Splinterlands Battle Mage Secrets Weekly Challenge - Briar Patch Ruleset

in Ecencylast year

Winning the battle: Equalizer and Lost Magic Battle

RULESET: Briar Patch

Description: All monsters receive the Thorns ability at the start of the battle. Enemy monsters that use melee attacks receive damage back.

Damage returned is equal to damage of the attacker divided by 2, rounded up.

Melee attack monsters with the Reflection Shield ability do not take damage from thorns.

The Amplify ability increases damage.

The Strategy

Although my battle didn't have the Briar Patch ruleset, I used the Thorn skill to somehow simulate the ruleset. Instead this battle has the Equalizer and Lost Magic rulesets.

My basic approach for this strategy is to fill all slots. Since it has Lost Magic ruleset, I won't be able to use any monster with the tank heal skill. In addition, since this is a 27-mana battle, I had to choose my monsters carefully to fill the 27.

The Summoner

image.png

Due to the battle having the Lost Magic rule, choosing a summoner with plus added magic was out of the question. Looking at the active elements of water, fire, earth, and death, I had to select a summoner that will either counter melee or range attacks, or go offensive with added melee or range attacks. I chose the former so I chose Mylor Crowling.

1st Slot - Tank


Grund is an earth monster with 10 three point attack, three speed, ten health and the double strike skill ability. Since this is a high health battle, I need monsters that can deliver multiple offensives on each turn. Grund's double strike skill fulfills that.



2nd Slot - Martyr Monster, Fungus Flinger


Lately, I've been experimenting with the martyr skill and as a tip shared by other guild members, I opted to use Fungus Flinger between Grund my next monster Flesh Golem. Although I did overlook the fact that this battle had the the Equalizer active. So, oops!



3rd Slot - Self Heal Melee Monster


If in case Grund and Fungus Flinger falls, I chose a secondary melee monster who can heal on its own and benefit when a martyr monster falls. I chose Flesh Golem.



4th Slot - Filler Monster


Since I've used up around 22 mana at this point including my summoner, I had to fill the remaining slots with low mana monsters and one of them's Mycelic Morphoid of which I have a Gold Foil.



5th Slot - Swift Monster


Since earth monsters are one (if not the slowest) of the slow Splinters, having a monster that increases the team's overall speed is always welcome. I chose Brownie because of it only costing 1 mana.



6th Slot - Low Mana Scattershot Monster


Since I've used up 24 of the 27 allotted mana, I was left with monsters costing 1 to 3 mana (I know there are 0-mana monsters, but I don't have them). The monster which immediately came to mind which also has the ability to do some damage is Acid Shooter.

This completed my roster.


The Battle

image.png

Looking at the initial lineup of the opponent, he didn't fill up all his slots which gave us the impression that we're battling a bot.

image.png

At the end of round one, we've managed to destroy the shield of their tank monster and our tank was only hit by their range attack. Having a high speed monster at tank and the opponent having a slow tank monster made it miss.

Acid Shooter took a high hit, but managed to deal back a three point thorn damage.

image.png

At the end of round two, the opponent was able to take down my tank but Acid Shooter managed to miss a high-hit melee attack and see another round.

image.png

At the end of round three, the initial monsters at tank were already gone and I'm still to see Fungus Flinger to fall for Flesh Golem to become stronger. But looking at the monsters left and Sand Worm having a melee attack and still have two monster able to take enough melee damage and return thorn damage in return, it was just a matter of time.

By the end of round four, there were only three monsters left in the opponents team while I still had four. Given that two of the opponents monsters had melee attacks, choosing Mylor Crowling as summoner did prove to be the correct choice.

At the end of round five, Fungus Flinger had only one health left.

image.png

With Sand Worm gone and a range monster at tank, only had to wait for Flesh Golem to finish it off.

Battle ended in round 10!

We get a nice boost to or ranking +17 and 0.399 SPS to add to our SPS HODL stash!

image.png

Sort:  

This post has been given a 15.0% UpVote by the SplinterBoost Community Curation Bot.
image.png
Vote For Witness | Delegate HP | Join Discord

Please follow the theme ruleset to participate this challenge.---

Do you know you can win a Chaos Legion pack and many other things just by following some simple steps ?? Check out our Latest Daily Showcase and Participate our latest Giveaway. Thanks

SPLBDVoter.gif

DELEGATE HIVE POWER TO BDVOTER & EARN HIVE DAILY.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL & CHECKOUT OUR HIVE BLOG & TWITTER PAGE FOR DAILY CURATION REPORT