My Creative Passions...My entry to LOH Community Contest #90

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago (edited)

Hello Ladies of Hive and all Hivers!

Frankly, I don't know where to begin. First off...I have so many passions. To be able to have an outlet for all my craft projects, I started blogging about them in a site I created in 2011 called Challenging Arts And Crafts. That was five years before Hive came into being. I was eager to learn so many things in my early years as a teenager, which I am so grateful for since I could apply everything in my present life. When I started blogging for Steemit/Hive, I stopped blogging in Google.

Collage 2.jpg

I am a passionate crafter who loves to cook. I learned cooking from my Mom. She said I had to do it because I will be grateful for it in my later life... She was right, well at that time I had no choice... what could I do having 5 brothers (!). I have tried to convince myself that if others can do it , I can do it too. When I saw things that were pleasing to my eyes, I studied them... I did a do-it-yourself research to find out how they were done, what were the materials used, etc.

Collagen 4.jpg
A quilt which I called "Ako´s Lone Star Quilt" is dedicated to my dog Ako, a rottweiler who always insisted to play with me everytime I worked on this project.

I am passionate about needlework and have made plenty of handmade projects for my home. The first thing I learned about how a quilt is made was when I was 17 years old. I saved my pocket money to buy those American Quilting Magazines. I have done 4 bedspread quilts and 2 are still WIPs (Work-in-Progress). The self-learning process had been interesting and most of all... the feeling of satisfaction gave me so much joy when a quilt project was done.

IMG_0329.JPG
A Quilt Sampler I made and gifted to the husband on his birthday.

Crochet Projects

I had been crazy about 2 Ondori magazines that my former Japanese boss brought from his Japan vacation. I worked for this renowned Japanese firm, the office of which was far from home and always took me about an hour one way via public transport. So during these train rides, I was able to crochet 4 tablecloths, one of which is an example below.

IMG_2427 A.JPG
A tote bag I crocheted that matches my green suede shoes

At the age of nine, I was fascinated by the work of my friend's sister who crocheted a bedspread. It was interesting to know all the stitches by learning and doing it and so I got hooked. I did a curtain project myself like laces for the windows at my Mom's canteen. As a college student, I always sneaked into the campus library to see magazines about quilting, embroidery and woodworking and many other crafting projects.

190082_117031111705142_293328_n.jpg
the tablecloth I crocheted during train rides based on an Ondori Crochet book

IMG_4246.JPG
A throw blanket for the sofa I use while watching TV... Which is very warm in Winter

Playing with Mineral, Semi Precious stones

One of the passions I enjoyed doing is designing mineral jewelry.... I got books so I could learn to shape copper and other wires that would help me put those minerals together. The first mineral necklace I got was made from malachite given by the husband who bought it from a beach dealer while we were beachin as expats in Lagos, Nigeria. the country has plenty of this mineral... That was the beginning of my hobby in jewelry making.. I earned some side cash when I got an order of 45 set of earrings sent to Japan, 1 charm bracelet to the U.S. and a pair of earrings to Germany. I stopped making jewelry since I had a very stressy job at that time. I still have the mineral stash, maybe when I am relaxed and have the time, I will design some again.

Collage 4.jpg

Arts As A Way of de-stressing

I have tried pencil drawing and oil painting too, these are examples of my art. After my Rottie passed-away, I made 3 drawings of him and one example is below.

ako der rotti1.jpg
Ako, the Rottie... 1994 -2007

IMG_9214.JPG
Ako´s Yellow Rosebush, pencil... unfinished and still to be colored

This oil painting below had been a trial and error project, trying to capture the Old Danube´s"Wasserpark" (Water Park) where my dog tried to be in the water as a puppy on summer days. In Winter, he would chase the ducks and the Geese.

305019_486937037990853_1900809898_n.jpg

Photography

Oh and I love photography(!).... especially when the topic is about nature. I am a wannabe photographer, lol. Just recently, I got a Canon 90D from my husband. Until now, I haven't really studied the full functions of this camera. But I always have a smartphone with me whenever I am out of the house... just in case something comes up, you never know. The smartphone is more handy to deal with.

phptpgraphy.jpg

IMG_8776.JPG

The Power of Wildflowers

I love arranging wildflowers I picked during dog walks. Since I also collect vases, I tried using them to match these arrangements. I think I have done more than a hundred arrangements which can be seen on my Google Blogspot platform mentioned above.

Collage 1.jpg

Travelling is very stressy, although I love it when we have reached the location and get to know the cultures of other countries and its people.

IMG_0273.JPG

I always feel happy being able to have done projects particularly when I have enjoyed doing them, grateful too that I have learned a lot in my early life. I am sending my invitation to @sisterhood2 to join this community.

"The secret of getting ahead is getting started"...Mark Twain


Footer  @mers fixed.gif

All images were photographed and
owned by the author, @mers

Sort:  

You have so many passions and you started so young.... you've always known what you're passionate about. Congratulations.

Hello @tibaire! Yes, I guess that has something to do with my being curious the ways things are made..kind of a challenge for me whether I could do it too, lol. Many thanks for a lovely comment, appreciate it. Have a lovely weekend!

I am impressed with all of it. The food the crafts and the art. Your passion for creativity shows in all of those works. 😊❤️

@carolynstahl ..hehehe, thank you so much my dear friend Carolyn. As always , nice seeing you visiting my post. Yeah, I am kind of a bit artistic (wink!) as many members of my family are inclined to be so. Perhaps, I got this from my Dad. Well, at the moment, I am retired from any stress, so I am taking the longest time for the next projects, lol! Have a beautiful weekend darl!

I salute you, talented lady. Eversince I followed your blogs since your Challenging Arts and Crafts Days. I appreciate all your crafts. I considered you as my mentor for so many things I learned from your crafts.

Thank you dear @jurich60, maybe, I will reactivate the page at least in FB ...such a stressy job when you are doing blogging in different platforms. Thanks for passing by.

Mees you are a ton of blogs right there, you are such a creative lady of hive thats so cool I have enjoyed all the creativity and photos.
!lady

Hi @brittandjosie, appreciate the compliments..glad you liked my projects. Thank you so much..wishing you a wonderful weekend!

you are a very talented woman, I am impressed by the beauty of all your creations, I congratulate you and may God bless you

Thank you so much for the lovely words. God bless you more....enjoy your weekend!

!BEER

Thank you darl for the beer.

You are always welcome!

View or trade LOH tokens.


@mers, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Thank you so much for the token, appreciate it!


Hey @mers, here is a little bit of BEER from @olivia08 for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

Thank you.

Oh my, you've got a lot going .....very tough act to follow. I wish I can do painting too but I guess that is an innate talent.

You could try by learning the basics..when I started, I always watched the Bob Ross's show.
Thank you for dropping-by.