Zebras

in Ecency16 days ago

Even though zoo's make me cry for our world, I can appreciate the effort that goes into assuring that so many animal species are cared for and provided a safe environment.

The Lincoln Park Zoo in Chicago is free for visitors and is a wonderful place to spend time with your camera. My daughter-in-law visited and took these wonderful photos for me to share here.

Last August a Gervys zebra foal was born at the zoo and the birth is particularly notable, as Grevy’s zebras are endangered, with fewer than 2,000 of the species in the wild due to habitat loss. and hunting.

The new foal weighed 105 pounds at birth and could run an hour after being born. She is expected to grow to around 850 pounds as an adult.

The zoo's exhibits include big cats, polar bears, penguins, gorillas, reptiles, monkeys, and other species totaling about 1,100 animals.

I appreciate that the zoo gives us an opportunity to see and take photos of animals that we would otherwise never be able to enjoy.

I expect to have more animal photos to share!

Sort:  

Wow Mel the Zebras are simply majestic... I really can't wait to see more
.. I barely go out, more of an introvert so I enjoy watching these things to see what's out there


Hey @melinda010100, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Great shots of zebras 👍 Beautiful animals.

cry for our world

I think zoos are one of the good things in this world. People doing what they can also engaging people to the importance of conservation. Like you said its a lot of work and I think it helps.

Picsart_24-03-23_16-07-05-756.jpg

This post was curated by the Visual Shots Team
Join to our Discord Channel
Be part of our Curation Trail

DELEGATIONS ARE WELCOME

| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 200 HP | 500 HP | 1000 HP |

In the same way, human love for animals is very special and it is very happy to see them and if we are watching a video on TV when tigers are eating them, then it is also very sad. But this system has been working somehow and will continue to work like this.

Of course we get to see all kinds of animals in zoos that are dangerous for us to actually see

Zoos are a mixed bag. But a very good one does care well for its animals and promote the well-being for those still in the wild. Your daughter-in-law got some great shots.

Great to hear from you! Is there a Zoo near you?

There is a zoo in Calgary.

These zebras are really so beautiful, your daughter-in-law took great shots of these.


BANNER AMAZING.png
You've been curated by @amazingdrinks! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you! ❤️

The new foal weighed 105 pounds at birth and could run an hour after being born

Wow, they can run right from birth.

I appreciate that the zoo gives us an opportunity to see and take photos of animals that we would otherwise never be able to enjoy.

That's true, however, a natural environment like a reserved forest with wider confinement is a better and more natural habitat for them.

Anyway, beautiful pictures.

It may be better to protect the species rather than allow them to go extinct. Hunting and shrinking habitat is a huge threat.

You are right.

Fantastic pictures ❤️ I am with you concerning the zoo topic. Last time I visited one in Munich, Long time ago, there was an Orang-Utan Lady, holding her baby in her Arms. There was only a glass windows between us.
She looked in my eyes. Very deeply and that moment I realized the thought in me... It was as If she was telling me "Who has the right to put me and my Baby in a "box", all those humans coming by and staring at us, instead of living free" 😔

Since I never again visited any zoo.

It was an orangatan that caused me to quit going to zoos, too. She was nursing her baby when suddenly a couple of young boys burst up to the glass and started jumping around and scratching under their arms and making monkey noises. The mom had such a hurt look on her face and reached over and emptied her food bucket out onto the floor and placed
It over her head so she could no longer see the kids. It broke my heart.

Oh my god 😔 I really can imagine her eyes in that moment. They have so, hm how to express in words 🤔 so deep, true eyes. Mirrors of great souls, somehow in a way not many humans can look.

The zebras are tame, so you can freely take photos. truly extraordinary. thank you for sharing

Not tame, but close enough that zoom camera lenses allow decent photos!

When I shoot zebras, even a color photo is actually black and white. 😀😀👍

That is certainly true!

Zebras are so beautiful
There are times when I ask myself why they are wild animals
I hope to see one someday though

They are gorgeous, aren't they!

Hello dear friend @melinda010100 good morning
That's true, there are zoos that do wonderful work with animals, and many of them are better than in their own habitat.
What beautiful shots, thank you very much for sharing them with us.
have a beautiful weekend

Thank you! So much habitat has been damaged. 150 animals, insects, and plants go extinct every day.

Sent you another HSBI share today. Thanks for all you do!

Hello lady @melinda010100
What a beautiful zoo and how beautiful the zebras are, in my city there are no more zoos left, all the animals are free in a reserve
your beautiful photographs

Being free is a good thing!

Zebras are so beautiful

They are amazing animals

I like zebras too! Too bad that species is endangered, it's happening to a lot of species in Africa and around the world!
!BBH
!PIZZA

@melinda010100! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (4/50)

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@thebighigg(2/5) tipped @melinda010100