MY FAVOURITE CHILDHOOD GAMES — LOH CONTEST #77

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

74C3252F-72F1-4FC4-A653-87A70036DF53.jpeg

Hannah Rodrigo

I don’t think I’ve seen anyone who didn’t play games as a child. That is to say that childhood isn’t complete without games. It keeps children engaged and active.

Thinking back to my childhood days and remembering all the fun games I played, I realised that the paper-and-pen games were my favourite.

Xs and Os

7B18E790-6198-4DCA-8A01-E30FD089DA74.jpeg
TheDigitalArtist

The Americans call this Tic-tac-toe while the British call it Noughts and Crosses. Then, we called it X and O. It was one of the easiest games to play as I could easily play it anywhere with anyone. In no time, one could draw the three rows and three columns required to play the game, and it wouldn’t take up much space on the paper. I played it with my siblings at home and my friends at school. I was so good at playing it that it was either I won or no one else did.

The game is played by two players, one playing with an X and the other playing with an O, and they take turns alternately. The goal of the game is to have all Xs or all Os in a straight line, whether vertically, horizontally, or diagonally. The first to achieve this wins the game. So, the players keep putting down an X or an O till the nine boxes are completed.

B2CD2EF9-CAF5-4FE8-8DE5-140ED3CED39C.jpeg

I don’t think we ever had a name for this game. Or, maybe I simply do not remember. It is quite similar to Xs and Os, but unlike Xs and Os which doesn’t take up a lot of space on paper, this one does.

It requires an entire page to draw the vertical, horizontal and diagonal lines which all meet at the middle of each line. It’s basically a big asterisk with small rectangular boxes at the beginning and end of each line and also at the point where all the lines meet. Two players are required to play the game. They are given three very small pieces of paper (no bigger than the rectangular boxes) each that have been differentiated in some way to tell one player’s from the other. Quite similar to Xs and Os, the goal is for a player to have all his pieces of paper in a straight line, whether vertically, horizontally, or diagonally as both players take their turn one after the other. However, unlike it, after placing all three pieces of paper on different boxes, the papers are moved. The rule for movement is that it should be to a box next to where it was placed.

I played this game with my siblings at home, my friends in the compound where I lived, and my friends at school, but I wasn’t as good at it as I was at Xs and Os. When playing with my elder brother, I’d most often lose to him.

917654B1-1CEE-4B67-ADB4-B2CC32948AB7.jpeg

I also don’t quite know what we called this game. It was quite popular. I played it at school more than I did the previous game, but not as much as I did the first game, and it’s completely different from them. It was more of a word game. It had to do with vocabulary.

The game had no limits as regards the number of players. All the players needed were sheets of paper to draw columns and rows which would contain the names of people, places, animals, foods, and things that start with each letter of the alphabet. Turns were taken one after the other and whoever’s turn it was would call a letter that everyone would write words starting with (the name of a person, place, animal, food, thing). It would also be up to that player to shout “stop!” for everyone to drop their pens. There’d be a row allocated to totalling scores too. While each word is to get ten marks, those written by more than one person would score only five marks, and words not given would get nothing. At the end of the game, the player with the highest score wins.

This game was so much fun to play. Sometimes, due to pressure, one would forget common words that start with the given letter. That was super annoying, but generally it was always fun.

It’s funny that I still play these games in uni. However, it’s only once in a while when my friends and I hang out in one of our houses. It’s usually the second and third game though. And it’s always accompanied by lots of laughter and fooling around like friends do.

All images are mine unless stated otherwise

I invite @gemini.missy to join in this contest. To learn more about the contest, click here

Sort:  

You received 2 LADY(LOH) tokens for entering the Ladies of Hive contest!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time

Thank you!

Hello @philomenob
Welcome to Ladies of Hive
Thanks for sharing.
Ladies of Hive is here for you.
This is where we can exchange ideas and be inspired by the stories of others.
Perhaps we have the knowledge to share or perhaps we need to learn from others.
No matter what it is ... do it on Ladies of Hive.
You are not here just for yourself.
We are here for each other.
Meet other women in the community!
Get others involved!
Support each other!
Good luck with the contest.

😊Thanks for the warm welcome!

You're very welcome, @philomenob!
I look forward to reading your articles!

Hello, we have chosen this post to be curated by MCGI Cares(Hive) community. We are inviting you to join our community that study the words of God.

BES-MCGI-Cares-Banner-Web-ver01-1024x827-1.jpg

😊Thank you!

That is to say that childhood isn’t complete without games. It keeps children engaged and active

Some really did not get the chance to play at all... Azin at all, so they had carry over in playing


But I'll speak for myself, I'LL BEAT YOU TO ANY OF THOSE GAMES 😎 I so much enjoy them and I have lots of experience in playing too right from childhood


Thanks for sharing this with us
I'll love to see more of your contents if that's ok by you then we can connect 😇😇

X and O? I don't think I ever saw my peers play this game. Quite a process to play and win and of course, I trust you would always win! 😄

This is an interesting game that pulls you in. You enjoyed your childhood. Nice post! !PIZZA 🙂

Yeah, it’s really interesting. And, I did enjoy my childhood — immensely. Thanks for reading.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@kemmyb(1/5) tipped @philomenob (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Some children were not allowed to play games, but one time or another I think they’d have played some kind of game.

Thanks for reading! And, yes, it’s perfectly fine.

Wow, your childhood was so fun, I once played those games but my childhood was more practical. Nice content keep it up.

Thank you.

Congratulations @philomenob! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 200 comments.
Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from April day 6
NFT for Peace - Feedback and new city
Our Hive Power Delegations to the March PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!