[LOH-172] I Can Be a "Nagging Daughter" Sometimes, Especially When It Comes to My Oldies, But That's Because I Care.

in Ladies of Hive3 months ago

IMG_20240215_155312.jpg

Saying "I love you" and "I care for you" as a way of showing love and care for my family is never my thing. I think I only said "I love you" once to them. I know I should say it more, that I should be vocal about it, but, you know, it's not that easy. Especially I grew up without feeling that "love" and "care" and without knowing how to actually spread them to the world. I can only show my love and care to someone through action, but if you are waiting for me to say it to hear it, nah, sorry, but I just can't.

Although they had ways to show their love to me when I was a kid, I never realized that earlier. And because of that, I feel so embarrassed to even utter those words to them. Maybe if they show it to me when I was a kid or if only they teach me what "love" really is, maybe I'll get used to it now and will never be ashamed to say or show it to them. But, I also wish for the time to come where I will never be too shy to say those words to them. Like forget about being shy.

IMG_20240215_160347.jpg

I know I should be proud and really say it while showing it too, but nope, it's not that easy. I can show, but I can never say the words. Now, with the question: how do you truly show someone you care? Is it a grand gesture, a thoughtful gift, heartfelt words, or something entirely different entirely?

I show it through action and a little bit of "nagging," if you know what I mean, lol. I care for my oldies, so when I see that they are doing things that they shouldn't do or taking foods that are not allowed for them, I will remind them of this and that, like I am the real adult in the household. To the point of being called a nagging daughter. Mom often gets annoyed at me if I'm being like that, but she sometimes listens to me and often does not. Now she knows what it feels like to get "nagged" by someone. Lol.

Well, I care so of course I will do that, I can actually do that now. I can say some of my pieces to them, but I can't say, "I love you." Isn't that ƪ(˘⌣˘)ʃ? But well, I'm sure they know and feel it. My way of showing it is kind of lame, but at least right.

Or when there's an occasion like yesterday's Valentine's Day. I didn't greet them or anything, no, "Hey Mom, Happy Hearts Day!" But I bought a chocolate ice cream as a way to let them know that I love them and that I care. And that even though I didn't greet them, I remembered that it's Valentine's Day and that giving them ice cream is also like reminding them that I care. It's really just simple, but actually, prior to that, I was already thinking of giving them chocolates, you know, just the small ones, lol.

IMG_20240215_170721.jpg

I saw a toblerone chocolate in one of the grocery stores near our place, the price is $0.23 each. But when I checked it, it was too small, so I think it won't be enough for them considering that I planned to give them one each only - what a cheapskate, I know, I know, lol. And this is the reason why I didn't push through with the plan. I thought ice cream was so much better than that because that's our favorite. So in the end, I bought ice cream for all of us. It's cheap, but we're able to enjoy it, and I was able to put a smile on my mom's and oldies faces.

IMG_20240215_164045.jpg

And I think that's already bih enough, no? But I think I'll try to be more vocal with them. Let's see, I'll try to do that. Even though I'm used to this kind of act now, there's no harm in trying. But you know, even my oldies is okay without me saying anything. Because just through my action, they already it. But yeah, for a change, I'll try it. I'll so it slowly.

20220714_175943_0000-removebg-preview.png

Sort:  

The most misinterpreted act of love is telling your; friend, family member or even your child that they made a choice that would result in a bad outcome. Followed perhaps some Tough Love, the second most misinterpreted act of love. Been on the receiving end of that.

That tough love, but with that I still grow up respecting and loving them.

That's great, and actions speak louder than words as they say. We need to pay extra attention to our elderly, as it's our turn now to take care of them, so you are doing amazing.

Thank you for sharing, and have a lovely weekend.

!ALIVE !DHEDGE

#freecompliments

@ruffatotmeee! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ meraki7578. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Right, right, hehe, thanks. I'm confident too that they know how much I love them (◍•ᴗ•◍)

I know what you mean. When my mom and dad were alive, they never did say 'I love you' that I can recall. I believe it was the generation they grew up in. They didn't share much emotion or even information about their younger years. I can look back now and see how they 'showed' me they loved me. Although I was brought up that way, I also tended to be that way with my children when they were grown. Not so much when they were children, but I make an effort to tell them I love them now. I don't want to leave this world whenever that is, without them knowing.

It gets easier with time.

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

Yeah, and it only need one step. For sure once I get use to this, those words will just be easier to come out in my mouth by then. Hopefully. (◍•ᴗ•◍)

It is not easy to say I love you to parents is as you say if we are not accustomed from small it is difficult to say it, but look at my parents are no longer on earth and how it hurts me not to have told them on time or so many times that I loved them, so I urge you to start doing that exercise with yours. Greetings 😉

That's true, but I'll really try now to practice it before its too late ❤️

The important things is you show the love in your own way!

Right, and I know they feel it ❤️

image.png
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @ruffatotmeee and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (6/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ruffatotmeee, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @meraki7578! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.pob
- @dhedge.neoxag
- @dhedge.waiv

@meraki7578 has 5 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.