Going down memory lane - LOH Contest #136

in Ladies of Hive11 months ago (edited)


Growing up with three sisters who were quite older than I made childhood rather different for me. It was different in a good way because I didn’t do a lot of chores. my memory is very hazy but here’s something I can remember

We had lots of trees close to my house, I would always climb a tree to pluck my fruits. Climbing trees made me feel like Tarzan and since I was mostly playing alone, I would pretend to be in the jungle. One evening, my mom and I went to visit some friends and I saw the children doing backflips and thought how hard could this be? So I went ahead to join them. An elderly man saw me and said “don’t do it, you’ll hit your head” but I ignored him and went ahead, guess what? I fell head first, and still have a scar on my forehead.

Another memory is about my dad. My dad and mom were divorced, but my dad would pick me up sometimes to spend the weekend with him. One day, when I was about 5 or 6, he took me to his apartment, it was a compound house, so he left me in the care of neighbors and went out. He made rice with palm oil and roasted fish. I spent the whole day playing with the neighbors' kids and occasionally going back to the apartment to have a spoon or two of the rice. When he got back, to his surprise, the whole pot of food was gone. I can’t remember if he was furious or not. I know we got to sleep and later that night, I woke up constipated and threw up everything I ate.

Thinking about it all, I miss my dad, and my two siblings. It’s been rough on my family these past couple of years, but thanks to memories like these they will always be in my heart. Thanks Ladies Of hive for making me consciously revisit the past.

All Content is created by me except where stated otherwise
Images Taken with an Iphone 6 Camera
Apps Used Grammarly Plagiarism Checker and CanvaPro

Sort:  

so you ate the whole pot of rice? it isn't much clear in the text lol! So maybe it was an excess of palm oil?
Just one tip, explore more the tags! You can go with proofofbrain for example and other second layer tokens communities =)

Yes I ate a whole pot! I would go out and play a little, then come back in and take a few spoons of rice, then go back and play and come back to it again, until the food was gone. Plus he was out for quite some time. Thank you for the tip. I totally forgot to add tags today. Thanks again

Memories of time with our loved ones are precious. Thank you for sharing yours. I can;t imagine eating all that rice. Rice makes me full just after a small bowl. No wonder as a girl you were constipated and sick. It must have been really good though for you to eat so much.

Oh it was definitely good. I don’t think I can eat more than a bowl of rice now. 😂 thanks for reading

Anytime, it was fun reading.

It's beautiful to forever hold memories in our hearts keep people's lives alive
@threedotz

Yes it is. Memories are precious!

Thank you for sharing those memories; have a lovely day!🤗💜

Thank you for reading too. Have a great day!

Haha, that is funny, finishing off all the food with in and out. These memories give us strength in our tough times, like how you are getting it right now. May your worries be eased and life becomes peaceful for you.

Yes they do! It’s thank you for your kind words

Those are some nice memories that you shared with us. I used to love climbing trees to get fruits as a child too.
It is great to visit those memories sometimes. Thanks for sharing.

!PIZZA

Thanks for reading too! And for the token.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@nane-qts(1/20) tipped @threedotz