Tampons Can Kill You

images.jpeg
source

I read a story recently about how a lady almost died from using tampons. It was really scary to me because although I had never used tampons, I already imagined such complications.

I figure some people don't know what tampons are, simply put, they're like menstrual pads but inserted in the vagina. It absorbs all the flow and you don't ever have to worry about getting stained as long as you've mastered using it. I've read about how it's so much better and comfortable than regular pads.

images 1.jpeg
source

I asked my friends what they thought about tampons.

I use tampons and I absolutely love them. I’ve read about the shock syndrome and I try as much as possible to be safe. And hopefully I won’t be affected. But pads irritate my skin and I am usually uncomfortable with them. I haven’t used a pad in 3 years plus.

Tampons are really nice. There’s nothing without side effects these days.

True, that insertion thing isn't comfortable but tampons are soft.

Wow, I will put something inside my bum o shuooo and it's not dick no na

Okay, the last one had me laughing. She didn't know about tampons and is shocked you insert something other than a man's genitalia in there.

The first answer was really positive and she is very much aware about the shock syndrome. Still, she'd choose tampons over pads any day. I can totally relate to feeling irritations with Nigerian made pads. They're so terrible and you'd be lucky to find a brand that doesn't irritate you.

Tampon shock syndrome (TSS) happens when the fibre develops into bacteria causing an infection that travels to the blood and other parts of the system. It could be so bad that it lands you straight to the ICU. This new piece of information has completed worsened my fear of tampons. First it was the insertion fear because I assume it would be uncomfortable for me, now, it's possible death.

Well, like my friend said, there's nothing without side effects these days. I just might boss up and give it a try soon.

Sort:  

I've always been scared of the whole insertion thing too. And now shock again 😰
Anyway, I know I will try it one day. Even if it's just once.

LOL at the last babe's reply. She even add Shuuooo on top 🤣

I'm looking forward to it actually.

That reply off me 😄

Geez...

My exact reaction 😐

Lucky for me, I never tried using them, @wolfpfnostreet! 🥰🌺🤙
!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I know someone who has experience the "toxic shock syndrome." I wasn't aware of such a thing until a female friend told me about this. I sense the tampon industry is worth millions, maybe even billions worldwide, so I would assume this industry would not want this information to spread to the general public.

I assume they have the possible side effects written on the packs...I'm not sure

Every box of tampons (at least in EU) has a leaflet inside informing about it.

Everything trying to kill us damn..

A true and sad story.

!discovery 20


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Everything is toxic this days. Nothing is safe no more.

well here in my country, tampons are rare... and pads are always a go-to, but I can't complain about the quality, it's pretty alright. But what you said about the rashes!!! okay, the rashes sound quite alarming...

It's terrible, the quality gets worse every day

From my personal experience.. I will never, EVER go back to pads (unless for some reason I will be forced to). I have been using tampons since high school (which is many years already) and it is the most comfortable thing ever.
The TSS (Toxic Shock Syndrome) of course can happen but I think it very rare and personally don't know anyone that had it.
You'd probably sooner die in a car crash ;)

This is motivating me to get a tampon

It will not harm trying. Of course it is up to you and what you feel comfortable with.
But if you use it properly, you do not feel it at all (unlike pads that you feel all the time), there is no discomfort of any kind. It is just like any other day.
Of course you need to remember to change regularly.

Alright. They're hard to find and a bit expensive though but I'll get one soon. Thank you

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening