You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alberta is fighting back (and photos of murals around our city)

Edmonton is great but cold. Calgary is a bit snotty. Winnipeg is stoned. Regina you'll get stabbed. Vancouver can't drive. I haven't gone east. Haven't seen what's happening in Montreal. I cut off the news. Even those links you shared here, I didn't click. Just in my own little world.

Sort:  

Haha, I don't blame you for ignoring the news and staying in your own little world, it's mostly slanted bs anyway. I watch so I can bitch at it like I belong in a looney bin. Edmonton is cold, I thought Regina was boring. Never been to Vancouver or Winnipeg yet and avoid Calgary like the plague, people can't drive there either especially on the highway. I come from the east, it's just depressing down there and everyone drinks cause there is nothing else to do.

It's a strange game these media outlets play. There's the 'official' narrative, then whatever the case is, the popular independent scene pulls the public in the opposite direction. Rinse, repeat, regardless what's happening. Each team has a fan club and cheers for whatever their team does or says. People just hearing what they want to hear. Everyone thinks the other side is the brainwashed side. LOL. This is ridiculous.

When you tune out for long periods, then dive in again, you can actually feel it altering your mind. I don't think anyone is immune to being manipulated. It does drive me crazy, like you said, about the looney bin. All my friends and family in are in deep. Won't accept it if you say, "This isn't healthy."

Oh, and yeah, Regina, surrounding area, very boring. Lots of drugs and drinking. Calgary. Forgot about their road rage problem. Those eastern accents though, they make mine sound light.

Fuck we were coming back from Kananaskis this spring and had to drive thru Calgary, some dude just randomly stopped in the middle of the highway during rush-hour traffic with no warning to look at something on the shoulder, we almost rear-ended him and almost got rear ended ourselves cause the guy behind us wasn't paying attention.

Oh I get it's not healthy, when it begins to make my blood boil I tune out, it's become nothing but a covid fear factory these days and racism hides at every street corner like the boogie man. i have been watching it lately cause it's winter and cold and the rest of tv is even worse than the news these days, they banned all my youtube channels where I could get actual news.

"Everyone thinks the other side is the brainwashed side" - no doubt, it's like they can't see the divide being created by manipulation and propaganda. I saw some news stories where they literally contradict themselves in the same story, I can't believe they can read that teleprompter with a strait face. I wanted to be a journalist at some point until I did a job shadow. I walked right out on day one and it wasn't even that bad back then either!

"Those eastern accents though, they make mine sound light" I'm franglish that was raised on the border of quebec and NB (gaspe coast), lived in moncton where we speak shiac and add a dash of reserve. It's mostly tamed cause I've been here so long but I pull out my accent to make people laugh sometimes. It's even funnier if I have someone from my region to speak it with cause then they see it's legit and I'm not the only one and someone actually understand it. The spelling is wacked too.

Yeah those scary racists. Reality is most people don't even look at you when you're out in public. Everyone's in their own bubble. If there's an argument between strangers, it's usually just two or more assholes just being assholes about asshole things. I remember standing in front of Canada Place on Jasper Ave. waiting for that stupid number 3 bus to come. There was/is a bar beside what used to be the Hardware Grill, and it's really sketchy, so there was always some riffraff around there. Two guys approached yelling "Hey! Hey you! I beat up white people for a living!" Getting closer and closer, trying to be frightening (and drunk). Right up in my face, "Did you hear me boy! I said I beat up white people for a living!" And I just smiled and said, "Don't worry man, I'm not white, I'm Ukrainian." Put his fist out and wants a fist bump, so I obliged. Then the other guy started saying, "Hey I'm Ukrainian too!" But he wasn't... I could tell. Everyone left happy. No problems.

Man I miss that place. I'm having dejavu. Did we already have this conversation? I remember you telling me about that accent. Or maybe you didn't. I don't know.

Did I already tell you that story?

This must be deja vu, you told me some stories but never that one, nor did I ever speak about shiac on the blockchain to anyone EVER! Ukrainian, then you fit right in, I think that's a popular demographic around here. Jasper place area is really fucked, lots of weird stuff goes on there. Some dudes are really sketchy, I carry a knife in these parts ready for action just in case but like you said they are mostly harmless drunks trying to look big and scary. 118 ave is where you will actually get jumped for a $20 bill. I went to take an elevator near by to the lrt by Jasper place cause the stairs were blocked off and someone pissed all over it...gross. I took a block detour just so I didn't have to stand in someone's piss.

I agree, everyone is in their own bubble here, don't care about anyone else, just assholes doing asshole things. Often racial slurs aren't used cause people are racist here , they just hit where they know it will hurt in disagreements. I'm part white part native and I don't find racism is that bad, there is a few times but not like they advertise it on the news. There is the odd old stuffy white guy that says stupid shit like to go back where I came from, being part native I tell them to get off my land and go the fuck back to europe and they shut up.

I was coming out of a bar on Whyte ave and there was this bleeding crying kid (like 18 yrs old or something) on the sidewalk and we put him in a cab then a bunch of somali ganstas came up to us with guns pointed at us over it, I gave em all a cigarette and talked it over why they were acting all crazy, same thing everyone left happy and unharmed. Real gangsta of them. People are just weird here, anywhere downtown really.

Edmonton is calling you home...it knows you secretly love the madness. It's trying to feed you...Moare madness!! Mouhahaha

118 was my stomping grounds for a bit. Had a few problems but nothing I couldn't handle. I wrote a story about an experience I had, but I can't find it in this massive list of posts with stupid titles that don't explain anything. When I find it I'll send it your way, if I remember.

Growing up, we didn't know what racism was until they started teaching the dangers of it. Next thing you know there's a scuffle an they're using slurs. I think they teach the differences more than the similarities, and problems stem from that. The news does that too. I keep life simple. I enjoy people unless they're sketchy. Then I don't want to be around them.

The Somalians. My neighbor's friend was from there. Told us all kinds of crazy stories about that place. We'd drink in his garage. There's an Asian, Native, African, Indian, neightbor was a Newfie, and me. Had a great time.

But yeah. Make sure they don't burn that city down. I miss it.

The stories you told me were def 118 th related, I remember that much just not the specifics. I think I even commented on that post. Ya...it was long ago!

"I think they teach the differences more than the similarities, and problems stem from that" - absolutely, same for me I didn't know what it was until later. I had white friends, native friends, black friends and we all got along even when none of us spoke the same language we still just all had fun together. I currently live in a mostly muslim neighborhood, with a few white people and a few natives thrown in there, and a jamaican and we all get along and smoke joints together, have tea, turkish coffee whatever, we even compare religions without panties getting in a wad. Be cool don't be nobody's fool is the line around here! lol. Edmonton is pretty diverse tho, we have a little bit of everything like it's the promise land.

don't worry, we always rebuild what we burn down so we can burn it down again, it's like a cycle here.