when they end up dead or missing, in reality they are just kids like me in the streets because they had nowhere else to go. This story below, it nearly broke me because we have similar stories with obvious different outcomes and both stem from different forms of intergenerational trauma if you want to take the time to read.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_of_Tina_Fontaine

Sort:  

That is heartbreaking.

It occurs to me that outside of the Americas we have always heard and read plenty about the plight of the American Indians, but until recently I wasn't even aware that there were indigenous populations in Canada (naive, I know). It's just never mentioned when Canada is talked about and is like they don't exist. Instead you hear about the French and English of Canada and how the French Canadians don't like people speaking English. 😕