Ladies of Hive Contest 5

RNFetchBlobTmp_a8xnax9cn94d65v5wga9m.jpg

Movie Recommendation
unnamed 2.jpg
source

'God Calling' is a 2018 Nigerian movie that has bagged several awards in the country. I saw it recently and understand why this one is a winner. The first time I saw the trailer of this movie, I was instantly drawn to it because it looked different from the regular Nigerian movie. Also, it reminded me a lot about one of my favorite TV series, 'God Friended Me'.

The plot revolves around spirituality and yielding one's self to the Christian God. A woman who doesn't believe in God or religion is thrown off her peaceful life with her husband and little girl when a home accident leads to the death of girl. She goes into a very depressive state that makes her fall back to drug abuse. God then literally calls her on her mobile phone and speaks to her. Everyone including her husband thinks she's going crazy and must be experiencing the effects of the drugs.

Burdened with the self blame of losing her child and also not medically fit to bear children anymore, she resorts to suicide on Lagos' longest, popular bridge, 3rd Mainland Bridge. She falls into the water, is saved by an angel and clearly hears from God. She fully commits to God and is eventually able to convince her husband God has called them both for his work.

I'd recommend this because it not only talks about spirituality and an encounter with God but also shows how couples navigate their marriages in the midst of setbacks. There's also dealing with addictions like drug abuse and how it affects your partner. Another angle this movie portrays about family is culture and class range where the husband's family do not see eye to eye with the girl's family.

The CGI effects for the suicide scene was the highlight of the movie for me and it wasn't bad at all.

You can watch the trailer here

If I Could Live Anywhere In The World For A Year

I haven't made up my mind on where to go particularly if I had the chance to for a year but at this point, anywhere outside Africa would be great for me. Canada, the UK, US, Australia, anywhere with better living condition than my country right now. As long as I can work for that whole year and build connections, it means I can apply to stay longer and I'd permanently immigrate.

If I were to live anywhere in Africa for a year though, it'd be Ghana. It's a bit more structured than Nigeria and the leaders seem to be lesser assholes.

Thanks for reading.

I invite @doana1 to this community.

Sort:  

Welcome to Ladies of Hive, and good luck with the contest!

Thanks @wolfofnostreet
I'm definitely getting on board 🙂🤓

Great entry thank you for joining