How are the images in blog posts published on Hive stored?

in Reveriolast year

If Hive stores Text, where and how are the images stored? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

--- This question was created on [reverio.io](https://reverio.io), Reverio is a question and answer platform built exclusively for Hive. Answer this question on Reverio by clicking [here](https://Reverio.io/question/sandymeyer/how-are-the-images-in-blog-posts-published-on-hive-stored-).

Sort:  

I can't wait for decentralized way to store my pictures. Then its going to be like creating digital archeological record for future generations :)

Most definitely haha me too 😃
All the best to you my friend, hope youre well, and love the continuess work of yours with helps ng new users on hive!
Greez !BEER 🍻
!invest_vote

It always good to be building healthy relationships with people all around the world. We continue to encourage nore people to join hive.
I have a new post, Sir


Hey @deepresearch, here is a little bit of BEER from @sandymeyer for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

@sandymeyer denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@sandymeyer thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Images are stored on image-hosting servers, currently AWS (Amazon Web Services).

And how os that paid for? By the DHF?
Thank you for the awnser 🍀
Greez !BEER 🍻

there was a proposal running for a year or so, think blocktrades did it. not sure do they still use what they got from the proposal or just paying it by themselves.
also i think apps can set up where they want to host images. think Liketu is using their own but i am not sure.
you can also host it yourself and just add links, seen people doing that.
there was also some talks that when 3speak finishes their decentralized system for videos that maybe it could be used for images.

Ecency to upload images uses its own server; Leo uses imageshack...
all this does not sound as a great proof and 'stay forever at the blockchain' for me. 🙄

who claimed that hive blockchain stores photos?

Mr.Decentralised was his name, I slightly remember.


Hey @thekittygirl, here is a little bit of BEER from @sandymeyer for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @tobias-g ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Loading...

Good day Sir,
I hope you are doing well.
Another flight capture has been posted pls

The answer is IPFS (Not Hive - In general). IMO. It is decentral. ;)

I am 95% sure they are stored by the front-end (Peakd, Ecency etc.). Which means not on block chain. Unfortunately.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 147 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!PIZZA
8

Good day Sir
Im back with another post
Thanks

I don´t know where they are stored but I noticed that after some time (usually at least a year or two), the photos somehow disappear from there. I mean if I open a post that I published a few years ago, the photos are not there anymore...

That's actually quite sad since I was hoping that images would remain forever.... Especially the stuff I post from adventures and so on.... BUT with that said I've went back on profiles like before Hive even existed and they still had images... So maybe it's just random where the photos gets lost?

Yeah, seems pretty random. Some posts that I wrote like 3 or 4 years ago still have the images in them but others don´t... I also found posts that actually have just some of the pictures, for example this one:

https://hive.blog/amazingnature/@phortun/amazing-nature-contest-my-ultimate-iguana-photo-collection

From what I have heard, text is stored directly on the blockchain but pictures and videos are stored in some external servers...

Laughs... It shows all of them on my side... I count 26 pictures including the last one at the very end which is probably in all your posts..

How many do you count? 😂

Hopefully in the near future it will be stored on the blockchain🤔

Really? It looks like this on my side:

Bez názvu.png

Half of the pictures are there, half is just these empty "IMG lines"...

Nope, everything shows by my... Laughs I could show you but I'd have to take a crap ton of screenshots... No I swear I can see all of it.

It's kind of weird 😂 it should atleast show for you, and be bugged out for me. 🤷‍♂️.

No problem, I trust you :D It´s weird though...

Congratulations @sandymeyer! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 72000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 73000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - March 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Good day Sir
Hope you are doing well
Another drone shots has been posted