Key Parental Traits - LOH Wk 186

in Ladies of Hive25 days ago

It is a known fact that parenting is one of the most challenging, complex and rewarding tasks in life. There is no specified way or laid down principles of handling this important role, it's everyone to their own. But generally, It requires a unique blend of skills and characteristics that can help one create a nurturing and supportive environment for their children.


I am not yet a parent but it is my utmost desire to be one day and to also raise godly, confident, responsible, and compassionate individuals that I will be proud of tomorrow, just like my parents are proud of me today.


So with regards to the question posed by @amberkashif for the LOH Wk 186 contest, here are the three important traits or qualities I believe a parent should have:

  • Discipline

The first quality I'll talk about is discipline because it's very important and all encompassing.
I was privileged to be raised by two wonderful and disciplined individuals and the good morals they instilled in me have helped in shaping me to be a better person today. Mom would always say "It is the discipline that you are learning today that you will use to train your own children tomorrow"

I believe that for a parent to raise children of good behavior and sound morals, they need to be disciplined. This is because it will help them to become positive role model for their children, to demonstrate the values and behaviors that they hope to instill in them. You can't have a questionable character as a parent and expect to raise children with good morals, no, it won't work that way. You can only give what you have and there's no two ways about it. These children are very smart and are picking every of your action, behavior, words etc, and as they grow, they begin to act same way too. And by the time you realize to start correcting them, it would have been too late. If you check the statistics of children who are bullies today, most of them learnt it from home, their parents.

Also being disciplined will help parents to set clear boundaries and expectations for their children, and to follow through with consequences when those boundaries are crossed. This will ensure that children learn how to be responsible, accountable and self-controlled.


  • A good communicator

The first school a child attends is the home with the parents being the teacher, therefore it's important that parents possess good communication skills. This involves expressing yourself clearly and encouraging your children to do the same and also listening actively when they speak to you. If you are saying no to their requests, stick to it and make them understand the reason behind the no. Your tone of voice when correcting or admonishing them should be different from when praising them.

Furthermore, holding an open and honest communication with your kids is key to building a strong relationship with them. While doing so, you will be able to connect, understand and share their feelings, build trust, and respond to their emotional needs in a supportive and nurturing way.

It's just so sad that some parents do not have the time to chat with their kids. It's either they are pursuing one business or the other, creating the communication gap which pushes the children to seek for those who will fill the gap from outside. This might result in them falling into the wrong hands and learning the wrong things. I do not want this for my kids therefore I'll ensure to be present, be their best friends and keep all pinky promises, lol.


  • Patience

Patience is a virtue and a must have by every parent. Raising children is not a quickie role or something you expect to happen with the snap of a finger, no, it takes time, effort and commitment. Once a parent, always a parent, it's a life time role. Even when your children are all grown up and in their own families, your parenting role still continues. Therefore parents must be patient and understanding as their children grow and learn. This will help them to manage anger or frustration in challenging situations, which can help reduce stress and create a more positive and supportive environment for their children.

Also being patient allows parents to give listening ears to their children's needs and concerns, and respond in a calm and thoughtful manner. Lastly, it will help parents demonstrate self and emotional control that can be valuable for children to observe and emulate.


With these three key traits, I'm hopeful that parents will be able to raise a generation of individuals with sound minds, high value and good morals.
Although I haven't attained the level of patience that I desire to have, I'm working on myself to achieve that before the kids start coming. So help me God.🙏


Thank you for reading.



Still the #threadsaddict 😂



Images Are Mine

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

You will become a very good mother someday, parenting is not an easy task, I can tell from what i see my mom going through. I cant agree less with what you said up there, discipline, patience and good communication is very important in raising good Children.

I came across this post on Dreemport

I appreciate your kind words and contributions

With my boys, communication is important since they used to get distracted easily, my youngest has a short memory issue. And it is when I establish boundaries it has to be clear and not left guessing, and I also communicate that I will ease up on them as they mature or have demonstrated evidence of their sense responsibility.
You made some good points @luchyl

It's a good strategy you are using to nurture your sons, some of them are really hyperactive and needs to be checked constantly.
I can only imagine how it's been with your youngest son's challenge. I pray he improves greatly.
I appreciate your wonderful contribution.

The public school system didn't have the resources to accommodate my kids.
I spent a third of my pension to enroll then into a Christian school that specialized in children with learning disabilities, they performed miracles.
Both my sons are young adults now, my younger son even graduated the Provincial curriculum with two scholarships. I'm so proud of them.
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@kerrislravenhill, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @luchyl and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Wow, this is awesome. Your intentional act to let them have the best education paid off although you had to give up part of your pension. You're indeed a super mom.

#freecompliments !HUG

Dear @kerrislravenhill, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @luchyl.
(1/3)

Besides that, the Canadian public school system is a hostile environment for remedial level students like I was and were subjected to insults and bullying. I wanted to spare my son's from social abuse because of their learning disability so enrolling them into a Christian private school was worth every penny.

It is obvious you did your parenting class wella
How I wish many of our parents know these facts and put them to action.

Thank you.

My prayer everyday for all parents is that they all be endowed with the grace and potentials to raise unique and amazing children because parenting is not easy.

This is a wonderful prayer and I'm sure God will be faithful to hear it.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts.


!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @luchyl and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (19/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

These qualities are also super and very ideal.

Parenting ain't easy but with God on our side, we will not be shamed.

Yes, it's only God.

Congratulations @luchyl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 17000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 17500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

That aspect of patience ehn. It's something we must put effort in. Children can be so funny at times.

Well written, Ma'am.

#dreemerforlife

Very well said. It's a trait that every parent should have.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
!BBH

Parenting is no easy feat. One must exercise lots of patience. Those traits you listed are a must have for parents.

Thank you for sharing.

#dreemerforlife

Yes oo, patience is key, else you will do certain things that you might regret later.
I appreciate your contribution.