Building On Childhood Abilities And Skills

in Ecency2 months ago (edited)

Welcome Back!
Hello, beautiful people! I am so thrilled to have you visit my blog again today. Let me use this opportunity to say that your presence here and your engagement on my post is much appreciated. Thank you.

Image Source

A Visit To The Past
In today's post, I will be taking you with me on a little journey back to my childhood years. Those were the years filled with so much fun-filled learning and playing activities that brought so much joy most of the time.

There are many experiences that children are exposed to in their young age that end up being instrumental in shaping the future of the child, even though at those early years no one may really know how great the impact and influence will be on the child's future. In my own case, I picked up a few skills that have been of immense use in my adulthood.

I grew up in the midst of adults, both male and female, who were very skillful when it comes to cooking. These adults were members of my mother's family.

My maternal Grandmother was a very good cook, and this is not an exaggeration. My mother, being the eldest, and all her siblings obviously got the skills from her. She was so good she engaged in offering catering services to people until she opened a restaurant. That didn't last long though as she became sick shortly afterwards and never recovered from that.

I remember when my brother and I went to live with my grandparents. Whenever my grandma starts preparing to cook, we would leave whatever play we had going on to go and observe the process, and I would always ask her endless questions. Of course, the next play time will be to practice what we saw her do in the kitchen, and this practice was usually done with sand.

At some point she would allow me unwrap stock cubes for her, at other times she may ask me to help her taste for salt (I guess that was to humour me and make me want to stay with her in the kitchen). Then, I graduated to helping her pluck fresh vegetables she would use for cooking. Bigger responsibilities were left for my mother's siblings to handle.

As I grew up, I found out that cooking became something I enjoyed doing. I was overjoyed when my family considered my cooking skills good enough for family meals because everyone one of them had superb cooking skills.

Leaving home for school, I began to try whatever recipes I saw people make that caught my fancy, whether baking or cooking.

I never knew a day would come when I will need to turn to my cooking and baking skills to earn a living, but that day came. In 2013, I took a decision to monetize my baking and cooking skills by starting a catering business. A few years later, I created a digital recipe book which is currently still selling. You can check it out below 👇👇.
Deliciously Different Cookbook
Other skills I picked up as a child are my singing skills, and also story-telling skills. With my singing skills, I have two singles released a few years ago, while my story-telling skills has been very useful in my career as a teacher.

I will forever be grateful that my childhood years were filled with circumstances that inevitably led to my picking up some of the wonderful skills that make me the special person I am today.

Thank you for reading to this point. I have written this post as my own response to today's prompt for the ongoing #Aprilinleo challenge. You can read more about it in this post by @leo.tasks.

The image used in this post is a free-to-use image from pixabay. Looking forward to your comments. See you soon.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

It's a thought provoking article

Congratulations @ngwinndave! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 60 posts.
Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge

Thanks for the update and the badge @hivebuzz!

That's great @ngwinndave! We're thrilled with your progress on Hive! Don't stop before achieving this new goal!

thats so nice that you are so multitalented..!!

Thanks for the compliments, @inshalicious . Much appreciated, dear friend.

I think cooking is a great skill and only a few can do it properly if they have their willingness. It’s good to see you doing soo many things together.

Cooking is indeed a great skill, yet it can be stressful. That's why many people don't like to do it.
Thank you for your lovely comment.

this proves that learning stuff starts from the home.
who would have thought that the "child's play" you had would turn up to be a real business.
keep on striving bro

Oh yes, Learning starts from childhood. We must not underestimate the impact of all the 'child plays' on a child's future.
Thank you for visiting and engaging.

You are a true Jill of all trades and master of all @ngwinndave. I always think of catering as one of the most difficult businesses as it is so subjective wrt customers. The fact that you are running it successful speaks volumes for your cooking! I do need to find those singles to listen to them. But most of all I love the fact that you are a teacher. So all this learning, empathy, and skills are surely getting passed on to a larger group of the next generation ♥️

Cheers from a fellow #dreemerforlife

Awww, @brijwhiz . Thank you so much for this lovely comment ❤.
Catering Business is quite stressful to run, and that's I had to start thinking of ways to still make money from my skills with less stress. That's what led me to start creating digital courses and ebooks.
As we get older, we have to start thinking of how earn more without burning out. Thank you for your visit.

@ngwinndave The book link did not work for me. I got the following error.

Thank you for alerting me about this, @brijwhiz .
I wonder why that happened 🤔.
Please try this and let me see:
Deliciously Different Cookbook

Yes this link works !!!

image.png

Thanks so much 😊🙏.

I love that your family was so close growing up and that you all cooked together. Who would have thought back then that cooking would become such an integral part of your life, and earning potential one day? Congrats on the Cookbook, @ngwinndave . I saw the images in the comments. Looks great! I hope you get a ton more sales :-)

I dropped in from Dreemport this evening.

#dreemerforlife

Thank you so much, @samsmith1971. Those early years of my life truly had a great impact on me, hehehe, I didn't know I was being prepared for something as great as this.
Thanks for the compliments and the warm wishes.

You learned cooking innocently which later turned into a burning passion, good that you discovered yourself in that aspect as an adult.

#dreemport

It's amazing, isn't it? That's why we need to also get our kids involved in different activities as we don't know which one will help them win in the future.
Thank you for visiting.