LOH #111: At Times, The C in Christmas Stands for Cope

in Ladies of Hivelast year

20221209_062256.jpg

One of the things I have realized over the past few years, I am usually restless when Christmas is fast approaching. These days I have been sleeping nonstop only to wake up still feeling tired. I hope saying I cannot find any motivation to be productive is an enough reason however, most of us experience the same thing when under a lot of pressure and some learned how to successfully overcome it. While me, I am trying as well. Although I cannot entirely tell that all my coping mechanisms are healthy, they somehow help me get rid of stress temporarily.

These are the ways I would like to drop here:

  • I read.

Not solely literary books, it can be anything I set my eyes on. It will not take me long to finish if I think it is interesting. I can actually be distracted easily which is not good for me. That is why I keep my phone away or simply turn off my data.

  • Write.

I write occasionally. It used to be a hobby when I was younger, I did not care if what I wrote was nonsense as long as anyone who had read my pieces would be entertained. But now, I am just glad I can write and keep myself sane.

  • Listening to music.

I am a music enthusiast, I like to explore different types of genres and styles. Yet when I am stressed out I either listen to calm or heavy metal songs.

  • Being with my pets.

Dogs are lifesavers. I have always been in love with them. I treated every dog I adopted as my family, each moment I lost one of them it feels like my heart is being ripped out of my chest. I have a dog that’s been with me for almost 3 years, I cannot imagine my life without him. He is not fond of strangers and tends to bark loudly when he heard a voice he is not familiar with. Nevertheless, he is still adorable for me. It is fascinating how they can comfort you when you are struggling to get through the day.

If I am being honest, managing stress has never been easy for me. Especially when it is during holiday season, there are too much to think about I am afraid my mind is about to burst. I do not want to not be able to enjoy just because everything overwhelms me hence, I am giving me the space needed to let go of the stress and distract myself by doing what I only feel like doing. I believe it is also important to allow yourself to breathe for a while.


Picsart_22-11-27_16-16-50-821.jpg

Alice

I used to stumble upon dreams where I was floating as a child, it went higher and higher—the world seemed tinier in my eyes. There were several nights I would have a similar dream when I started to be older, the only difference was the fall that occurred shortly afterwards. It happened so often I no longer remember how I actually felt. One time, I noticed a small crack that made everything crumble and I sank. I never ceased slipping until then.

Hello! I go by the name Alice, under the username @lienric. A graduating senior high school student. I am from Laguna, Philippines. I enjoy doing a lot of things although, I am far from being considered as consistent. Yet I know that we are just trying to survive, and my pets are here to keep me alive. I write when all there is for me to tolerate becomes unbearable, or on some days I think I am a giant with hands I do not recognize.

Pictures used are all mine.

Sort:  

Hello @lienric (a.k.a. Alice). Others have also written that reading, writing, listening to music, and interacting with their pets help to relieve stress during the holidays. So this formula must work.

Thanks for sharing your experiences and tips.

Take care.

!ALIVE

@lienric! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @justclickindiva. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

It really does. Thank you and take care as well!

With your pet, also listening to music, it's a good choice.

When I'm stressed, I usually walk to random places I've never been to before. Also eating the food I crave :)

Sometimes, it's even better to sleep all day 🤣 I like to sleep when my mind can't think of anything productive.

I agree! I also just sleep when I cannot think of anything to do anymore. I would like to walk to random places one of these days.

Congratulations @lienric! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 2
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 1
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Buen escrito!! A todos muchas veces nos causa ese estrés en estas temporadas... éxitos.

Thank you! Do your coping mechanisms work for you, too?