LOH Community Contest #138: Parents, roles, important figures in our lives

in Ladies of Hive11 months ago

Neutral Brown Personalised Typography Father's Day Instagram Post (2).png

hojitas.png

1️⃣ A day recognizing fathers will be celebrated later this month in some parts of the world. With the changing perception of gender roles in our modern societies, how would you define the roles and responsibilities of fathers? And why do you define them that way?

hojitas.png

1️⃣ A finales de este mes se celebrará en algunas partes del mundo un día de reconocimiento a los padres. Con la cambiante percepción de los roles de género en nuestras sociedades modernas, ¿cómo definiría usted las funciones y responsabilidades de los padres? ¿Y por qué las define así?


ESPAÑOL1.png

Mucho es lo que se ha escrito con respecto a estos seres maravillosos que sin ellos, no estaríamos aquí, pues tenemos un 50% de su ADN.

Siempre el rol del padre es único e insustituible.

Aunque hay padres que no se ocupan de sus hijos, que no velan por ellos ni económicamente, ni moralmente, como ha sido el caso de mi hijo con su papá y que yo he tenido que asumir las riendas de la vida de mi hijo en cuanto a educación, principios, alimentación, salud, vestimenta, bienestar, todo, la verdad es que es un vacío está allí.

Cuando llega el día del padre, sale mucha gente a enviarme mensajes de felicitaciones porque dicen que yo he sido madre y padre. Yo lo agradezco con educación, pero no estoy de acuerdo con esto. Yo soy solamente una madre tratando de solapar las carencias emocionales que pueda tener mi hijo ante la ausencia de su papá y de alguna manera, esa ausencia se nota de vez en cuando, porque cada uno tiene un rol distinto dentro de la crianza de los hijos.

englishcanva.png

Much has been written about these wonderful beings that without them, we would not be here, because we have 50% of their DNA.

The role of the father is always unique and irreplaceable.

Although there are fathers who do not take care of their children, who do not take care of them financially or morally, as has been the case of my son with his father and I have had to take over the reins of my son's life in terms of education, principles, food, health, clothing, welfare, everything, the truth is that it is a vacuum is there.

When Father's Day arrives, many people send me congratulatory messages because they say that I have been a mother and a father. I thank them politely, but I don't agree with this. I am just a mother trying to make up for the emotional shortcomings my son may have in the absence of his dad and somehow, that absence is noticeable from time to time, because everyone has a different role in parenting.

cccc.jpg

Y por más que como madres solas (o en muchos casos, padres igualmente solos) queramos cubrir esa carencia, lo cierto es que no se puede. Eso se va notando a medida que los chicos van creciendo. Se nota en su actitud, en su manera de conducirse ante la vida, en sus pensamientos. Todo ello de manera inconsciente.

Un papá es un papá, sea como sea y es mi deber como madre, jamás hablarle mal a mi hijo de su padre. Si no vino a visitarlo como había prometido, nunca decirle nada malo; al contrario, decirle que quizás se accidentó, que seguro fue porque tenía mucho trabajo y se quedó sin batería en el celular para poder avisar que no vendría. Excusarlo ante los ojos del niño, aún cuando sepamos como madres que eso no es así y estemos furiosas, pero es algo que jamás se le transmite al niño porque ese ser inocente no tiene la culpa. Ya bastante dolor y decepción hay en su corazón como para agregarle un poco de sal a la herida.

And no matter how much we as single mothers (or in many cases, single fathers as well) want to fill that gap, the truth is that we cannot. This is noticeable as the children grow up. It is noticeable in their attitude, in the way they behave in life, in their thoughts. All this in an unconscious way.

A father is a father, no matter what, and it is my duty as a mother never to speak badly to my son about his father. If he did not come to visit him as he had promised, never say anything bad to him; on the contrary, tell him that maybe he had an accident, that it was probably because he had a lot of work and he ran out of battery in his cell phone to let him know that he was not coming. Excusing him in the eyes of the child, even when we know as mothers that this is not so and we are furious, but it is something that is never transmitted to the child because this innocent being is not to blame. There is enough pain and disappointment in his heart without adding a little salt to the wound.

image.png

2️⃣ If you had a beloved "father figure" in your life (father, grandfather, uncle, family friend, employer, etc.) and would like to recognize them with a story, we'd love to hear it!

image.png

2️⃣ Si tuviste una "figura paterna" querida en tu vida (padre, abuelo, tío, amigo de la familia, empleador, etc.) y te gustaría reconocerla con una historia, ¡nos encantaría oírla!


Para mí, mi padre fue único. Mi papá fue un hombre firme, de carácter fuerte. Papá difícilmente tenía una sonrisa para el resto el mundo. Así era papá. Sin embargo, con nosotros, sus cuatro hijos, fue un padre grandioso. Como dije, firme de carácter, serio pero con un sentido del humor inigualable. Mi padre era historiador y podíamos preguntarle lo que fuese del tema que fuese, porque él sabía todas las respuestas.

Era un ser admirable. Mis amigos lo respetaban muchísimo y mis conquistas solían sentirse intimidados con su presencia.

Pero en el fondo de su corazón, papá se divertía con esta situación. De hecho, quienes lo conocíamos bien, sabíamos distinguir ese brillo de diversión en sus ojos.

Papá fue parte vital y prioritaria en nuestra educación. Siempre estuvo presente en cuerpo y alma. Era quien nos llevaba a la escuela y quien nos iba a buscar por las tardes.

For me, my father was unique. My dad was a firm, strong-willed man. Dad hardly had a smile for the rest of the world. That was just the way Dad was. However, with us, his four children, he was a great father. As I said, firm in character, serious but with a sense of humor second to none. My father was a historian and we could ask him anything about any subject, because he knew all the answers.

He was an admirable being. My friends respected him greatly and my suitors were often intimidated by his presence.
But in his heart of hearts, Dad was amused by this situation. In fact, those of us who knew him well knew that glint of amusement in his eyes.

Dad was a vital and priority part of our upbringing. He was always there, body and soul. He was the one who drove us to school and picked us up in the afternoons.

image.png

A veces mi mamá salía de viaje con mis hermanos y yo por ser la menor de la casa y muy pequeña, papá decidía quedarse conmigo en casa. Esos días eran un regalo para mí, pues papá me llevaba al parque, al zoológico, me compraba algodones de azúcar, palomitas de maíz, helados y aquel globo azul que cuando me lo compró me sentí inmensamente feliz.

Si alguien me pregunta cómo se llamaba mi papá, mi respuesta sería: Su nombre era "Amor."

Y es que por más que yo pueda contarles quién era papá, lo cierto es que nadie podría saber lo que significaba la suerte tenerlo como padre.

Durante el fin de semana pasado, visité a una prima de papá y me contó muchas cosas que yo desconocía y al saber estas verdades de su vida, me sentí más orgullosa de él y de ahora en adelante abrazaré con más fuerza que nunca su legado y ya encontraré una nueva forma de inmortalizarlo.

Sometimes my mom would go on trips with my brothers and sisters, and because I was the youngest in the house and very little, dad would decide to stay home with me. Those days were a gift for me, because dad would take me to the park, to the zoo, he would buy me cotton candy, popcorn, ice cream and that blue balloon that when he bought it for me I felt immensely happy.

If someone asked me what my dad's name was, my answer would be: His name was "Love".

And as much as I can tell you who Dad was, the truth is that no one could ever know how lucky I was to have him as a father.

Over the past weekend, I visited a cousin of Dad's and she told me many things I didn't know and knowing these truths of his life, I felt prouder of him and from now on I will embrace his legacy more strongly than ever and I will already find a new way to immortalize him.

Diapositiva1.PNG

Esta ha sido mi entrada al concurso #138 de la Comunidad de Ladies of Hive. Me encantaría invitar a @syllem, @zhanavic69, @carolinacardoza y a @mosa71 para que se unan y compartan con toda la comunidad sus experiencias y puntos de vista.

Agradezco infinitamente a @thekittygirl por tan bonita iniciativa y a cada una de las personas que me leen y me dejan un bonito comentario.

Gracias, gracias, gracias.

This has been my entry to the contest #138 of the Ladies of Hive Community. I would love to invite @syllem, @zhanavic69, @carolinacardoza and @mosa71 to join and share with the whole community their experiences and insights.

I am infinitely grateful to @thekittygirl for such a nice initiative and to each of the people who read me and leave me a nice comment.

Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Fotos propias del pueblo donde vivo.

Traducción DeepL.

Portada diseñada en Canva.

image.png

Photos of the town where I live.

Translation DeepL.

Cover designed in Canva.

Sort:  

Thank you for your entry to our weekly contest! 💜

!LADY

046

View or trade LOH tokens.


@thekittygirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @purrix and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (13/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Un hermoso homenaje para los padres en su día. Estupendo aporte en esta semana en #hive

gracias cariño, feliz fin de semana y que haga un sol bien lindo, poco calor, que no llueva y siempre tengas luz e internet 🌞🌈💻📲💡

You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

This is really touching and so true too. No matter how hard single parents try, it's only to fill in the vacuum left by the other parent.
Parenting is tasking and high feet. Well done on the beautiful way you raise your child as well as a lovely recognition of your father.💕

Yes, it is true. It's a little strong, but the result is worth it. Although I have to work on trying to fill those gaps that remain in his little heart.

Thank you for your words, they mean a lot to me.

More grace🙏🏽The pleasure is mine🫂💕

Rather an unfortunate position too many families face but at least you have your Father as your role model you could cherish.
Thanks @purrix

That's right, honey. My father was my reliable rock, my support, my example and based on those terms and my memories, I try to instill those values in my child.

Thanks to you for your comment and for reading me ✨🎈✨.

que bonito, me hiciste extrañar a mi padre. 😌

Eso es lo que más pega, verdad Carol? La ausencia. Los extrañamos tanto que duele. Pero nos queda el bonito recuerdo de su legado, su amor, su sonrisa, sus enseñanzas y su amor.