Modern Times || Boon or Bane || Ladies of Hive Contest #81

This week @ladiesofhive has come up with very interesting questions, one of which is something I talk and think about almost everyday. Although both the questions are very close to my heart and relevant for me to answer, I would love to answer the 2nd one because I have some deep thoughts about it.

1️⃣ If you plan to grow a vegetable garden, what is your favorite vegetable to grow and what dishes do you use if for? Feel free to include a special recipe using that vegetable!

Or

2️⃣ Do you ever wish for simpler times, or do you prefer the modern 'techy' world of today? Which would you choose to live by, and why?

Kids these days are born with, if not a silver spoon in their mouth, fancy gadgets, and luxurious lifestyles. The moment they are born, the doctor would bring them out to the father (from the Operation Theatre) to take a look. What does the father do? They look and then immediately take their phones out to take a picture. Although it is something the doctors ask them to do if they want, for the sake of keeping memories. But wouldn't it be great if they use those 2 minutes just to look at their just born child, appreciate the gift of superpower and the pain of the mother, the beauty and innocence of the child, and maybe find a glimpse of themselves in their baby?

From there on, every movement of theirs is captured in the form of pictures and videos. To keep them busy, we make use of our cell phones and televisions. The kind of fancy toys they get, the kind of equipment that is available in the market to keep them engaged - don't you think that takes away the parent-child bonding time?

And as they grow, they don't play games like we did. Kho-Kho, Kabaddi, long walks with friends, eating ice creams worth pennies, celebrating festivals with small contributions, and developing that crazy friendship bond. When I take Raag down to play in the park, I hear these 6-10 year old children talking about their fancy gadgets and the pool parties their parents would arrange for them on their birthdays.

I think with all these modern advancements, the true essence of living and relishing the moments is gone. There are so many extrenal interventions and diversions that don't let us make bonds.

And it's not just with the kids, that is just an example. This prevails in every relationship. Honeymoons are all about clicking pictures and posting on social media, and festivals are more about parties and drinking rather than living the culture, families sitting on dining table to have food together but no one is talking and rather watching TV.

With this modernity, I believe there is a loss of emotions, relationship strengths and real bonds. There are less memories in mind and more in our phones - and honestly how often do you sit back to look at your photos 10 years back.

Having said all of it, even if we all realize it, there's very little chance that we can keep away from these advancements. They have kind of become a habit for us now and as they say, bad habits stay inside of you.

Thank you @ladiesofhive for this great topic. Writing all of it, I atleast realize what we all are heading towards. But yes, my husband did take a picture of my 10 minutes old son and we click a lot of pictures of him every day, we do watch television while having food and enjoy social media buzz. That's how life is now.

But still... Cheers to the good old times!

Untitled design (1).png
Source

I would like to invite @memeisfun to participate in this contest and share her thoughts with us.

Sort:  

We can't turn back the hands of time anymore and we all are heading forward. But oftentimes, we missed the good old days back when everything was just so simple. I prefer living in this modern world, but more simply 🙂

We all want these modern day ease but we still miss those days when none of it was there or significant. Given a chance, I would love to go back and relive those days.

Just this morning, I was thinking of the times my parents lived and how better and simpler it was, although we did not have the technology or better medical services at that time but it was a magical era.

Not magical, it was indeed glorious. Magical is an understatement.

You have a point with everything you have written! Back when my children were born, we didn't have cell phones-only if you were extremely wealthy, did you have one and it certainly did not fit in your pocket! Anyway, it was a simpler time for sure, and back then, I didn't this it was!

You are also right in that there are many things being lost. They are not teaching cursive writing in schools any longer. I just can't understand that unless it's too time consuming from the school's viewpoint and learning is on such a fast track. It's sad though.....

I recently purchased some fountain pens just to revive my cursive writing as I am always in such a hurry that I do this half printing, half cursive writing thing. I guess that makes it a hybrid, lol! Anyway, thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

Thanks @elizabethbit for supporting my views and opinions here. I guess all of us have similar views in this regard, we all miss but it's difficult now to go back.

Teaching is more on iPad and these tech savy devices which I am certainly not fond of. Thankfully my son is not exposed to phone a lot. I wish to keep it this way.

I understand why. I see a lot of moms who turn their cell phones over to toddlers to 'play' but I think it's kind of sad because they are looking really, for a babysitter. So much parental interaction is missing. Take care and have a lovely day!

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

No, can't go back, hahaha!
Good points!