Meet my dog!

in Ecency2 months ago

I didn't get to introduce my dog in my first post so I would like to use this opportunity to talk about my dog.

I have a cute dog named Skippy, It's a female dog and a German shepherd breed. It's the only pet I have ever had.

It is four years old. My dad got us the dog when it was still a little puppy, about two months old. I just came back from school that afternoon to see the cute little puppy at home and I was so happy. I and my siblings were so happy playing with it, it was only my younger sister who was a bit scared to touch it as at then.

We were still playing with it when we realized that we hadn't given it a name and then we (I and my siblings) started to think of a name to give it.

Then I remembered that my mum has told us about a white furry dog she had when she was probably my age, I wanted to name our new dog after that dog, (the dog's name was also Skippy) because from the story my mum told us about it, it was a cute little puppy with it's hair covering it's eyes, it was very playful and everyone loved the dog. But then, something happened one day, I can't quite remember what the dog did but it made my mum's uncle scold it. After Skippy got scolded it refused to eat and went out of the house, then a heavy rain fell that night and that was how it died.

I felt very sad to hear that story and I know how I would have cried if I was there.

Anyway I decided to name our new dog Skippy too. And the first time we called her Skippy, she was so happy and started wagging her tail so we were sure she also loved the name. If reincarnation really exists one would think that she's the reincarnate of the previous dog named Skippy with the way she loved the name😂.

Skippy keeps us company when we are at home. We don't take her out a lot, unless she's to go on a walk because the neighbors get scared of her since she's a German shepherd but they don't realize she is very playful, even to strangers😂. Skippy was supposed to grow up to be a guard dog but it seemed like the more she grew, the more playful she became🤦. Always wagging her tail for anyone that visits. But I still can't love her less😍.

Whenever we leave the house for a few minutes to get something, my dog has this funny habit of waiting patiently at the gate for us to return. She always knows when one of us isn't as home for a long period of time. For example my sister who is on campus or whenever one of us travels. When we come back home she jumps on us and wags her tail to show that she missed us.

My dog's likes and dislikes😃
She likes eating a lot, even if you scold her, that doesn't make her starve herself and sit out in the rain, at least I am grateful for that😅.

She doesn't like taking her bathe. Once she notices that you are set to bathe her, she starts playing hide and seek with you😆.
She also doesn't like being chained down, she prefers to be free to run around. If you chain her down, she's gonna start barking and she won't stop until you release her or she's too tired to keep barking.

To me she's still the best dog in the world.

I'm gonna miss Skippy a lot when I leave home to be on campus. I'll miss her company🥹.

Thank you for reading my post.

The picture used in this post is the original picture of my dog, taken by me.

Sort:  

Congratulations @debbiediamond28! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.
You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!