OVERCOMING PREJUDICE: MY STORY

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago (edited)

“Prejudice is thinking ill of others without sufficient warrant" - Gordon Alport

😊It's been an eye-opening experience to consider how far I've come. It's unbelievable!

So my first encounter with one of the many faces of prejudice happened in my senior year in secondary school (SS2), 2006.
I loved acting and considered pursuing a career in it. Then something strange happened. As ridiculous as it may sound, I had a dream in which I was sitting under a tree, facing a bookshop, and drawing it.😅
We were talking about life one gorgeous day at my friend's place, and I told her about my dream. Her older brother had just arrived home for lunch. He overheard our chat and decided to assist in deciphering this dream. Behold, architecture was born.

👀Matters arising___
The next day at school, I met with my school's G&C Coordinator to explore a career in architecture and how to get started. My school, you see, was in its early stages and was science-based, thus technical topics like technical drawing were not part of the curriculum. As a result, I was recommended to meet with the principal to discuss the need for a technical drawing teacher.

So there I was, 14-year-old me, sitting in the waiting room when I was summoned. I entered the principle's office, was polite, and continued to propose, but before I could finish, my principal cut me off and said,

"If you don't have anything important to say, please get out of my office as I have important things to do. I'll advice you to stop this craze and study courses best suited for a woman because you wouldn't be able to study nor handle the pressures in Architecture"

❄️I'm getting a chill just thinking about it. I'm not sure how I got through the day at school, but I do remember crying the whole night. I was defeated. A few days later, at my friend's house once more, her elder brother decided to inquire about my dreams. I then told him about the tragic situation, and he offered to tutor me. Did I mention he was pursuing a degree in architecture? Oh, he was in his final year.

Now that my optimism had been restored, I took up the challenge, so while my classmates were out on breaktime, I was in the library studying technical drawing books and doing assignments.

IMG_20150713_103155.jpg

⏭⏭Fast forward⏭⏭

  • June 2007 I wrote the Technical drawing exams and scored a 'B' grade.
  • 2008 I Applied for admissions at two different institutions and got accepted, choose one.
  • March 2012, I graduated with a bachelors in Architecture.
  • December 2014, I graduated with a Masters in Architecture.
  • Got employed at an Architectural firm and been pursuing my career ever since. Well these days I choose to Hive & Vibe more😎
    LadiesOfHive-Divider.png

The point of telling you this story is to let you know YOU CAN DO ANYTHING!!!

True, there were many times when I wanted to give up and cried in the studio, but I persevered and stood out among my colleagues. Yeah! My presentations and project reports were commended and utilized as reference points, I gave'em a runner. Those who presented and submitted less would receive lower grades. Oh, I gave 'em hell😅

On this road, I've learned patience, discipline, and humility. I still have a long way to go in my profession, but I hope this tale inspires you. Learn to trust the process, regardless of your beliefs or belief.
I recognize God's hand in my life. Grace led the way the entire time, and I am overjoyed. There is no such thing as a woman's profession and a man's profession. These days we have men who are excellent chefs and women who are excellent mechanics.

THERE IS NO LIMIT TO YOUR GREATNESS, EXCEPT THE ONE YOU SET FOR YOUR SELF.
LadiesOfHive-Divider.png

❓Have you or anyone you know experienced the different faces of Prejudice? I would love to read your story in the comment section😊

🐠Please if you're a Newbie/Redfish like me, I'd really love for us to connect & become friends🤗

Thank you so much for stopping by💐
My gratitude to the @ladiesofhive for this awesome platform to share and banners to use💐

Until Next Post, Hive, Vibe & Be Lucky🍀

Sort:  

I loved hearing this, that principal was a real loser don't know how so people like that can exist. I'm glad you strived forward and kept on moving and found someone that was willing to help and support you on your dreams. You have come so far now and accomplished many great things be proud of yourself and all you have done 😍

I recognize God's hand in my life. Grace led the way the entire time, and I am overjoyed. There is no such thing as a woman's profession and a man's profession. These days we have men who are excellent chefs and women who are excellent mechanics.

YES like you say you can do anything if you are passionate about it try to conquer that mountain even if it may seem scary don't let anyone tell you that you are not capable of doing something. Find the people that will give you the tools to help you climb these mountains and you will be looking down on all those that tried to say you couldn't do it.

!PIZZA

Thank you so much @drabs587
Wow,i got all teary and to be honest sharing my stories, having kind & insightful comments like this makes it all worth it.
I appreciate, believe me, you've been too kind🌸
One love❤️
Thanks for the 🍕🍕🍕 always

I really admire you. It's inspiring to see that you followed your dream and now you're living it! My whole family believes I will be able ti graduate from medical school, but I'm the one who doubts herself

Thank you darling.
It's a blessing to have people believe in us, we should believe in ourselves too.
I believe in you and celebrate your becoming a fine doctor soon😊🎉

That means a lot to me, thanks <3 Merry Christmas!

Inspiring story. This story should be reblogged all over Hive and shared on as many platforms as possible. I salute your determination. Kudos

Thank you so much @itsostylish
You're so kind, much love💜

It's these personal stories of real people's lives around the world I came to Hive to read. You have my utter admiration and respect, even more so as I'm an architecture fanboy.

As an atheist , I just wish you'd accept the fact that everything you achieved cane from within YOU. Be proud and accept the plaudits!

Have a happy and peaceful holiday and please accept my best wishes to you and your loved ones for the future.

I'll be following your progress :-)

Awe you're far too kind.
I do agree with you, we as humans need also play our parts, put in the work.
Thank you @nathen007 ,wishing you a peaceful holiday too. Much love🌸🌸

!PIZZA

Congratulations @queenstarr! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

You received 1 LADY(LOH) token posting in the Ladies of Hive!

We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hold LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Thank you🌸🌸

image.png

😊My pleasure💜🌸

Lovely to see you here on the Hive blockchain, contributing to conversations that matter, like Prejudice.

And blessings to your older brother for asking about your dreams and offering to tutor you.

Big encouraging welcome from Northern Thailand.

😊Awee! Glad I could make a contribution, Thank you so much for the warm welcome. One love🌸

Too many times, there are people who are situated to make others feel less, we have to be our own greatest motivation in order to overcome the negetivity thrown at us.
I am happy you achieved your dreams, cheers to girl power.

Indeed Darling, I'm grateful I was able to move past such. Thank you for stopping by🌸🌸

Yay! You did it. You overcame and accomplished what you have literally dreamed of doing and proved to the Principal, and more importantly for yourself, that you can achieve the goals you set your mind to.

Congratulations @queenstarr ❤️

😊It's indeed a satisfying feeling I must confess @kerrislravenhill
Thank you so much for show of support darling. One love🌸🌸

It was nice to be taken under the wing of someone who had already done most of the work, and by his teaching and helping you he was learning even more solid, so there were actually two of you benefitting from his generosity and help.
We never want to stop learning, this was good for you.
Congratulations on achieving your dream!

I totally agree with you, Thank you so much @jamerussell .one love🌸🌸

It is amazing that you kept pushing regardless of everything, I am proud of you.

Thank you Darling, cheers🌸🌸

My able surveyor🙌

😂My friend my friend, I hail thee🙌🌸🌸

Hi, friend @queenstarr

Welcome to Hive

You got yourself a very glamorous profile name hehe

I like reading personal stories and anecdotes, they reflect a lot of who we really are.

I love Architecture. In some next life, I will be an Architect, but first, I will be a Psychiatrist.

As an Architect, you have a lot of scope on this platform. If I were an Architect, I would make beautiful designs and present them step by step in my publications.

I hope you have a lot of success in Hive.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Awee thank you❤️
Yes Psychiatry is such a lovely career, I've always been fascinated.
I do appreciate the insight and yes would make beautiful designs and present them. So kind you to stop by, one Love🌸🌸

@queenstarr I have loved the posts I have read about you, you are an excellent example, not only as a person but also as a woman. I have realized that in your path have crossed very important people, who have left an indelible mark and have contributed to what you are today.

I have also noticed that you always mention God in your writings, Bravo for that. Nowadays many people go through life without fulfilling that spiritual part that is part of human nature. And furthermore, without recognizing the existence of that higher power by which we came into existence.

I hope I too can be, not only an example for others, but also that person who can leave positive footprints in others!💛

Awee😍
Wow @marbrym im blown away by just how sweet and simple you are. Believe me, you've made such an positive and sweet impression already. I appreciate you, thank you for the kind comment🌸
One love❤️

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
queenstarr tipped benii (x1)
drabs587 tipped queenstarr (x1)
@queenstarr(1/5) tipped @khoola (x1)
queenstarr tipped nathen007 (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Hey queen had a nice chat with you a few days ago at the Terminal. Wow accomplished a lot I bet you have amazing designs. I always wanted to be an architect when I was a kid but ended up in a desk job lol. You showed your principal and proved him wrong. Sometimes people who pull you down make you want to strive harder to reach your goal. See you around queen.

Hi @mhel
Watersnake #generalchatroom, O yes I do recall☺️
A desk job is an excellent job and a stepping stone to exactly where we need to be, we always need these stepping stones.
Hmmm,what you just said gave me insight, I think the universe has a way of making our paths cross with these (-) people so that we can achieve certain (+) things. In otherwords, we Prolly should view them in positive light, like Helpers.

@queenstarr Yes I love your positivity and your resilience. We need more of that in this world. Oh and btw since you are in architecture what are your thoughts on church architecture. I am crazy about them and my favorite subject in photography. Did a lot of church post in my old watersnake account. Mostly pre colonial Spanish churches.

Awe Thank you🌸
O lovely, I love love photography, it was part of our curriculum.
Any hope for access to the old account? I'd love to take a look at them.
Europe have tried to preserve church architecture, I find it fascinating and hope to visit in the nearest future.
I'd say that Church Architecture is one that keeps evolving.
It's evolved from Cruciform construction with octagonal floor layout to what we have today, Church designs built to suit Religious needs but with modernism, I'd call most event centres.
Presently My interest is more on Healthcare Architecture, I'm just hooked on it.

Health care architecture so hospitals right? It would be great to see some of your works. As for my old account lost the keys and cried enough tears already and just moved on. Although you could check one of the churches I visited https://hive.blog/beautifulsunday/@watersnake101/takemetochurchdaragachurch-beautifulsunday-jev0yw7t8o

O yes, Hospitals. I'm considering though most are client projects and still in construction or bidding stages. But surely I will be sharing☺️
I've visited the link amazing.... also seen other church architecture post, all I need is a cuppa after Christmas with my laptop to enjoy the documentaries.

Awesome will be looking forward to your creations. Glad you got a chance to check my old post. Much love and enjoy the holidays.

Much love and a very very merry Christmas to you too🤶🎄Ho! Ho! Ho

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @queenstarr.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Way to go, lady! 🙌 You should have sent an invitation to your Master's graduation to that G&C Coordinator who disrespected you! Oh, to have seen the look on his face then! 😁

LOL I Prolly should've.
But you know, one time I met with the student of the school and she told me during the schools annual Speech and Price giving day, the principal mentioned me as the only architect graduate the school has produced to date and encouraged the students to strive hard.
I didn't add that to the story, as I wasn't present during his speech, hence, not verified.
But I was still So Happy just hearing that🙌
Thank you Kitty💜

June 2007 I wrote the Technical drawing exams and scored a 'B' grade.

2008 I Applied for admissions at two different institutions and got accepted, choose one.

March 2012, I graduated with a bachelors in Architecture.

December 2014, I graduated with a Masters in Architecture.

Got employed at an Architectural firm and been pursuing my career ever since. Well these days I choose to Hive & Vibe more😎

Nice accomplishments, well-done ✌️

Thank you so much @repayme4568 🌸🌸

You are welcome ☺️

Wow..
This is truly inspiring.. Thank you for sharing ma

You're welcome Darling, my pleasure 🌸
I appreciate the reblog🌸

!PIZZA

Ghad, what a story! Women can't handle the pressure architecture? I have seen a lot worst handled by some really amzain women I know of...

And I know... a lot of people already said this, but one more won't hurt.

You are amazing!

Awwwww this comment got me dancing at past midnight😂💃
Thank you so much @khoola
I'm so encouraged...wait till ya read the big one yet😉😅
Appreciate you stopping by my post, much Love🌸🤗

!PIZZA

I'll keep an eye out.. for it!

It was my pleasure, take care always!

Nice post all you said is true,many time we have been denied of our freedom of expression just because they think we no nothing, your story is a charge for me and am very happy for who you are today,what a bold step you have taken,please I will like you to help mentor my wife in her teaching field and help her grow she by the name @shollywills am happy I met you today @queenstarr

Hey Tonywalter
Thank you so much for your kind words. Sure it'll be my pleasure but "Teaching field?" I'd like more insight to what it means ayye?
I just followed her.
Cheers ☺️
She can send me a message

She's busy with the baby now latter she will reply u her self I need you to help me build her even here on hive with her writeup, your writing skills will be an additional benefits, @queenstarr

O Alright, no worries.
Here i am thinking my writing skills is very poor, well I'm developing on that too and it's all thanks to @theterminal and @ladiesofhive really. Please kindly have her download and join this discord channel
https://discord.gg/P4nqcj6
She'll be able to DM me there and then she joins theterminal. Thank you, cheers😊

You are welcome