You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alberta is fighting back (and photos of murals around our city)

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago (edited)

Well that's kind of my point, I get there is something bad going around but you can't keep the economy locked up indefinitely, people have bills to pay and business to run, cause we have no jobs doesn't mean bills go away and we still need to eat. Kids need to go to school and socialize, these are crucial formative years and I feel bad for the kids that don't understand why they can't see their friends or learn in a classroom with them while loosing their parents to mental health difficulties and stress, they will be impacted forever with that sub-par internet education and probably scared for life over this, it's hard enough for adults to grasp the situation and adapt.

I'm pretty sure emergency measures are only valid for 3 months then they have to be voted by the public to continue or dismiss them and I don't remember voting on any of this. Clearly, the people don't want them anymore. I've been disrupted financially but luckily I'm a saver by nature and always keep 6 months to a year's worth of emergency money and tons of dried goods for food, it's like I was planning for this before I knew it was going to happen. I had a re-occurring dream of this for years, except in my dream it gets way worse than this to the point of disrepair and we go back to living in the olden days.

If they were so worried about the public health aspect, they would be banning lots of nasty stuff like chemicals in the food that is actually making the entire population sick. My personal opinion is those who feel vulnerable should have the option to self isolate without being judged and those that want to carry on should be able to do so. At the end of the day, what is essential? What is essential to me may not be to you, everyone lives with different circumstances. I think a year into it is getting a bit much, at some point life has to carry on, covid or no covid.