Last Child of Fourteen (14) Kids – Ladies of Hive Contest #52

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

IMG-1733.jpg
I grew up as the last born child of 14 kids. Although I had a lot of siblings, I was not really close to any growing up.

I was pretty much in the shadows.

I navigated through school super perplexed, trying to figure out what it truly meant to be a girl child. I was told my role was to fit into a particular box of what society expects of a female.

...I fought!
IMG-1740.jpg
I fought because I knew I was so much more than the norm and I had way too much in me to offer.

The goal is to leave this earth empty.

I had seen close female family members stick to the status quo for fear of ‘what would people say or fear of failing and getting the ‘I told you so feedback’. I didn’t care about what people had to say neither was I scared of failing.

Hey! At least I gave it a shot, I learned, and I am going to get up, give it as many shots as I can, and do it differently until I succeed.

That’s my spirit! That’s the kind of attitude I promote!

And so, this experience impacted me positively in ways I am still uncovering. I became a goal-oriented, driven, focused, disciplined, kind-hearted, empathic, self-aware, self-motivated, and independent young girl.

I went from being average in class to be the following;

  • Miss My High School Beauty Pageant Queen 2011.
  • Best Graduating Student 2012
  • Best in Music & French
  • Best in Table Tennis & Long Distance Race (1500m) in my high school
    IMG-1739.jpg

I did not stop there as I went further to the University to study a 4-year program and was awarded the following after my second (2nd) year;

  • A 1-year all-expense paid scholarship by the United States government as a foreign exchange student (2014)
  • After completion of my 1-year exchange studies, I came out as a two-time Deans Honor Roll Awardee for the 2 semesters of my exchange and was made Valedictorian (2015)

On return from the USA and further completion of my 4-year program in my home country,

  • I graduated with First Class Honors & as the Overall Best in my program (International Relations and Diplomacy-2017)
  • Best in my Department (Political Science and International Relations)
  • Top 10 Best Students in the 2017 Graduating Set in my First Degree.
    IMG-1738.jpg
    IMG-1729.jpg
    I began to mentor and speak to other ladies about breaking the norm and setting high standards for the world to follow in their respective fields regardless of their gender.
    IMG-1736.jpg
    IMG-1742.jpg

I currently volunteer as a Guidance & Counselling Officer in my High School to help the younger ones.

My story is an encouragement to anyone who feels boxed and pressured to follow the norm.

I did it and so can you.

My story just began. I am still growing and evolving as change is the only constant here.

This is my entry to the @LadiesofHive Community Contest #52. I nominate @young-boss-karin to join this challenge. 😊

Thank you for your time and for listening to my gist…

A few award certificates...
IMG-1744.jpg
IMG-1745.jpg
IMG-1743.jpg

Sort:  

Driven to get up, stand out and be counted in life, lost in a large family you have made great decisive moves through pure will-power and motivation to achieve.

Encouraging your own gender to move forward, never look back at the old adage of do as you told, lovely to meet you, wishing you every success in change for the future. (Please remember to add you link into comments under #ladiesofhive, thanks)

@tipu curate

Thank you so much @joanstewart. I wish you even greater accomplishments in your chosen life endeavors.

Thanks @peaq one keeps busy throughout life, always finding new things to explore.

Truly. The moment we stop living, we start dying inside out.

My Godfather always said "When you stop learning, start digging your own grave." quite something to consider, we learn something new every day.

@joanstewart Your Godfather is definitely right about that.

Congratulations @peaq! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.
You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

What a powerful post.
You are an amazing woman. So glad you shared that journey with us. Your passion for learning and changing is inspiring.
Terrific!

Awwwwwww, thank you so much @farm-mom. Such lovely words of encouragement.

peace be with you, love life.

And also with you @farm-mom

You my dear @peaq are absolutely awesome!!
Your handle is a perfect match to all your achievements!
You and your family must be so proud of you :D
Thank you for your inspiration to go for what you want until you achieve it :D

Thank you so much @kaerpediem. Your words are always so soothing. Blessings always!

I am indeed motivated by your post and i see women topping and making it in academics. Is it bad that i have no passion for school at all? Like, i top my grades and i have never been anything but top three but i just can't bring myself to study the way i want to. The way that'll make me come out the top in university. Currently at my 300L and i feel like i would break. Is there anything i am doing wrong? or is there something i should be doing more?

Dear @deraaa, I believe the most important thing is having a passion for learning as opposed to going to school. Learning is a life-long process. Life itself is a practical school we live in everyday of our lives. Develop a passion for wanting to learn things and you've hacked the process. Regardless of whatever school you find yourself in, the constant thing is you are always open-minded and willing to learn. This would take you very far in life. I wish you all the very best in all you set forth to do my dear @deraaa.

Thank you... ❤️

Most definitely welcome.

Very encouraging. Thank you so much for sharing.

Thank you so much for your time @ladymwatsi

Wow, you are a source of encouragement to others. You have come so far.... And I am glad you are not planning to stop.

I hope that you will impact as many lives as possible and that you will be remembered for everything

Cheers to all your achievements.... Soar higher ma'am 🙂

Thank you so so much for your kind words. I am indeed grateful. Greater heights to you too @iskafan

You are welcome ma'am 🙂

Tu parle française et tu ne me dit pas???!!!
Tu est trés genial! Je voudrais étre comme toi quand je suis une adulte.

Je ne parle pas aussi souvent que je le voudrais à ma chérie. Il est donc rouillé. Merci pour vos gentils mots.

De rien. Pas de souci

Sourires

Empowering Thank You for using LOH.jpg

Thank you for this opportunity @ladiesofhive

You have received 5 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest.

Please note that since our LOH token is still so new, that it will be worth more if we HOLD them for a bit before trying to sell them. Some have been trying to sell them immediately after receiving them, but holding them for a bit will help them to increase in value! We are working behind-the-scenes to try to keep the price stable, but the "sell orders" are hampering the stabilization of the price of this new token. Please hold on to your tokens. Thank you! 🙂

Tenga en cuenta que, dado que nuestro token LOH todavía es tan nuevo, valdrá más si los MANTENEMOS por un tiempo antes de intentar venderlos. Algunos de ustedes han estado tratando de venderlos inmediatamente después de recibirlos, ¡pero retenerlos por un tiempo les ayudará a aumentar su valor! Estamos trabajando entre bastidores para tratar de mantener estable el precio, pero las "órdenes de venta" están obstaculizando la estabilización del precio de este nuevo token. ¡Considere esperar! ¡Gracias! 🤗

Last kid of 14, I am the last of 6 and I am always complaining.

Your achievements are a motivation tbh, you did great.

@khaleesii and the drama is on a whole different level, lol... Thank you for your sweet words.

Wow! I'm impressed! You decided early to be all that you could be! What an exciting life path you have set for self and I am so glad that you are spending time to help motivate others. You are helping change the world!

@melinda010100 Thank you so much for your kind words. Helping others is something I am most passionate about. I will keep doing that for as long as I can.

Wow, wow, wow, and WOW!!!
You are an amazing woman!
Not only to encourage anyone who feels boxed and pressured to follow the norm, but to inspire greatness in the youth!
What an accomplishment!
Thanks for sharing, @peaq.
Good luck with the contest.
At Ladies of Hive, making friends with someone who is different from you can be a learning experience. You can learn about their culture, and they can learn from you.
Take the time to engage other ladies.
The whole point is to find people who you relate to that can enrich your life.
You can find ladies here who reflect your interests and passions.

@silversaver888 This made my day. Thank you so so much for creating a platform like @ladiesofhive where women can inspire, encourage, motivate and share their experiences with each other.

I think we, women, are so deserving of encouragement, inspiration, motivation...
Someone observed that we do hold ourselves back sometimes, never really realizing how much potential we really have. That's why it is so important to have platforms where we can build one another up and communities like this one.