Community Contest #36: My Favorite Detective Murdoch

in Ladies of Hive3 years ago

Murdoch Mysteries

My favourite detective is William Murdoch from the Canadian tv-show Murdoch Mysteries. Before I get into why he is my favourite detective of all time, let me briefly give you some background about this show.

murdoch.PNG

Link to image

The tv-show is set in Toronto for the time period of 1895 and there is a lot of historical significance centred around the technology which is used in the show as well as the characters and the locations. For example, the cast of the show play real life people such as Jack London, Nikola Tesla, and Wilfrid Laurier.

tech.PNG

Link to image


Detective William Murdoch

William Murdoch is my favourite detective of all time primarily because he uses unconventional methods to solve cases. He has a very keen eye and he can remember key details from a crime scene just by glancing at it once. Some of the unconventional methods which he has used include finger printing, blood testing, surveillance gear, and trace evidence.

These methods may not sound unconventional or out of the world but for 1895, the detective agency was uninterested in using non traditional methods to solve cases due to fear of criticism from senior officers and public. Murdoch took it upon himself to single handedly improve the methods his agency uses to solve cases despite facing resistance from his boss and getting threatened to be fired! (quite the determined guy).

william.PNG
Link to image


One of the things I respect a lot about Murdoch is that he does not demonstrate crazy invincibility type of characteristics but instead accepts when he makes mistakes. For example, he wanted to perform scientific tests on a dead body of another family to help solve the case but the family refused to allow that although Murdoch explained his reasonings. Eventually, he apologizes to the family and reminds himself to draw a line between human emotions and his scientific knowledge and expertise.

Before I end off, let me tell you about my most favourite scene in the entire show. Murdoch was attempting to solve a case of a dead professor at a university. Murdoch showed his brilliance and tactfulness by solving the case using Math and scientific tools (even as a slight math hater, my jaw dropped). The reason why this scene was important was because Murdoch had been previously criticized by people in high academic approaches for using their methods to solve cases when he is simply just a detective. It was the first time his boss acknowledged his methods and congratulated him.


As per the contest requirement, I am inviting @nineclaws to the community!

Sort:  

I found this series quite entertaining in its intelligent use of reasoning and science in the background of Victorian era sensibilities. I have watched some episodes but haven't had the chance to see the whole season. A fine choice!

Thank you @moon-city for sharing this Series 🌙 🌻

Congratulations @moon-city! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I've heard of Murdoch, but I haven't any of it in America, or maybe it did come.
But I am sure it was interesting, based on some scenes!
Thanks for sharing, @moon-city!
Good luck with the contest.
Ladies of Hive is here for you. This is where we can exchange ideas and be inspired by each other's stories. Perhaps we have the knowledge to share or maybe need to learn from others. No matter what it is… do it in Ladies of Hive.
You are not here for yourself alone.
We are here for each other.
Get to know other ladies in the community!
Engage others!
Support one another!
And let us have fun!

Thank you so much Silver! I am not sure if Netflix has it either but I hope you get a chance to check it out someday 😊.

That was funny cause I only just heard of this serie this wednesday and was like... I need to check it out as my coworkers talked about it.
And after reading your point of view on this unique dectective Who really seem to have his own way to solve the mystery... I can't wait to see it.
You really told it well and I love how you shared why you like the serie and what your favorite thing about it is, made me curious 😁
Admit when you make mistakes sure get my Respect to.

Thank you for sharing and good luck. 🌹