Sort:  

Thanks my dude. I think it might have been because I was letting minnowschool vote for me. I’m not sure if this is the case, but I pulled back voting rights and am waiting to see if this helps. If I learn anything that can help save people from the snares of automatic downvoting algorithms, I’ll probably share that in a post as well.

Ah that makes sense. I don’t recommend following a voting trail unless it’s one of the established ones like Curangel, OCD or Curie.

One thing that bothers me is the automatic down votes without really notifying you of why it’s happening. I get it’s hard to police a lot of things but situations like this are where you get caught in the crossfire unnecessarily.

If you want to follow a voting trail, Curie is one that tries to help support newer authors a lot and is an excellent program. Even if you follow it at 30% it should return some good curation rewards for you!

I’m just glad some people have been good about this. Erikah is awesome!

Yeah I broke away from the minnow thing, although it was a really cool group while I was gaining traction - I think for now I’ll just take some time to curate manually and stay off the trails.

I’m surprised to find that this was intended to alert me to come to the discord to find out my account was compromised. I mean, we have things like HiveBuzz that send automated messages, so I think something like “Your account appears to have been compromised, please speak to [person/people] on [this] Discord channel for assistance…” may lead to more resolution and less public meltdowns. But all in all, I’m just happy it seems to be worked out. I’ve got a lot of work here now, and have plans for up to two years out - so I don’t want to go anywhere else!

Yeah dude I hear you! The hive watchers group definitely leaves a lot to be desired with their actions. Hopefully we can get them to be better about these things so we can prevent things like this from escalating!

Glad this sounds like it’s behind us man! Just go heavier on the upvotes and spend the power in the morning and at night and you’ll be good lol

Yeah honestly I think it was overall a good thing that it happened - I tend to feel like I learn more from these things than I do from normal day-to-day operations.