The Last Photo I Took and the Memories it Brought Back

in Ladies of Hive21 days ago

The Last Photo I took.png

Last Monday, a few of the staff of HivePH went and visited an orphanage for our outreach program. We had a short book reading and drawing activity with the kids, had a little playtime with them, and then we went out to a park nearby after. Just us staff, not the kids. There are quite a lot of them and I don't think we could ever handle that much children out in the park.

Anyways, I wanted to join this week's contest and I choose to share about the last photo I have in my phone. The first paragraph above shows a little bit of a back story but the photo I am sharing is the photo of the coffee shop we made a last stop to before we all parted and headed home. It was a photo of the La Cathedral cafe in Intramuros, Manila.

My university was within the walls of Intramuros and I've gone to quite a lot of places in there during my college days but this one I never heard of before. Basically because the place was established a little way after I have graduated. When we entered the gate of the walled city, I kept on thinking when was the last time I really actually visited Intramuros after I finished college? In my head, I can clearly remember the time I left, it was on the night of my graduation. But then when we got to a particular part in Intramuros, I remembered I joined a 10K fun run called the Walled City Run (or something or the other). And that was it. Aside from that 1 hour fun run, I never really looked back since I left that place.

Going back there, (the HivePH staff went to Fort Santiago, by the way), it reminded me of how much my life has changed. The walls reminded me of how I lived in survival mode for years. Literally surviving each day, feeding myself through freetaste food at the mall, or cheap street food in front of the university just so I wouldn't starve for the rest of the day. The fastfood chain I worked at was no longer there, the facade of the building has changed but still, it reminded me of all the hardships I had to endure as a working student.

On my way home, I passed by the different places my friends used to bring me along at during my days off work, that's where they catch me up on all the goings on in the lives of our classmates and batchmates. I really did miss out on a lot because I had so much going on in college. I'm just glad my friends were there. Man, they even helped me catch up with all the assignments and projects - even did some of my homework for me. LOL. College life would have been more challenging if it weren't for them.

But it's not all hardships at all. I had moments at the wall where I just hang out and play the guitar or people watch, or just read a good book under the shade of a tree. I brought my ex there a couple of times, along with my college friends and we would chitchat, have some picnic snacks.

The last parts of my teenage years were spent within the walls of Intramuros and needless to say, those walls doesn't just hold history of the country from the Spanish, American, and Japanese occupation. It also holds a lot of special memories that I will cherish for the rest of my life. I guess the streets of cobblestones within the walled city of Intramuros just brought back a lot of memories.

20210422_124054.png

Copy of Nanay Romeski (4 x 1.5 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (2 x 1 in) (3 x 1 in) (4 x 3 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (3 x 1.5 in).png

Sort:  

Sometimes when I pass where I grew up, it reminds me of so much memories just like it is doing to you right now
Well, I love that picture!

There's a sort of happy and sad feeling when that happens, right?


!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @romeskie and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (21/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Wow, what a beautiful photograph and what an interesting place that shows a lot of history of your country and also of your personal life during your university days. Hugs
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@irenenavarroart, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @romeskie and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/22 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thanks. Even the smell of the air in that place reminded me of the memories. Haha

Congratulations @romeskie! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

It is the same way that later on one remembers things when that time has passed and those memories are much more beautiful and one has a good time thinking about them.

Indeed. A mix of happy, sad, beautiful ans ugly memoriesm

Yeah you are right.

"Literally, Starving Students." that seems to be a typical life style with many university students here in Canada with our high cost of living, hoping to graduate into well paying jobs.

And then getting disappointed once they graduate because life is not at all as they pictured during university years. Haha

That really Beautiful pictures and to visit your hometown (birth town) and see things that brings back memories are epic 😉
My parents still live in the town I grew up in and even if lots has changed over the years our schools and Childhood spots are still like before.

Love your shots alot!

Thank you for sharing and have a wonderful weekend. Cheers 🌺