Frozen heart #91

in Ladies of Hive2 years ago

"Don't let them in, don't let them see, be the good girl you always have to be, conceal don't feel, don't let them know..."

Above is the Lyric of a song sang in a popular animation titled "frozen". I am a great lover of animated movies, if you are too? Then you probably know the song.

Hi everyone, my name is Queen and it's a great delight to be joining this contest. The song "let it go" gives me a form of memory every time I listen to it, the lyrics has a way of communicating my heart. I have a sweet sour memory attached to this song and I will love to share.

62d957cc41e30d003c0de848.jpg

2 Years back, in college, I had a group of friends, they were more of a family to me than friends, we prayed together, studied together, had fun together, and lived together, it was such a pleasant memory because they were so amazing. It was a fellowship, we had a leader and I happened to be the personal assistant to the leader. The leader is a guy by the way.

untitled.gif

However, as time Went by I started feeling choked, in sense that there was a lot of restriction, the leader made it look like he was making us bond by having us live together, eat together and do everything together, it was as serious as we not being allowed to move or be friends with anyone outside of our pack, it started to look like a cult.

I started dying inside, I was not happy, I didn't like the idea of sleeping in the same room with a guy, it wasn't convenient for me, I couldn't dress as I wanted, I couldn't speak with whomever I want to, and asking questions contrary to what the leader says is easily seen as rebellion. I wanted space, I wanted my privacy, I loved them so much, but I dint want the restrictions.

untitled.gif

There was a time, I had feelings for a guy, my leader restricted me from dating him, he even said we couldn't be friends. I was constantly depressed, my academic grade reduced, my social life died, my talents became dormant because we had to do everything together.

At a point, I couldn't take it anymore, I had cried my eyes out because I needed to make a decision for myself, I needed to get back on track, at that point I didn't even know me again, I had been living in their shadows, I had been trying to be the good kid, being submissive, so I endured, I didn't ask questions because I didn't want to be tagged a rebel.

One beautiful night, I was taking a walk, listening to "let it go" by "Idina Menzel" it was on repeat. All of a sudden, I screamed "I'm gonna let it goooooooo" I was ready to make the decision to leave the pack, even if it's for a moment, I needed to get my own apartment and stop being caged. I was ready to be me, to be free, to be a queen in my own world. That night, I boldly declared to the leader that I was leaving.

untitled.gif

Although, the leader tried to cajole me not to leave, that my enemies are trying to deceive me, he even asked me, who I have been listening to, because he felt I must have been taught by someone, looking at my level of boldness. But, my mind was made up already.

I left! Of course, he declared me to the pack that I was now a rebel and instructed that no one speak to me again. It was a painful period, because they were the only friends I had, this happened exactly during covid19, I wept so much but I'm glad I made the decision because now I'm free, free to be who I wanna be, free to be great, and free to grow.

So each time listen to the song, it brings back the memory. A painful memory that led to my freedom.

IMG_20220703_075738_801.jpg

Sort:  

View or trade LOH tokens.


@storyqueen, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Hello @storyqueen
Welcome to Ladies of Hive.
Ladies of Hive is here for you.
This is where we can exchange ideas and be inspired by the stories of others.
Perhaps we have the knowledge to share or perhaps we need to learn from others.
No matter what it is ... do it on Ladies of Hive.
You are not here just for yourself.
We are here for each other.
Meet other women in the community!
Get others involved!
Support each other!
Thanks for sharing.
BTW do not fail to properly cite the sources for images used in posts.
Good luck with the contest.

I am happy that you broke free of that! Nobody who tries to control you to that extent will ever have your best interests in mind. You look happy in your picture. Thanks for sharing and have a lovely day! !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@elizabethbit, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @storyqueen and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/11 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Wow
I'm so sorry you had to go through that but I'm glad you broke free from the hold, hope you've made more friends....
I love "let it go" too 😊 and frozen is one of my favorite animations.

Yayyyy, we have that in common 💃

I'm still in the process of making new friends

I'm struggling with making friends myself, so...... can we be friends?🙃

Yes, sure. How can we connect?

Are you on Twitter or Facebook?
We can start from there 😊

Esther Queen..... That's my Twitter handle, what's yours?

Mine is orah414
This is a link to my profile.
I couldn't find yours.

It takes courage to break away from people who make us feel suffocated. Glad to read you were brave to do so and freed yourself from unhappiness.

Yes sis, it was hard but really helpful. It was a toxic relationship

It's great to get away from it. You did the right thing :)

Congratulations @storyqueen! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Glad you mustered up the courage
and strength from deep inside you to
leave that sick, controlling person
and unhealthy environment!
I pity the ones who remained there.

Thank you for your entry to
the Ladies of Hive Contest Round #91
@storyqueen
💗💓💟💓💗

I'm glad I left, Thank you